Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boooooooze
Intoxica is a fun cd to listen to. The Revels were pretty much a pre-surf surf rock group. The band was doing it's thing before the surf craze of the early 60s caught on, but when you listen to it, you'll hear hints of what was to become surf rock as we know it. So be forwarned if you buy this expecting the Revels to sound like The Surfaris. This was a great time in...
Published on May 26, 2005 by Stanley Runk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Party Time
The Revels' collection is great musical history; musically it's a bit thin. In any case the group sounds like it's having a great time. That's worth something.
Published on January 3, 2006 by John Trombone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boooooooze, May 26, 2005
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
Intoxica is a fun cd to listen to. The Revels were pretty much a pre-surf surf rock group. The band was doing it's thing before the surf craze of the early 60s caught on, but when you listen to it, you'll hear hints of what was to become surf rock as we know it. So be forwarned if you buy this expecting the Revels to sound like The Surfaris. This was a great time in rock history, coz bands could make a career out of being an instrumental group, and people loved it. You won't see this kinda thing happening today in mainstream music. In fact, if you've seen Pulp Fiction, you might remember them. Remember that rather unpleasant scene with Ving Rhames where Bruce Willis takes out those guys with a samurai sword? That peppy tune with the nasty sax? If you happen to remember that, then you've got a good idea of how the Revels sound. It's boss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Cool!, January 9, 2004
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
While I would not cite them as one of my favorite of the classic surf bands, I enjoy The Revels because they have a raw sound packed with partying and playfulness. Make no mistake, these guys' tunes would be easy to identify if there were to be a mass surf band reunion; they stay away from the melodic, but pump enough sheer energy from their instruments to put a personalized stamp on each track.
Based upon listening to this CD twice, I get the notion these guys played hard, but at the same gtime, played fun. The occasional background and introduction vocals & chuckles (probably best recognized in "Church Key") make this album all the more enjoyable.
If there is any criticism I have of The Revels, it is that the tunes begin to sound repetitious by the end of the CD. That is more of a personal call on my part; I know plenty of people who thrive on listening to steady rhythms, be it jazz or heavy metal or surf guitar. I'm a bit of a sucker for melodies!
That said, this is another great release by Sundazed. I highly recommend any release by Sundazed, as the CDs are accompanied by great liner notes that cover the history of each band, memories of the band members, and great back page stories. Sundazed is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Party Time, January 3, 2006
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
The Revels' collection is great musical history; musically it's a bit thin. In any case the group sounds like it's having a great time. That's worth something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the Revels!, July 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
The Revels were an early '60s instrumental rock group. While they were not a surf group, since they pre-dated surf music, they were a big influence on the later surf groups. The Revels' most famous song, "Church Key", became a surf music staple that was covered by countless surf groups. The group had a raunchy saxophone-oriented sound. Their songs really rock! The first 12 tracks on the CD comprise of their ultra-rare album in it's entirety. The rest of the CD features all the other tunes they recorded, plus four alternate takes. Recommended to fans of early instrumental rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dean Sorensen the great musician!, July 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dean Sorensen one of the best musicians of our time! He plays a fantastic saxophone!...and sings, and plays the guitar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Dance and Surf album, October 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
The Revels outdid themselves when they put together this great 60's dance and party album. The music inspires us all to get up and start moving. Dean Sorensen is one of the greatest sax players of all time. Well done guys......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great instrumental band!, July 11, 2007
This review is from: Intoxica! The Best of The Revels (Audio CD)
I really love good instrumental/surf music and The Revels are no exception. Sundazed has done it again. I would recommend this to anyone who likes this music along with the "Lost Legends of Surf Guitar" series, also from Sundazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.