Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting script, spot-on acting
i can see why this film has gotten low ratings. it is not at all in the tradition of big hollywood blockbusters, which many people expect to see. but those films bore me to death. also, those who come in expecting 'intimacy' or 'affairs' may be disappointed.
the truth of the matter is, the movie plays out like a play- through interesting dialogue and good acting...
Published on June 9, 2008 by rawrrr

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exploration of human sexuality
This is supposed to be a film that explores human sexuality. a group of young male intellectuals and artists gets together to ask themselves tough questions about nature of love, marriage and sex. They hire two young women to take notes during the brainstorming questions. Before long, sparks start to fly and love interests between them become blurry.

There...
Published on February 14, 2009 by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting script, spot-on acting, June 9, 2008
This review is from: Intimate Affairs (DVD)
i can see why this film has gotten low ratings. it is not at all in the tradition of big hollywood blockbusters, which many people expect to see. but those films bore me to death. also, those who come in expecting 'intimacy' or 'affairs' may be disappointed.
the truth of the matter is, the movie plays out like a play- through interesting dialogue and good acting. most of it involves the all-star cast sitting around in a circle and talking. the premise there may scare many viewers away. i, however, found the script intriguing, the acting witty (all these big-name actors give strong performances), and the scenery (set in the prohibition era) beautiful.
that said, halfway through the film, i was already searching for it on amazon to grab myself a copy.
this is definitely worth watching for those who love the theatre, or appreciate well-designed period films, or delving into the funniness of sexuality. (yes, funniness- i laughed several times)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exploration of human sexuality, February 14, 2009
This review is from: Intimate Affairs (DVD)
This is supposed to be a film that explores human sexuality. a group of young male intellectuals and artists gets together to ask themselves tough questions about nature of love, marriage and sex. They hire two young women to take notes during the brainstorming questions. Before long, sparks start to fly and love interests between them become blurry.

There is a mix of dreamlike fantasy, reality and secret desire. But film looses its heat very early and watching it is a serious effort shortly after the first 10 minutes of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, February 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intimate Affairs (DVD)
This movie has little to do with either intimacy or affairs--or at least not with affairs of an intimate kind. The hype promises "an arousing and provocative exploration of mind and body." What I thought would offer a thoughtful consideration of sexuality proved to be a rather dull series of sessions all too like group therapy for men of little imagination who ought to have something better to do. I surely had something better to do than watch this movie, and I wish I'd done it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I am glad to have internet., May 30, 2013
By 
aferdman "olfu" (west pal m beach) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intimate Affairs (DVD)
First I watch short piece somewhere and it looked promising, ok, four bucks dont break a bank. Mistake! Supposedly its 1929, some big house etc.
Then it started--primitive, very unattractive females and men having nothing to do. A lot of paintings some not bad, sculptures in bad taste // yes, as its normal for americans they ignore Italian movies, for example Tinto Brass, with excellent sculptures and paintings etc // As movie was done recently I expected something fresh about human sexuality but alas. In addition everything is limited to a couple rooms in house which sure reminded me about french flick Education of Baroness--what a big difference. Four bucks out of window!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete garbage. A waste of an hour and 41 minutes, July 2, 2012
This review is from: Intimate Affairs (DVD)
This has to be one of the stupidest movies I've seen in a long time. What has been written previously here is indeed true: the title is completely misleading, luring the viewer in to see a compelling film about intimacy and/or affairs. Nothing could be further from the truth with this movie. There is no sex and hardly any intimacy. It is a goofy ensemble of otherwise quality actors who sit around for nearly 2 hours and talk about sex. The problem is the script was apparently written by a 10 year old boy, so their sex talk was vapid, shallow, and most of all, completely boring. After about 5 minutes I wanted to light myself on fire. I couldn't have cared less about what was going to happen or be said next. The movie was torture. Watching Nick Nolte talk about having sex with a donkey, and then a goat if only he could have caught it, had to be the low point of the movie. But then again, there are so many bad scenes, it's truly hard to know which part of the movie was the worst. Total garbage. Total and complete garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I watched the whole thing!, March 25, 2014
Endless yammering of opinions that don't matter in the end.
An eclectic group of people who can't see past their own noses.
I don''t fault the actors, but the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Applaud the attempt but missed the target., June 18, 2014
Lots of notable names but very stilted and forced. Bordering on amateurish production. Focused on a very compelling topic but offered little real value to the conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Affairs- Like NO Other, June 15, 2014
Please just pass this one by...its' a waste of time and talent. The script is helter skelter. Just ramblings of demented souls..looking for love in all the wrong places.

Terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring., June 3, 2014
Not .enough physical interaction. Good cast wasted on bad script. Not intriguing. Only watched 2/3 of movie. Couldn't stand anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not sure why this was on my list, April 7, 2014
I'm not sure how this items was placed in my items of purchase. This will be deleted from my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Intimate Affairs
Intimate Affairs by Alan Rudolph (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $9.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.