Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$52.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2014
Examples were dated, as was the content about researching on the internet. Did not include esoteric fields of engineering such as computer engineering, my major.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
I received the book before expected. I love it when that happens. 👍
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
No complains, great service.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
Perfectly new!!! :D
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
great!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2005
Great introduction engineering book. Touches the topics that an engineering (especially electrical)student will learn.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2007
This was the book that I use in collage last year of my curse of Introduction to engineering. This book shows every thing that what is engineering and his ethic. I found it a little overpriced for such a small book that have a soft cover and the pages are not in color .
0Comment2 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2010
The first chapter of the book is biased toward western civilization and ignored contributions of other civilations to engineering and technology such as"Islamic Golden Age" which the author can read about through google, in addition to Persian,Indus Valley and Chinese civilizations.There are many artcles and books about the transfer of Islamic Technology to the West ,particularly those written or extracted from varios sources by a Scholar namd E.Ihsanoglu.On page 2 of the third edition which talks about Hmmurabi Code of Ethics,for example"If a builder build..." should read "If a builder builds..." and the rest of the paragraph on Ethics should be re-written using the right grammar.Alcatara on page 9 is an Arabic word for a bridge and the year it was built as claimed and referenced is A.D.98,while the truth is that this building technology was known in Spain after the Islamic Empire was established and lasted for 800 years.Islam started in 621 AD.There is a mix between careers and professions..The author should have listed all fields of enngineering and subdisciplines.The professional oganizations listed donot include all societies and limited to the USA only(Chapter3).On chapter6,there is a mix between communication technology and communications skills.To make the long story short,the book needs moderanization and revamping.Have I known about the quality of the book I wouldn't have bought it or may be bought a used one.Some of the comments might be harsh,but I took in cosideration that it is written for high school students or those who are in the preparatory year and I know it is not easy to write a book about engineering as a whole.I send my best wishes and regards to the author if he is still in GIT or whereever he is and to the publishers,John Wiley and Sons.
22 comments1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
book I needed for my class at the fraction of the university book store!! thanks!
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse