Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 15, 2006
This will not appeal to a great portion of the "metal crowd".As much as I appreciate this band,the simple truth is that it's one of those "gotta be in the right mood"to even consider giving a spin.Celtic Frost?Yes,the vocals are clearly influenced by Mr. Warrior,but otherwise(besides the heaviness)little to point towards Frost.No,this is slow-mo crossover(definite Hardcore lyrics),albeit with a lean more towards the Metal side.This is,though,somewhat ahead of it's time in regards to the current Drone subgenre - those acclimated to the likes of SunnO)),Khanate,and the like should add a star to the above rating....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2012
For me, this album brings back memories. I first got this on a badly copied tape, but now in all its grand digital glory.
This is THE doom-metal album, a true classic, and it hasn't lost any of its power.
'A soundtrack to the apocalypse', this should be in any metalhead's collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2006
Well..this has now gone into COMPLETE OBSCURITY!!!!

THIS IS THE BEST DOOM ALBUM EVER MADE!!!!! NOTHING CAN TOUCH IT..TIME HAS SHOWN ME THIS!!!!! AFTER YEAR's..YEAR's!!!! THIS STILL GIVE's ME THE WILLIE's!!!

When this world is burning down.. I hope to have this the player at the moment!!!

This band also had such INSIGHT..listen to those lyric's HOME SLICE!!!

WINTER..BEST BAND EVER!!!!! THEY GET THE INFESTER NOG VOMIT AWARD!!!

''DEAFENING SCREAMS.......AHHHHHHHHHHHHH''
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2006
This is quite simply one of the ugliest depressing doom/sludge releases ever and for that reason alone it is ESSENTIAL.Winter's career was short but honestly I doubt if they could ever have bettered Into Darkness, their only full length album. This is where Celtic Frost could have gone after To Mega Therion and if you listen to John Almans spewed vocals there is more than a hint of the "Warrior" of old. There are no highlights and no lowlights just a continuous onslaught of floor shaking sounds. It wont lift your spirits but thats not the issue either, this is a testament to the atomic winter and will surely be remembered as one of the greatest albums of the genre.

Find it and I dare you to prove me wrong.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2008
This is an essential slab of genre defining death doom in a nice comforting sludge -a beautifully mastered mix which you can play at max volume after midnight for maximum impact! Has anyone ever heard better vocals over rumbling bass and droning guitars? Hear Goden and you can feel the earth groaning as man mistreats it. If you like My Dying Bride, Anathema's Serenades or any drone metal, pick this up. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2007
This is a great album. It's extremely original. I remember reading the cassette sleeve long ago professing that this isn't black metal or death metal. Well, it's basically very original death metal. I highly recommend it for death metal fans. The music is generally very slow, with a few medium tempo songs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2008
One song sounds like troops of doom from Sepultura and the others are in their own sound respectively. I would say it is a steady moving atmosphere with long drawn out bass and guitars. If you are curious about your music this sound is a definite to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2001
The slow burn of anger sockets itself in conflict expressed in geothermal time, crawling minutely into position for eternal battle as the detuned and masochistically-slow music of Winter crushes with nihilism and stoicism. As if to express a morbid sadness through the anger which brings it, a rolling granite consistency holds these themes together and then befriends entropy to grind them down. Inclining angular slabs of power chords against one another creates structure to support slow motion chord changes, as heavily distorted keyboards and studio noises shift the expectation toward the next phrase. Primordial, this music pulls itself from pits of degradation with steady, relentless increase in hypnotic churning, without release. Mewling circus of distorted feedback and organ fill in the gaping void between chords. Tone choice is mostly death metal style, as are vocals of slowly-separating gravel roar synchronizing with shuddering bass of reverb and distortion, while drums are clear and brightly on top of rhythmic projection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2008
ixion nails it with his review. I won't repeat his thoughts, but I will add my own.
This combination of the early 90's doom metal group, Winter gave birth to a combination of two genres of metal, Doom and Death. The slow tempos and extremely downtuned music of doom fronted by the scowling vocals of death. Most Definately not genres of music you will hear on mainstream radio or especially...well I won't mention such atrocities here on an excellent album.

I am more drawn to doom metal than death metal myself. Though I do have quite a collection of death metal groups. Thus the music of Winter really draws me in prompting me to always give the disc another listen.
Doom metal fans: You won't be disappointed in Winter at all. This album is currently out of print, so when you manage to see this around (particularly online) pick it up Immediately!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2008
Read his review. It basically mirrors what I would say except I would add more exclamation points.

I would only add that anyone that has been depressed, not whiny-emo-rebel-without-a-cause 'depression' but true clinical depression, will tell you that if there was an audial manifestation of depression this would truly be it. Every note bemoans a swirling miasmic sea of melancholy orchestrated by the behemoth to drag you into the infinite depths of your abyss.

Unleash this Titan at your peril.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.