Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction into the field
This book does an excellent job outlining the theoretical background and applications of geostatistics. After an overview and explanation of a concept (often involving some mathematical notation) the authors drop back and give an "intuitive" approach to the subject that I find incredibly beneficial.
I am a self-taught student of geostats, and this book is my...
Published on June 21, 1999 by James Long

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Geostatistics a scientific fraud
Between 1965 and 1970 Professor Georges Matheron's most gifted disciples stripped the variance off the distance-weighted average and called what was left a kriged estimate to honor D G Krige. Infinite sets of kriged estimates and zero kriging variances became the heart and soul of geostatistics but will always be aberrations in applied statistics.
Published 15 months ago by J. W. Merks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction into the field, June 21, 1999
By 
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This book does an excellent job outlining the theoretical background and applications of geostatistics. After an overview and explanation of a concept (often involving some mathematical notation) the authors drop back and give an "intuitive" approach to the subject that I find incredibly beneficial.
I am a self-taught student of geostats, and this book is my tutor. While I would prefer some formal instruction to augment this text, the text is excellent and a must-read for any student of the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction to Geostatistics, November 15, 2000
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to the somewhat difficult field of geostatistics. The examples in the book are based on the analysis of a digital elevation model transformed into data variables. This approach works very well and the explanatory text is very readable and understandable. Initially I thought that the math would make difficult reading but I am pleased to be wrong. The basics of Geostatistics can be understood from this book without having to translate the formulae ! An alternative very quick introduction to Geostatistics may be found in Burrough and McDonnell - Principles of Geographical Information Systems pp 132-161. My background is in Geology & GIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, comprehensive and approachable, February 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This book is a great book for people seeking to understand geostatistics, without the painfull math associated with the topic. The text is well written, with usfull examples in each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This is the second time I have purchased this book as I have mis-placed my original copy. The book is very readable and easily explains what is a complex topic - Geostatistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
Simplified and well explained book. The topic (Geostatistics) is quite complicated but this book try to explain in simple terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
Although over 20 years old, this book does a very good job of introducing the main topics in geostatistics. The writing is clear, if a bit plodding at times, and the approach they take of going through an actual analysis step by step, referencing theory as needed, is very instructive. That said, if you are looking for a "cookbook" for use with a certain software package, this is not it. I'm using this book to better understand the parameters and outputs in ESRI's ArcGIS extension, and it is a great complement to their more specific documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The standard reference, October 2, 2010
By 
C. R. (Mountain Home, Idaho United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This book was written in the 80's, but it is still the standard reference. I'm using it now in a Master's level course on GIS Spatial Analysis. A little dry, but complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is recommended for people who have a background in statistics, February 22, 2008
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
The book is recommended for people who have background in statistics. It is good book, clearly highlight important concepts in geostatistics. Perhaps, the clearest weakness in this book is the dataset used in demonstrating the presented subjects, which did not touch the reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
This is the best book so far for Introduction to Geostatistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Geostatistics a scientific fraud, May 8, 2013
By 
This review is from: An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics (Paperback)
Between 1965 and 1970 Professor Georges Matheron's most gifted disciples stripped the variance off the distance-weighted average and called what was left a kriged estimate to honor D G Krige. Infinite sets of kriged estimates and zero kriging variances became the heart and soul of geostatistics but will always be aberrations in applied statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics
An Introduction to Applied Geostatistics by Edward H. Isaaks (Paperback - January 11, 1990)
$92.95 $80.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.