Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Finding Treasure
One truly great thing about this movie is that it is not in the least pretentious, overblown, pompous, puffed up, or heavy handed. Neither does it hit you over the head with an overload of CGI and special effects nor wallow in personal issues like so many film today.

This movie is basically a swimming trunks and bikini action adventure flick. so, if want some...
Published on April 26, 2006 by CrowTurtle

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COCAINE ADDICTED SHARKS!
As I sat down to watch "Into the Blue", I knew exactly what I was in for. There would surely be lots of ocean, lots of beautiful underwater scenery, some gorgeous fish, and a semi-coherent plot-line. Additionally, I knew that it was a safe bet to expect plenty of the incredibly beautiful Jessica Alba in a bikini - for the guys, and a considerable amount of camera time...
Published on June 25, 2006 by Jason


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Finding Treasure, April 26, 2006
One truly great thing about this movie is that it is not in the least pretentious, overblown, pompous, puffed up, or heavy handed. Neither does it hit you over the head with an overload of CGI and special effects nor wallow in personal issues like so many film today.

This movie is basically a swimming trunks and bikini action adventure flick. so, if want some good shots of Jessica Alba (Sam) in a bikini swimming - this movie is for you.

But there is more to "Into the Blue" than that. And it is not a teenager kind of film (i don't think there is one teenager in it, although ofcourse they may enjoy it like anybody else). Jessica Alba was probably about 23 years old when she was making the movie - and Paul Walker (Jared) was at least 31.

i'm not going into basic plot details (that has been done by others here) - just some fun observations.

Sam has a kissy-kissy ralationship with boyfriend Jared. in the first half of the film this actually becomes a turn off - it was funny when one of the characters actually tells them to basically 'knock it off ' when they start in on one of their run-of-the-mill kissing scenes. one thing more about turn-offs in the movie, *(SPOILER - WITHOUT TELLING YOU WHO OR HOW)* when one of the main characters gets seriously injured and dies there is hardly any real or true concern for her life expressed by anyone.

But the film does mangage to finally get into some actual story-telling with some good twists and turns. a bit far-fetched and drawn out near the end but that's what makes it fun!!.

So for me "Into the Blue" gets 4 stars; it has a good moral to it - about the real treasure found in one's own heart, it had good nature photograghy of the ocean -- and it was just plain fun!!

It turned out to be pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beauty and Danger of the Deep, December 28, 2005
By 
INTO THE BLUE surprises. Despite an opening sequence that is frightening and grisly, this film starts with the feeling that it is another pretty people at the beach flick - mindless, but visually attractive 'what I did last summer on the waves' story. But stay tuned: this is a film of visual splendor and tense intrigue and action that is up there with the best of them.

Amidst some of the most spectacular underwater sea photography on record blooms a story of friends with polar priorities: Jared (Paul Walker) and Sam (Jessica Alba) live the simple life in the Bahamas, sport diving, looking for lost treasure ships as a hobby; visiting lawyer friend Bryce (Scott Caan) and his just-met current squeeze Amanda (Ashley Scott) have dubious pasts and are out for the quick buck no matter the dangers. This quartet spends the first part of the film diving and playing underwater with the glorious sea life until the unexpected discovery of a submerged airplane (recall the opening sequence) containing vast amounts of cocaine changes the playing board. Jared and Sam won't deal in drug trafficking while Bryce and Amanda are unable to resist. Once this strident mark is hit the movie becomes a fast paced intrigue of good vs evil, crime, police corruption, all mixed with chase sequences both on land and underwater. Tragedies occur, priorities alter and the polarities among friends are tested.

Even if the story of sunken treasure and drug trafficking weren't as well written as they are, this film would be well worth the time spent just watching some of the finest underwater choreography on a stage both fascinating and gorgeous and with a cast of beautiful bodies in synch with the splendor. The cast is good and certainly beyond even the eye-candy appeal of each of the actors. Peter Zuccarini's underwater cinematography deserves Oscar attention; Shane Hurlbut controls the above water cinematography well. But director John Stockwell is to be commended for the pacing of this edge-of-the-seat story - and that is saying a lot for a film that is close to two hours long! Yes there are chinks in the mortar of the story and moments where the audience must suspend belief (just how long can Paul Walker hold his breath anyway?), but in the end this is a film that deserves serious attention from the movie audience. It is better than you would expect! Grady Harp, December 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COCAINE ADDICTED SHARKS!, June 25, 2006
As I sat down to watch "Into the Blue", I knew exactly what I was in for. There would surely be lots of ocean, lots of beautiful underwater scenery, some gorgeous fish, and a semi-coherent plot-line. Additionally, I knew that it was a safe bet to expect plenty of the incredibly beautiful Jessica Alba in a bikini - for the guys, and a considerable amount of camera time for a shirtless Paul Walker - for the ladies. What I didn't expect, what nobody could have possibly expected, however, was COKE ADDICTED SHARKS! Allow me explain.

