Customer Reviews


438 Reviews
5 star:
 (365)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HATE MUSICALS!!
Except for this one...

Bernadette Peters is so perfect as the old crone witch who turns beautiful at the end of the first act. She plays the bitter self-loathing cynic to perfection: when she sings "Last Midnight" its amazing, and of course the bittersweet "Lament"/"Children Will Listen" ties everything together...well, perfectly. A riot, and she can really...
Published on March 7, 2002 by Gary Asby

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great musical but needs widescreen
The other reviews are correct. Its wonderful. The first DVD you should get if you're starting a collection... EXCEPT the DVD is full screen and the majority of the wonderful sets and the action and the interplay of the characters is missing. Until they get a widescreen DVD version I'd give the VHS version a 5 star review. The DVD in fullscreen was disappointing after...
Published on June 19, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HATE MUSICALS!!, March 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: Into the Woods [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Except for this one...

Bernadette Peters is so perfect as the old crone witch who turns beautiful at the end of the first act. She plays the bitter self-loathing cynic to perfection: when she sings "Last Midnight" its amazing, and of course the bittersweet "Lament"/"Children Will Listen" ties everything together...well, perfectly. A riot, and she can really belt out a tune!

At least as amazing as Ms. Peters is Tony Award-winning Joanna Gleason who is completely brilliant as the baker's wife. Her interactions with Kim Crosby (Cinderella), each night after the Festival, sparkle: every time I watch the exchange that ends with, "I need your shoe to have a child!" I nearly fall off my chair; her appearance as a ghost at the end is touching and a little sad.
Kim Crosby herself is quite good as Cinderella, and Danielle Ferland is wonderful as the jaded and cynical (and a little bloodthirsty) Little Red Riding Hood (she gets it from grannie, who keeps thinking of twisted ways to torture the wolf after they escape), and her song "I Know Things Now," is a cute little song (with just a hint of sexual imagery) about a young woman coming of age.

Some things to watch for:
- Cinderella's birds
- the horse that moves backwards
- "Milky White," especially after the baker gets tired of leading(dragging) her, and picks her up by the handle on her top
- the stepmother cutting off her daughter's heel and then picking it up by stabbing it with the knife like a piece of ham
- "Agony" by the two princes
- "No One Is Alone"
- and lastly, "Your Fault."

It's also worth mentioning that the lighthearted fun in the first act is matched perfectly with the dark and sober mood in the second act, although it may be a little heavy for young children.

Mentionable quotes:
"I don't like that woman!" - The Baker, about the Witch
"I was raised to be charming, not sincere." - Cinderella's prince
"I was just trying to be a good mother." - The Witch to Rapunzel
"Slotted spoons don't hold much soup." - Jack's mother
"There are times I do actually enjoy cleaning." - Cinderella
"You can talk to birds...?" - Little Red Riding Hood to Cinderella
"...some of us don't like the way you've been telling it..." - The Witch to the narrator, just before she sacrifices him to the giant

