Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$49.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2016
daughter loved the movie, so she got the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
boring!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
The movie was just as good as the show. A classic. Peters was amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
A classic stage musical. Recently there was a re-make, and sometimes musical theatre remakes can be a beautiful thing (for example, the remake of Phantom of the Opera, or Sweeney Todd), however in the case of Stephen Sondheim's "Into the Woods", the original is and always will be the very best version. Something is just "lost" in the remake. This is an extremely long stage musical, presented in original stage format as was originally broadcast on PBS. The music is beautiful and catchy, especially the incredibly talented Bernadette Peters in her performance of "The Last Midnight". If you enjoy fairy tales, musicals, and theater, then you have probably already seen this gem - but if you haven't, you would be remiss not to give it a watch. I purchased this on Amazon and it was a great value and worthy buy, I would recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
This is a musical play. the fairy tale themes. many fairy tale themes make this a classic. Its one of my favorite. Fairy tale themes in this play make it timeless and is based on Mans thoughts of the past 1000 years of life Timeless and great!!! Classic fairy tale themes make this involved in 1000 years of Life Great!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
This is my favorite cast of Into the Woods. I love this musical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
This is the best version of the show that I've seen. Bernadette Peters is amazing as usual but Joanna Gleason is simply magnificent. All of the performances are stellar, but I just really enjoy watching Joanna as the baker's wife. I hope more Broadway shows are recorded live on stage, with theatre actors, not big name movie or tv actors unless they are truly good stage performers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Awesome musical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
Warning: this is not the recent movie. If you're looking for that, and only that, this will not be a good substitute. This is a filming of the play during its 1985 revival.

Second warning: THIS PLAY HAS MATURE CONTENT. Because the movie was disneyfied, people seem to believe this play must be family friendly. There are deaths. There is implied violence. There are many sex jokes. There are themes about the nature of storytelling and moral ambiguity and infidelity and being discontent even when you get your deepest desires. This is an adult play, and it uses the Grimm version of fairy tales, not disney. If you're comfortable with your children watching this, I'd also like to add that I doubt it could keep their attention for its full two and a half hour run time. It is not colorful or joyous and the humor is, for the most part, very dry.

Warning three: there is a second act. However resolved everything is at the end of the first, keep going. It will seem like it's over. It's not.

Caveat emptors out of the way, man, I love this play. It's funny, it's smart, it's heartbreaking and optimistic and cynical all at once. I believe this is easily Sondhiem's best work, in terms of concept and structure. Musically, many of the songs are technically impressive, but forgettable, with a couple of exceptions (Agony and its reprise, Last Midnight, Hello Little Girl.)

As I mentioned, the humor is very dry, but the delivery of the actors sells it. Joanna Gleeson is the standout performance, with her clever expressions and sly smirks that speak to her determination and intelligence long before the play shows this.

If you like musicals, this is a classic and high school favorite for a reason. But don't expect the same distilled, septic performances of the movie, which pulls its punches during the reversal portion of the play and comes across limp but pretty.

I'm taking a star off for quality. It looks and sounds like they used a potato to record the play.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.