The premise of the movie starts off simply enough. Walker is a down on his luck diver, underwater scuba instructor with a penchant for disobedience. Basically it's "Fast and the Furious" if swimming replaces the driving. His girlfriend, Alba, is an instructor at what looks like a SeaWorld rip-off, and inexplicably is with the guy who has no money or possessions. So, right off the bat, all viewers can easily place this movie into the fiction category. They are "in love" despite their meager incomes and the fact that they are scraping by in the world. Walker, however, has dreams of striking it rich by finding treasure in the ocean, despite the fact that he's a borderline homeless guy that still gets to sleep with Jessica Alba. The plot thickens...

Upon eventually finding his buried treasure, a ship called the Zephyr, he and a few friends also happen upon a crashed/sunken airplane filled with tons of cocaine. They debate about using the drugs to fund their treasure finding expeditions, something they can't do presently because of their impoverished state. After mulling it over time and again, arguing and pondering the ramifications of illegal drug trafficking, they inevitably get involved. And this, my friends, is where it gets good.

There are numerous diving scenes where Alba and Walker, although it's hard to notice Walker with Alba swimming around, go down for the treasure and drugs. Unfortunately for the divers, but incredibly fortunate for the viewers, some of the cocaine packing gets a little loose. Sure enough, it's turned the entire ocean into a big swimming cokehead convention. Sharks have bloodshot eyes; fish are fidgeting as they swim by, and the manta rays are pimping themselves for some unknown reason.

What follows is a combination of "Jaws", "Cool Runnings", every episode of the original "Star Trek", and a smidge Scooby Doo antics. Sharks eat people; Jamaicans are rampant; the sole, inconsequential character from the Alba and Walker crew dies, and there is a ridiculously convoluted and complicated trap set up to catch the bad guys. Bad guys lose/die; good guys win.

The movie in and of itself is worthwhile. I don't feel like I wasted my money. What needs to be made clear, however, is that this movie took the next step. They breached a horizon that has never been previously approached. The touched upon a concept with unfathomable possibilities: COCAINE ADDICTED SHARKS! Think about the possibilities; really, think about it. Tell me you can't think of another 10 movies with animals addicted to drugs as the major factor in any one of the rising action, climax, falling action, or denouement.

What a great friggin' idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, but not for the serious viewer, February 13, 2006
By 
"Into the Blue" is not a great movie, but it was never meant to be. What Director John Stockwell wanted to do was make a suspensful, and beautiful looking film. He fills his camera with breathtaking underwater shots and the amazing bahamas islands. Also haveing the half naked Jessica Alba and Paul Walker helps a lot. The plot is neat, it combines the old theme of treasure hunting and adds a new age spin of drug dealing. Its not great but really works for the film. "Into the Blue" is fun, and entertaining. Its great to watch on a snowy afternoon. I dont get how people think this is a bad movie. Its a very servicable film that holds up to repeated viewings. Its not art but was never meant to be. Its just a great time. My rating B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There's a shark. I swear to God. He's big. He' looks like Jaws. Get out." Blu ray review, June 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Blue [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There is so much to like about this little gem of a movie. Many say this is a remake of The Deep, and there are many similarities. The hot leads Walker and Alba (oh, she looks so good in this movie) are reminiscent to Nolte and Bisset (oh, she looks so good in that movie). The diving, treasure, drugs, drug dealers and sharks are all in both stories as well. However, this is a much better movie! Here come the crazy The Deep fans after me. The Deep was a very choppy story with some good scenes and decent acting (Robert Shaw is always awesome). Into the Blue really draws you in with the main plot and all the subplots. The dynamics of love, friendship, betrayal are well written and connects you to the characters. The mystery behind the Zephyr and the plane filled with cocaine is also compelling. Can you believe I am saying this about a movie with Paul Walker in it??? The action sequences are great, especially with the sharks (and yes that is Paul Walker swimming around with all those reef sharks around him). Give credit where it is due, this is a fun movie to watch.

