Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Compendium.
The majority of the information contained in this book can easily be found by doing several web searches for various topics. That being said, I appreciate the ease of being able to browse through this book for the information instead of searching for information which may or may not be valid.

Within these pages you will find sections on everything from setting...
Published on March 15, 2007 by S. Fizer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good overview, but not enough meat.
The book provided an excellent overview of e-commerce in general, but it didn't give enough "hands-on, how-to". I wanted to see more code. It also had far too much repetition. It seemed like every time a subject was mentioned, the author was compelled to explain why that subject was important. I'll refer to it for the checklists and the many recommended free web sites,...
Published on April 28, 2009 by C. J. Cuoco


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Compendium., March 15, 2007
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
The majority of the information contained in this book can easily be found by doing several web searches for various topics. That being said, I appreciate the ease of being able to browse through this book for the information instead of searching for information which may or may not be valid.

Within these pages you will find sections on everything from setting up an affiliate program to using banner ads and Google AdWords for your site. You will also find an extensive list of terms and abbreviations common to the e-commerce industry.

Although a bit of a dry read, I finished the entire book in the space of two days on vacation. In the process of reading, several creative marketing ideas popped into my head, so I definitely have the author to thank for that!

In the end, I am giving this book 4 stars for two reasons: 1) He repeats a lot of information, as if trying to stretch out his word count to meet his deadline. 2) Some of the chapters read like an advertise for companies that he either owns or is otherwise related to.

However, beyond those two points of contention, I highly recommend this book as a starting point for anyone who is just starting out in the e-commerce or just needs a little refresher course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Geek vote for Mr. Brown, January 21, 2007
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
Whether you are a newcomer to the Internet or you have your own business already, this book by Bruce C. Brown is a fantastic read. When I started to read it, I almost could not put it down again. While this may sound strange to people believing that only novels can provide that reaction, this particular Computer and Business geek get that same feeling from a book providing a clear learning and business value.

"How to Use the Internet" is a book that if you read it closely and follow its advise, it will likely pay itself back many-fold. My library is scattered in multiple rooms, but this is one book that currently have a position of honor in the hands-on collection right next to my desk. Both an interesting read and a good reference book for later use.

The topics covered are good for both pure e-commerce business owners (or wannabees), and for people that more specifically target making money from an information base on the internet. E-commerce, Internet advertising, traffic generation in general is covered, as well as more Geek minded topics. Topics such as Search engine optimization, the importance of Meta Tags and Keyword settings, banner advertising, and even potentially using such offerings as Google Adwords(tm) and Google Adsense(tm). I personally believe, that this is one possible good avenue for expansion in a future edition of the book. It would be good for people starting out to know more about the gotchas in using for example Adwords. How the Pay-per-click business works, and the dangers of overspending with sometimes very little ROI. All depending on the business you are in of course. But competing with the big guys can end up being very expensive.

This is one book that already has a worn look and a lot of donkeys ears to remind me of important areas.

I give this book a vote of 5 out of 5 geeks. Good work Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Web Entrepreneurs!, December 11, 2006
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
Operating a business and Web site myself, I wish this book had been available when I was laying the groundwork for those enterprises. Like any good business guide, the book offers helpful, thorough, up-to-date advice without wasting readers' time. Brown places a premium on suggesting very effective strategies that cost little or no money. That alone makes the book worth purchasing!

In particular, the author uses sixteen chapters to cover the fundamental steps of registering a domain name, selling ad space, marketing the Web site, and dealing with important laws and regulations. Very helpful is the author's occasional overviews of how a certain marketing practice--such as banner ads--might evolve in the future. For anyone with a bricks-and-mortar business looking to build a Web presence, or for anyone wanting to build a Web-only business, this book is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you want to make some money on the internet? This book will answer your questions!, August 28, 2006
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
The internet is full of unexplored ways to make money and this book is full of ways to make money via the internet using your web site. If you are looking for a way to advertise and promote your business, then this book is for you. Learning more about search engines, banners, online auctions, and affiliate programs can help to move your business that next step.

