Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent jumping point for further learning.
This is a fantastic mini-series from one of the brightest minds of our time. It invokes a lot of interesting thoughts concerning where science and technology may take us in the future. Somewhat sobering to realize what has happened to Stephen Hawking throughout his life and yet he still has a fantastic outlook on life.

Hopefully this series will be used in...
Published on January 22, 2011 by Raquor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat...but kind of short
I like the direction they took in this film. Hawking is always very thought provoking and the animation is very cool. I wish, however, it went a bit more in depth. Worth a watch but don't spend too much on it.
Published 13 months ago by Patrick Kilduff


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent jumping point for further learning., January 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fantastic mini-series from one of the brightest minds of our time. It invokes a lot of interesting thoughts concerning where science and technology may take us in the future. Somewhat sobering to realize what has happened to Stephen Hawking throughout his life and yet he still has a fantastic outlook on life.

Hopefully this series will be used in science classes throughout the globe rather than the old film strips I endured as a child. It serves as a great jump off point for further learning, creating a real passion for learning more about the subject matter presented.

This mini-series consists of 3 segments:
Aliens:
This segment takes an interesting look at whether life might exist outside of our planet and what forms it would take. It has a well reasoned approach to theorizing if life could potentially exist elsewhere. The most intriguing part is actually trying to imagine life that doesn't need to resemble anything we are currently familiar with. The segment is made all the more amazing after the recent discovery of life in a pool of arsenic.

Time Travel:
This is also fairly interesting in the way that Hawking presents his arguments for Time Travel and the possible uses we might make of the ability to do so. I don't want to say too much as it would give away his interesting take on the subject matter. Not necessarily what you might expect to hear from a scientist.

Everything:
This is the largest portion of the mini-series and by far the most interesting as Hawking explains what is essentially his expertise. He explains the effects of gravity on the formation of everything and how it all might someday end. He also takes a peek at the potential for our species to further ourselves and extend our existence beyond that of our humble Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As he says: check this out..., February 15, 2011
As he says..."Check this out". I am enthusiastic about the universe, and I own most of the documentaries on this subject,and so far I Can tell you this one, is one of the best.
Stephen Hawking, is truly one of the brightest minds since Albert Einstein. In this excellent series, he uses his genius brain to explain some of the most interesting themes such as alien life, origins, and time travel. I particularly like time travel the most.
You'll be surprised to learn that time travel is not only possible, but even is happening right here, right now on earth.
Every subject is explained with a simplicity and a good sense of humor (Stephen is a surprisingly good-humored person), which does not let you get bored. The images are fantastic in high definition. The best thing, of course is the privilege of seeing one of most intelligent mind in action . THANK YOU PROFESSOR HAWKING FOR THE RARE OPPORTUNITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful series on Hawking's view of the Universe, January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is excellent series of three episodes by Hawking on his analysis and conclusions about the universe - aliens, time travel, and the development of the universe. His style is not flamboyant; the visuals try to make up for this but are repetitive in some instances.

However, his logical approach to these topics, analysis of current research and thought, and his own opinions and comments make this series well worth viewing a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well made, geared toward mass market, April 24, 2011
I've watched this series twice since buying the DVD and I enjoy it. Hawkings has a history of writing and appealing to the mass market, he does not write text books for graduate school students. The review that slammed this program makes no sense, written someone who thinks he knows more than Hawkings.

This program is about 90% computer graphics and animation which makes it visually appealing with a 'science fiction' look to it. Very entertaining, educational and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done!, August 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am thoroughly impressed by the production of this series. I finally understand the concept of a forth dimension, and time travel. The special effects are very cool as well :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Viewing!, January 8, 2012
By 
Christopher Meder (North Wollongong, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first watched this on the Discovery channel in Canada in 2010. I was hooked from the get go and jumped onto the Discovery site to order two copies of this DVD as a pre-order. I have since watched this miniseries more than five times and will do a few more for sure as well as having bought over twenty copies for my friends and family as presents! This is an excellent production, easy to follow and understand, even for people with zero understanding of science and well worth taking the time to watch and the money buy. Could not recommend this any higher! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing show., November 27, 2011
I've been very interested in the universe subject for the last few years. been watching a lot of galaxies, universe, planets documentaries. As an addition to my shows i watched this program. I enjoyed it a lot. He explains things to my level for being such an intelligent person. And he was even funny in some occasions. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hawking video, May 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great intro into the mind of the great Dr. Steven Hawking. Very informative for the curious astro physicist in all of us. Fascinating space science, yet easy to watch. Very well produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's an Element of the Spiritual between Hawking and the Visual Effects, July 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stephen Hawking believes that his success with the mathematics behind his own (more or less) "Theory of Everything" suggests that God isn't necessary. Interestingly, he might very well be correct, but his arguments that connect electrodynamics and gravity along mathematical lines does more to prove the existence of God than anything I've ever watched.

All three episodes (Aliens, Time Travel and Everything Else) were magnificent and gave me the very best starting point for understanding the "un-understandable" about our own Universe (and perhaps others) that combined interesting logical ideas, mathematics (but not so as to distract the non-mathematician) and absolutely gorgeous visual effects in a single package.

This DVD should be in every person's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mind blowing!, November 9, 2011
This mini series is commentated by Stephen Hawkings and it's astounding. Hawkings theories are put into relation to human nature. The episodes on aliens and time travel really expand one's perspective of the universe. I would recommend this to anyone who feels like getting their minds blown. The only downside to this series is its not nearly long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Into The Universe With Stephen Hawking [Blu-ray]
Into The Universe With Stephen Hawking [Blu-ray] by Stephen Hawking (Blu-ray - 2012)
$14.98 $9.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.