NOW FOR MY BLU RAY THOUGHTS: A beautiful transfer. The power of blu is evident in all the underwater sequences. On DVD the scenes look pixelated in areas of darkness. That is not the case with BD. The audio is also a nice mix. SPECIAL FEATURES: All ported over from DVD. FINAL THOUGHTS: Jessica Alba in a bikini in HD = UPGRADE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical teen snooze fest, this film actually delivers the goods..., July 30, 2007
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
`Into the Blue' could have easily been nothing more than a toned body showcase with little plot and even littler brain patterns but instead it proves itself smart, exciting and worthwhile after all. I don't think I can really express fully my surprise when walking out of this film. I really expected nothing more than Alba in full skimp form frolicking in the ocean but instead I got an intelligent and very well plotted action film that continues to entertain me viewing after viewing. The scenery is nothing short of gorgeous and the quick paced editing of some of the key action scenes will keep you glued to the edge of your seat in sick anticipation of the next sequence. The directing is actually so delicately handled that the audience begins to feel the claustrophobia and panicked hysteria that can come from too much water.

The film follows Jared and Sam, played by onscreen couple Paul Walker and Jessica Alba, as they struggle with the consequences of buried treasure and smuggled cocaine. You see Jared has just been fired from his job as a snorkel guide, and as much as Sam claims to be happy with their poor existence Jared is determined to find the wreckage of the ship Zephyr and make himself, and his girl, very rich. With the extra time on his hands and some new toys thanks to a visiting friend and his connections they set off to find this wreckage but they never bargained on finding a sunken plane containing kilo's upon kilo's of cocaine. Jared's friend Bryce and his girlfriend Amanda are a bit careless and a lot selfish and so decisions are made that jeopardize everyone involved, even the innocent.

The acting is actually decent for the cast included. Paul Walker perhaps gives his finest performance, beings that for the most part I find him a talentless hack, and Alba does an arguably great job with her character. Love Scott Caan and probably always will and here he doesn't disappoint and neither does Ashley Scott. Josh Brolin also delivers as the rival treasure hunter, complete with deliciously evil stereotypes.

The film though transcends the acting and just becomes a fun film. It's not going to win awards or even be considered as a film on the verge of but it delivers one heck of a great time and it's smart in doing so. There is really so much to enjoy here, from the scenery (both oceanic and Albatic) to the intensity to the sheer shock of pure enjoyment. So shuck aside the preconceived notion that this, as most do, with suck royally and enjoy what might be one of the best films any of it's stars will have the opportunity to partake in (with `Sin City' left out of the equation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely clever directing, August 31, 2006
3 stars for the movie, plus a bonus star to the director for being a genius. How you ask? It's all about Paul Walker. Man do I love that guy. Absolute worst actor in Hollywood, but still gets part after part. His acting style is like a piece of wood with constipation. But he's just bad enough to be lovable. People still like him despite his failing, not like Hayden Christenson (Anakin from Star Wars), who just needs to die.

Anyways, so the director is sitting and thinking: "Hmmm... Paul Walker's in this movie. How do I distract people from his god awful acting enough so they'll still like it?" Then the answer hits him like a sledge hammer to the head. Get a super ridiculously hot woman to play along side him! Enter Jessica Alba. In a bikini. Think any guy is watching Paul Walker any more? And that handles half the audience at least.

Now if that isn't enough, we also have pirates, sharks, mantas, and other sea creatures who consequently get addicted to cocaine, and lots of underwater shots of our illustrious stars diving for treasure / drugs. Also, putting Paul Walker underwater for much of the film erases the need for him to talk. Bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jessica Alba...bikini... swim...., January 11, 2006
I have no idea if this movie is any good. I watched the whole thing and all I can tell you is that Jessica Alba is in a bikini a good part of the time and swimming. If they would have made a movie with 99% of it her swimming under water in that bikini, which the bottoms seemed about 2 sizes too small) I would rave about it too.

Alba... bikini... wet... swim...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 116 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars - And most of that is for all of the shots of Alba and Walker swimming, October 3, 2005
By 
thornhillatthemovies.com (Venice, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Let's face it. Anyone who purchases a movie ticket for "Into the Blue" isn't going to the film in search of an Academy Award winning performance from Jessica Alba or Paul Walker. I'm not convinced that such a thing will ever be witnessed. If you buy a ticket, you are looking for one thing; T & A or P& A, depending on your preference of the two stars. The poster says it all. "Blue" is an excuse to get two beautiful people into as little clothing as possible for close to two hours. And the film succeeds, almost admirably. God bless director John Stockwell ("Blue Crush", "crazy/ beautiful") for all of the shots of Alba and Walker swimming through the crystal clear waters of the Bahamas, letting Alba's barely covered backside or Walker's admirable pecs undulate (yes, undulate!) past the camera.