This book is easy to understand and terms are explained, which makes it ideal for everyone from a beginner to an expert. At the back of the book, there is a complete glossary of terms, which is handy if you are unsure of some of the internet terms dealing with marketing on the internet. From terms to step-by-step directions, you are sure to find a way to make more profit for your business in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and Pragmatic, November 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
Bruce C. Brown does an excellent job of showing even newcomers the ins and outs of Internet Marketing. Written almost like a textbook it is clear and dynamic in walking one through the paces of Website promotion. I could hardly wait to stop reading it to implement the ideas for my own website.

To me it is Book II in the study of E-Business website development. "Internet Riches" by Scott Fox is Book I, a terrific resource for helping you define and launch your Internet business with great brainstorming ideas, strategies and real life entrepreneurial examples. Brown's book takes you the rest of the way to today's best route to wealth and Internet Riches.

Taken together the reader is well grounded on theory and strategy for the pursuit of the American dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Beginners, April 2, 2007
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
Bruce takes us through all the necessary points to get a website on track to benefit from traffic that can be resourced for little to nothing.

If you have a site that is sitting dormant, this is your book.

I found many basic tips which people may not know how to search for. It's all written out here in this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good presentation and style, March 19, 2008
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
The author has a good no-nonsense presentation style that doesn't overwhelm you with jargon.

While the information is, for the most part, laid out in an easy to follow, linear style. My only complaints:

He starts out in chapter one diving right into technical details about digital certificates, web hosting, shopping carts and so on.

I would recommend that the current chapter 2 be moved into the chapter 1 location, while the current chapter 1 becomes chapter 2. This would enable the reader to get a good dose of the foundational material before proceeding to the gory technical details.

However, don't let that put you off buying it. Bruce Brown has great communication skills, and is able to break the material down Romper Room style so that anyone should be able to understand. Yet, he doesn't just gloss over the details, he just makes them easier for a layman to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only internet marketing guide you'll need!, August 21, 2006
By 
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
This book teaches you to do just as its title states--and should be required reading for anyone with an online business, or thinking about starting one! The volume is designed to take you from idea to success--all in 280 easy to understand, user-friendly pages.

A wide variety of business topics are covered in this book geared toward successfully conducting an online business. The value of this book is its thorough explanation of important business concepts, and goes an extra step by applying traditional business concepts to the new internet arena. . For instance, advertising has always been very important in traditional businesses, and this book explains its critical importance in an online business. Traditional business owners may be familiar with the concept of marketing and branding, but how about auto-responders, email marketing, and search engine optimization? HOW TO USE THE INTERNET introduces you to these key concepts, and shows you how to drive users to your website and boost your sales.

Many other topics are covered, including one chapter devoted to conducting business on the popular site EBay, including how to create an EBay store, and successful promotions.

The book ends with a helpful glossary of business and internet terms, as well as three additional case studies to further illustrate the concepts introduced in the chapters, and all designed to produce business success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource If You're Just Starting Out..., January 15, 2008
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
I have been in the internet marketing scene for many years and I wish I had this book when I was just starting out. It would have cut my learning curve down a bit.

Having said that, the book does contain a lot of information that if you HAVE been doing this a while, you may find a bit elementary. It's still a very good read and very informative.

It's a great addition to your internet marketing library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Online Advertising Resource You Will Need, August 20, 2006
By 
This review is from: How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money (Paperback)
If you want one book to tell you what you need to know about marketing your business or website online, this title is one you should look at. With a lot of information packed into the 276 pages, this could be the only volume you need to get your business noticed on the internet.

One thing that is beneficial about this book is that it gives you effective definitions for a lot of online, internet jargon. With overviews of search engine optimization, pay per click advertising, and affiliate programs, you will be sure to know more about the internet when you are done with this title. This book also includes a short chapter on eBay and how to create a storefront on the popular auction site.

With bulleted and numbered lists, an extensive glossary, and websites you can use for resources, this title would make a great addition to the library of any would-be entrepreneur. It would fit well on the shelf at public and academic libraries, as well.

After reading this book, I plan to place a copy in my own personal library! I give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Use the Internet to Advertise, Promote and Market Your Business or Web Site: With Little or No Money
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.