Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


188 of 191 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Vietnamese cookbook I have ever seen!
Being a Vietnam-born Vietnamese American, I know and love Vietnamese food. When my family moved to America, it became a struggle to find ingredients and recreate the traditional Vietnamese dishes. Because I learned how to cook in America, I am more used to the American equipment, measurement, ingredients, etc. This is why I have always tried to look for Vietnamese recipes...
Published on January 6, 2007 by Jupmeister

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good instructions, but bland recipes
I bought this book based on 4 and 5 stars reviews, so I thought it would be a great cookbook, but it's just so so. I was born and grew up in VN, and my grandma and mom are excellent cooks, so I know how authentic Vietnamese food taste like. A good food blog writer recommended this book, so I expected the recipes to taste good as long as I follow the instructions well. So...
Published on February 25, 2012 by butterflew


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook!, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
My new daughter-in-law just arrived from Vietnam, and we have had great fun pouring over the pages of this cookbook. The guide to herbs has already helped us begin to understand the intricacies and flavors of Vietnamese cooking. We look forward to using this for many years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
Thoughtfully written and wonderful recipes. This book explains a lot about Vietnamese cooking, and would be great for any beginner wanting to try their hand at Vietnamese food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book!, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
Even my daughter-in-law who was born in Vietnam likes this book, and she is the best cook I have ever met! My husband is the chef at home, and he loves to cook these beautiful recipes. Everything we have tried is wonderful! Whether you purchase this as a gift or for yourself, you cannot go wrong with this beautiful book! Andrea Nguyen is a top-notch chef, and a great teacher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars into the vietmanese kitchen, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
A beautiful book with most interesting comments and lots of history included. a wonderful purchase after a trip to vietnam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Ease of use. A lot of good and genuine stuff from vietnam that you can mimic right in your own kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and modern interpretation, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have liked to give this a five star, but being a cookbook, it was lackluster in the picture department. Despite that, the recipes are a treasure. Many can attest that some of these recipes are guarded secrets, but am so glad to finally see them and use them. The book in itself is very in depth with deep cultural knowledge and respect. Off to the kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, October 14, 2012
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
Before I bought a Vietnamese cookbook, I first browsed a selection of them. I'm glad I picked this one because it's very helpful for somebody who is not Vietnamese. I enjoyed reading the introduction about Ms. Nguyen's move to the United States and her experiences with American culture. She includes a section that explains the ingredients used in her recipes and how to shop for the best ones. I made my first recipe tonight, and it was a huge success, thanks to the easy and precise directions that Ms. Nguyen gives. Even my children enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, September 19, 2012
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully laid our book with delicious and mouthwatering recipes.
The recipes are easy to follow and the photography 1s world class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cook oil, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
Excellent service, great cookbook and great price. It has some different recipes that are welcomed for this great , light cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cookbook, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for anyone interested in cooking Vietnamese at home. The first section tells you about the ingredients you will be using. Then it moves on to a short section on equipment. The book then goes in appitizers, soups, poultry, fish, meats and so on. I am going to try and cook every recipe from this book. The food pictures are not as numerous as I like but they are very well done.
Buy this book and you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors
Into the Vietnamese Kitchen: Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors by Andrea Nguyen (Hardcover - October 1, 2006)
$35.00 $23.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.