Is there a story? Or just 110 minutes of eye candy? Yes, there is a story.

Jared (Walker, "The Fast and the Furious", "Timeline") and Sam (Jessica Alba, "Sin City", "Fantastic Four") are two beautiful people living in the Bahamas on a broken down boat. Jared just lost his job as a snorkel guide and Sam works at a local tourist stop as an announcer at a dolphin show. One of Jared's buddies, Bryce (Scott Caan) brings his latest girlfriend, Amanda (Ashley Scott) for a vacation from New York. Bryce has the use of an exclusive estate and the boat that comes along with it. This gives Jared the opportunity to explore for the mythical ship wreck, the Zephyr. He believes that a recent hurricane may have disturbed the sand on the ocean floor enough to help find it. Just as they think they have found it, they also find a plane that was downed in the same storm, a plane filled with kilos of cocaine. Jared insists that they leave it alone until they find the necessary proof of the shipwreck, but the greedy visitors from New York have other ideas, threatening everyone's safety.

"Blue" has some of the most beautiful cinematography I have seen in a long time, a significant portion of which is underwater and appears to have been done without special effects. Of course, it doesn't hurt that the film is set in the Bahamas. The island is captured in crystal clear photography and makes a great tourism brochure. A significant amount of the film is underwater and the photography here is also stunning. Every time Alba and Walker swim past the camera... But I digress... Usually, when a film has a lot of underwater action, it is difficult to keep track of what is going on, but "Blue" is remarkably clear. For the most part, the four central characters are underwater together, making it easy to follow the action.

The story is intriguing enough to keep your mind going as well. Jared has specific reasons for wanting to continue the search for the shipwreck as opposed to reporting the plane crash right away. Once the villains do find out, the story becomes a bit more intriguing and it is interesting to watch Jared and Sam work their way through the mess.

Unfortunately, any film is going to require Alba and Walker to act. Alba is a better actor than Walker, but not by much. She is able to illicit some sort of emotion during a couple of scenes, no matter how superficial. Walker seems to have three facial expressions; happy, with a grin a mile wide, sexy and serious, which also stands in for his frightened look. He's a guy, so if he is frightened, he is also serious. But when you look as good as Alba and Walker, who cares if you can act. No one expects them to give DeNiro and Streep a run for their money at the next (or any) Academy Awards. You go to see them because you are infatuated with their looks. Period. "Blue" at least feeds into this infatuation quite well, allowing their groupies to see as much of their bodies as possible in a PG-13 film.

The other actors are less successful. Less successful than Alba and Walker? Wow, that's pretty bad. And they don't have the bodies to make up for their lack of acting skill. Josh Brolin plays Bates, Jared's former boss and the owner of a much bigger salvage operation. Brolin is now so typecast that there is simply no surprise anymore. Any time he pops up, you know he will play the jilted former lover or the double crossing backstabber. He needs to branch out and play someone else. James Frain is perhaps the most memorable of the supporting characters. He has a brief, but memorable turn as the owner of all of that submerged cocaine. Tyson, the model, has a brief supporting role as the owner of a packed nightclub.

Scott Caan and Ashley Scott play stereotypical New Yorkers. Caan's Bryce is a lawyer who represents people with questionable motives. He works hard and he plays hard and isn't above saying things like "We could sell the cocaine and get enough money for your salvage operation" or "There's enough cocaine down there to buy one hundred boats." He also brings along Amanda (Scott), someone he has known for 14 hours. Yawn! Excuse me a moment while I wipe the sleep out of my eyes.

Not that anyone should expect "Blue" to be a hyper-realistic portrait of anything, but the characters act with an off-putting nonchalance when one member of their group is seriously injured. This attitude almost derails the entire film until you reground yourself and realize `Oh, yeah, I'm watching a comic book" A comic book featuring two of the most stunning examples of human flesh anywhere.

The ˝ star is for the actual film. The other two stars are a thank you gift for all of the shots of Alba and Walker swimming through crystal clear water.

But I digress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jessica Alba perfect 10, movie about a 3, December 12, 2005
It is AMAZING how beautiful Jessica Alba is. I saw fantastic 4, and she is stunningly beautiful. I haven't seen such a beautiful girl like her in a really long time, not since Phoebe Cates back in the 80's. Besides the gift we get of seeing Alba in bikinis for 1 1/2 hours, the movie was pretty interesting, nothing special though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Into the Blue
Into the Blue by John Stockwell (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.