I could keep going... suffice to say, it's a fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Musical, October 19, 2000
By 
Andrew Fox (Oak Park, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Woods [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Into The Woods is at all times humorous, sad, disturbing, and thought-provoking. It is enjoyable by all ages. Children will find it to be a delightful twist on conventional fairy tales, and Adults will find it thought-provoking and moving, as well as a delightful romp through childhood stories. Despite what people may say, the second act does not drag; it is merely less fairy-tale-ish compared to the first act, as the characters keep getting killed off. It is a bit less subtle than some of Sondheim's other shows, which may irk some of the fans devoted to Sunday in the Park With George or Assasins (which I also recommend), but newcomers to Sondheim will find it to be a very easily enjoyed and accesible play. With melodic tunes and clever, moving, and thoughtful lyrics and book, and exceptional performances by Joanna Gleason, Chip Zien, and Bernadette Peters (this is a must for any of her fans), Into the Woods is and will remain a Broadway classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD ... Happily Ever After, June 14, 2000
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
The DVD of Sondheim's INTO THE WOODS is not that remarkable other than the fact that it's great to have this wonderful television production available in the format. The picture is crisp and the sound is pristine. There are no extras on the disc. I do enjoy the chapters, however. Unlike my video tape version, it's great to be able to skip to a particular song I wish to view.
INTO THE WOODS is such a great show. The first act is hilarious and witty. It very smartly weaves together all those fairy tales so familiar to us all. Then act two makes us look at them through adult eyes. I think Sondheim and Lapine are telling us that in fairy tales as well as "real" life, the simple words "I wish..." are truly the beginning of whatever story each of us is about to tell. They counsel us to be careful of what we wish in life -- our wishes effect everyone.
My favorite song in this production is "The Last Midnight" which is performed by Bernadette Peters as the Witch. It is very macabre and Sondheim reveals so much about the Witch's character through the lyrics. Plus, it gives Ms. Peters an opportunity to belt!
INTO THE WOODS is a hoot! Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once Upon a Time. Musically., March 29, 2002
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
This musical takes several fairy tales and combines them for a fresh, fun journey. A baker and his wife have learned that they are under a curse and can't have any children. To lift the curse, they must find the cape as red as blood, the cow as white as milk, the hair as yellow as gold, and the slipper as pure as glass. Fortunately for them, they are going into the same woods that Jack, Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, and Rapunzel are entering.
The second act picks up "Later." Things don't quite work out as well as everyone expected them to, and they once again find themselves entering the woods to deal with their new challenges.
The first act is a perfect musical comedy with some wonderful moments, but the second act is much darker in tone. While it still has it's funny moments, it is much more serious. But the dramatic turn works well, and what started out as a fun romp turns into a powerful story. Still, because of this, I have a hard time recommending it for children.
The cast does a wonderful job. It's really hard to pick out a highlight because everyone works well together to make it so good. The format, video recording of a live stage performance by the original Broadway cast, took me a little time to get used to when I first watched it, but soon I forgot all about that. The camera captures everything on stage; can't imagine a better seat in the house.
The DVD is just a bare bones version; there's nothing outside of the musical. But it's still worth getting since you will want to watch it many times.
Teens and adults will love this musical's sense of humor and be moved by its emotion. It provides all the joys of a stage play in the comfort of your own home. Buy it today and get ready to journey "Into the Woods."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderous!, December 30, 1999
By 
Josh Hitchens (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Woods [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a glorious musical. The first act takes traditional fairy tale characters on a happy quest journey, and a much more serious journey in the second. The Baker and his Wife need to get four things to lift the curse of sterility that the Witch, played fabulously by Bernadette Peters, has bestowed on them. She tells the story of the curse in a rap like song. In doing this they meet a spunky Little Red Riding Hood, who is being pursued by the Big Bad Wolf, Jack (of Beanstalk fame), Rapunzel, and Cinderella. Humor and tears highlight this musical by Sondheim. The song, "Children Will Listen," spreads the message of the play, which is that everyone must be careful and learn and face up to life's tragedies. Here is a snippet of it:
Careful the wish you make, wishes are children. Careful the path they take, wishes come true. Not free. No one is alone.
Filled with humor and magic, INTO THE WOODS is told by The Narrator, who gets fed to the Giant's wife in the second act. The Witch's love for Rapunzel is illustrated in the song, STAY WITH ME:
Outside the world is warped and wild. Stay a child while you can be a child.
Lines like, "I need that shoe to have a child!" And Little Red Riding Hood's cynicism , "You talk to birds?" make this a priceless treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Sondheim, March 11, 2001
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
