Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reid's Intro to Evagelism
This work is intended by the author to be used by pastors and students in the field of evangelism. Reid divides the subject matter into three major sections with five chapters in each of the first two sections and eight in the final section. The major headings are: Part 1, What We Must Know: The Convictional Basis of Evangelism, Part 2, How We Must Live: The Spiritual...
Published on November 30, 2001 by K. David Price

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book for School
I had to purchase this book for a class. It was okay for class but I did not keep it. Its kind of boring.
Published 11 months ago by Tara King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reid's Intro to Evagelism, November 30, 2001
By 
K. David Price (Kingston, GA 30145) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This work is intended by the author to be used by pastors and students in the field of evangelism. Reid divides the subject matter into three major sections with five chapters in each of the first two sections and eight in the final section. The major headings are: Part 1, What We Must Know: The Convictional Basis of Evangelism, Part 2, How We Must Live: The Spiritual Basis of Evangelism, and Part 3, What We Must Do: The Methodological Basis of Evangelism. This review will focus on the second section regarding the spiritual basis of evangelism.
In Part 2, Reid introduces his topic by relating the attitude of Dr. David Livingstone in his passion for the lost souls of Africa to the need for the individual to not only be equipped with a biblical basis for evangelism but with a heart that is "filled with a passion for God." As the reader moves through this section, he is exposed to the author's ideas regarding Christian character, Christian discipline, evangelistic prayer, the work of the Holy Spirit and Christian witness in that order. This structure points up one of the major weaknesses in Reid's approach to the subject. If the reader is expected to understand the spiritual basis of evangelism and is introduced to this section with the example of Livingstone's passion for souls, then the reader should have been led immediately to the source of this passion in a chapter on the Holy Spirit's work in evangelism. Instead, one has to wade through two chapters that should follow the explanation of the Holy Spirit's place since character and discipline are part of the work of the Spirit. In addition, Reid's chapter on prayer discusses several aspects of the Holy Spirit's work through the prayer life of the evangelist but the reader has not yet been introduced to the fundamentals of the Holy Spirit as The Evangelist.
The second weakness of Reid's approach is also his greatest strength. Reid has a great enthusiasm for his subject and is obviously a practitioner and not a theorist. This book is extremely readable because the author tells his and other people's experiences along with injecting other anecdotal material to hold the reader's interest. The narrative flow of the book makes one want to keep reading and seeing where the author will go next, what interesting characters will be met, what extraordinary circumstances will be experienced. However, in the fast moving stream of the narrative, one loses the impact of the principles that the author has learned by experience or through the experiences of others. At the point where one should stop and reflect on the eight scriptural principles involved in "Praying Your Friends to Christ" at the end of the chapter with that title, the author suddenly takes the reader on another anecdotal ride with a student named Joel who shares Jesus with a stranger. The chapter is concluded with a wonderful quote from Leonard Ravenhill that makes no mention of prayer at all. The reader would have greatly benefited from a logical and practical summation of the important points in each chapter so that he could return to them in outline form and flesh them out as needed from the body of Reid's work. This approach would have been more in keeping with the books purpose as being a guide for students and pastors.
In the book's preface, Reid relates a personal anecdote regarding his early reservations about writing as a professional. His entire perspective about himself in this regard was dramatically changed by a small note of encouragement from a professor. In the same vein, it would be well if someone could get the message across to the author that he is "a very good evangelist." Much of the enormous value of this text is buried in the telling of too many tales about other evangelists and their work when what the reader needs to know is how the author does the work of an evangelist in a way that he can relate to personally. The professor that encouraged Reid long ago is correct, he is a very good writer in that he knows how to keep his subject interesting and alive. There is no doubt that the author can demonstrate enthusiastically his passion for Christ and lead others in a personal forum to become soul-winners. If heart and enthusiasm are the most important elements an evangelist needs then this text is sufficient. However, if one is in need of a stronger methodology or a teaching text, then all the elements are available in the present text but some work will be involved in establishing those elements into a clear structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+, July 8, 2008
By 
Toni "Toni" (Phoenix, Arizona) - See all my reviews
Great Book. Not much more to say :) Easy to read and lots of good information that every Christian should know. Gives you skills and confidence to share the faith of Jesus Christ. We should all be witnesses for Him, not just pastors, we are all called to tell people about Jesus Christ. Interesting stories from a great author. I will look into more of his books :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evangelism, April 14, 2014
By 
Charles Hocker (FLORENCE, MS, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great book to give one the ability to evangelize to the people in this world. Everyone needs to read this work, in order to know the various ways that ministry can be expressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, very informative., January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very informative for growth to the Kingdom of God. It was also very easy reading for both myself and my classmates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Touch on an Old Topic, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fresh take on a old challenge. If you have been in church long enough evangelism is a struggle. For some it comes very easy while for others it strikes fear and dread. This book is not a "how to" but rather approaches the shift in society and the necessary shift for Christians as well. Written from an English perspective this short read is well worth the time on the topic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this book. Highly recommend! Lightening fast download. Easy to read and understand. I could read several times and learn something new each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, August 17, 2008
I found this book very useful and interesting for my class. I would suggest all christian leaders and pastors to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Evangelism, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband is using it for his course in Evangelism. He likes the book and it was in great condition when he got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book for School, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had to purchase this book for a class. It was okay for class but I did not keep it. Its kind of boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 4, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
AWESOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Introduction to Evangelism
Introduction to Evangelism by Alvin L. Reid (Paperback - August 1, 1998)
Used & New from: $3.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.