This is truly an amazing play. It's rare that a single piece of work (be it a play, a movie, a book) can make you feel such a wide range of emotions. Into the Woods, if nothing else, does make you laugh. As, especially in the first half, there are many hilairous moments. Agony, a song that the two princes of the play sing about their loves, is a perfect mix between romantic conquest and egotistical self involvment. However, in the second act things get darker and you realize that going "into the woods" is a complex metaphor. The final song of the play, Children will Listen, is incredibly profound and could easily bring tears to your eyes, only seconds before the whole cast once again starts joyfully singing the exciting Into the Woods. The cast is excellent all around. The most notable would have to be Cinderella's prince, the baker's wife and (obviously) Bernadette Peters as the witch. Cinderella's prince is the pinnacle of every stereotype about princes and, at the same time, is unaware of his huge ego. He gets some of the best lines from James Lapine as well ("I was brought up to be charming, not sincere"). Joanna Gleason very much deserved her Tony as she gave the Baker's Wife cunningness, romance, and depth. However, it is Bernadette Peters who steals the show as the wicked witch. Every time she is on stage she simply embodies the character. Her entrance is as spectacular as it should be, as she sings the incredible "Witch's Rap" reeling off words faster than you can imagine while retaining a brilliant sense of character. On the other end of the spectrum, later on in "The Last Midnight" she not only demonstrates her amazing vocal abilities but gives a dramatic powerhouse of a performance that makes you discover who the witch really is. Of course, it is the great Sondheim who we should really thank for this. The line in the last midnight: "You're not good, you're not bad you're just nice, I'm not good, I'm not nice, I'm just RIGHT!" says so much when you think about it. This show is more accessable than most Sondheim productions and the majority of the first act is simply an entertaining and exciting story that perfectly intertwines all the fairy tales. But this is a Sondheim show. There is always something more serious behind the lines and certain points have some more racy meanings ("Hello Little Girl", a song that the wolf sings to little red riding hood, has an unmistakibly sexual undertone). Still, this is a delightful and thought provoking show that also manages to be incredibly entertaining. All of the leads deliver showcase performances and, well, this is just about as good as it gets. Anyone who thinks they hate Steven Sondheim: I defy you to get nothing out of the spectacular Into the Woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sondheim & Lapine Improve Upon The Brothers Grimm!, January 22, 2001
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
On the surface it sounds silly and simplistic: Cinderella and her Prince, Little Red Ridinghood, her Granny and The Wolf, Jack and his Beanstalk, Rupunzel, a Witch, a Baker and his Wife all come together in an enchanted wood to play out their famous stories...and then we get to see what happened AFTER the "happily ever after." But "Into the Woods" is anything but silly or simplistic. It is one of Sondheim's funniest and cleverest scores and this DVD version blessedly captures the sterling performances of the original Broadway cast headed by the incomparable Bernadette Peters, Chip Zien and Tony Award winner Joanna Gleason as the Baker's Wife. Sondheim and James Lapine dig deep and make us take a look at the consequences of getting what we wish for, since there truly is a price for everything, and the "ripple effect" of our desires touch the world in ways we may never imagine. It is also a musical about accepting loss and moving forward (a common theme in Sondheim scores, but one eloquently explored here in heartfelt numbers such as "Children Will Listen" and "No One Is Alone."). As an entertainment, you will get more than your money's worth, and along the way, you may learn a thing or two about yourself and your world. I have seen this show about a dozen times and learn something new each time. If you are a Sondheim novice, this would be a wonderful introductory show before jumping into the more complex pieces like "Sweeney Todd," "Assassins," or "Passion."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No "Closed Captioning" Available for the Hearing Impaired, August 28, 2001
By 
"krickey@pacbell.net" (Redding, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
We already owned "Into the Woods" on VHS and the audio CD because we thoroughly love this musical! Very clever and well written! The music is great! When I saw it was now available on DVD (my preference) I ordered a copy in hopes it would have extra "stuff" about the musical itself, as many DVDs do, and above all- it'd have "Closed Captioning" available for the hearing impaired! The DVD is simply the VHS copied onto a disk- no extras. However, as with DVDs, you can jump to different "chapters." Nothing more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, March 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: Into the Woods [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am a big fan of musical theater in general, however when a video is made the magic is often lost. Not with this one. They didn't make any special sets, they just filmed a performance, and it's great. The plot and music show us a complicated world where all the fairy tales from childhood have combined into one story line. I love Bernadette Peter's beautiful voice, joanna gleason's cutting comedy, and chip zien's sensitive but still humorous baker. I recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Stephen Sondheim or musical theater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding DVD!, October 28, 2001
This review is from: Into the Woods (DVD)
This DVD wonderfully depicts the hilarious, dark, hopefull, and overall terrific story of Into The Woods. The basic story is that of all the wonderfull fairy tales intertwined with one another revolving around a baker and his wife. While it is familiar to everyone, don't buy it for kids younger than ten because the second act is a much darker story which younger kids might get frightened by. Also, if you are an adult, don't be afraid it will be too immature for your liking. Many of the jokes are specifically adult humor and adults will appreciate the real tone of the musical (life isn't like a fairy tale: While things sometimes turn out happily in the end, not all things do.)
This musical is played out by an exceptional cast. Bernadetter Peters is the witch and her witty portrayal of the character is one of the show's best aspects. As well as being a great person to portray the with, Peters' wonderful voice make songs such as "Last Midnight" delightful to listen to. Joanna Gleason, who plays the part of the Baker's Wife couldn't be a better choiceHer comical timing and depth she brings to the character has the audience giving her a three minute standing ovation after the show-stopping number "Moments In The Woods." Other stars in the cast include Chip Zein as the Baker who frustrates you so many times throughout the show, but you love in the end. Roberts Westenberg is the hilarious choice for the Wolf/Cinderella's Prince. All in all, buy this DVD. It's a must have for musical-lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Into the Woods
Into the Woods by James Lapine (DVD - 1997)
Used & New from: $30.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.