Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it advertises.
This book is quite appropriately named. It teaches the reader Fortran 90 in a clear, concise, and logical manner, exactly as an Engineer or Scientist would expect. This book goes a step beyond teaching Fortran by trying to teach the reader good programming style, common algorithms, and logic traps to avoid. Most all the examples relate in some way to problems...
Published on January 3, 2000

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction -- But Nothing More
"Introduction to FORTRAN 90" will get you on the road to programming in FORTRAN 90 post haste. The foundations of the langauge are covered thoroughly and clearly with plenty of good examples.

But FORTRAN 90 is a big language and it is not well served in this rather limited volume. Much that is useful and important in FORTRAN 90 you will find no mention of...
Published on March 24, 2006 by Bob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it advertises., January 3, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
This book is quite appropriately named. It teaches the reader Fortran 90 in a clear, concise, and logical manner, exactly as an Engineer or Scientist would expect. This book goes a step beyond teaching Fortran by trying to teach the reader good programming style, common algorithms, and logic traps to avoid. Most all the examples relate in some way to problems commonly solved by Engineers and Scientists, thus showing how using the language can benifit and enhance the readers professional cababilities. However, this book does have its downfalls. A couple of the code examples have small errors in them, and certain topics are not covered as well as others. Overall, I believe this is an excellent book that does a great job of teaching the reader to program in Fortran 90.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, July 22, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
I needed a book to get up and running in my new job as a Fortran programmer. This was just the book to do that! My job is in the engineering field and the book not only covered code that pertained to engineering concepts, but it also covered the necessary code and syntax that I was likely to encounter in the custom-built program that I will be maintaining/enhancing. It was just the right amount of delivery without being too much--enough to get my skill set updated. I would buy it again. It was worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction -- But Nothing More, March 24, 2006
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
"Introduction to FORTRAN 90" will get you on the road to programming in FORTRAN 90 post haste. The foundations of the langauge are covered thoroughly and clearly with plenty of good examples.

But FORTRAN 90 is a big language and it is not well served in this rather limited volume. Much that is useful and important in FORTRAN 90 you will find no mention of here. If you are doing some serious real-world programming, you will outgrow this book in, I predict, less than three months.

Maybe this is a good buy if you know flat nothing about the language and want to start learning. But mind your budget, because if you continue FORTRAN90 programming you're going to need something better before long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book is not for Beginners, August 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
This book does not seem like an introduction to the Fortran language but and introduction to Leestma's and Nyhoff's book "Fortran 90 for Engineers and Scientists" (no "Introduction to"). They reference that book a few times in this one saying something along the lines of, "For a more in depth description, consult "Fortran 90 for Engineers and Scientists." They even leave out the whole DO WHILE construct and instead substitute this ridiculous General DO loop with conditional exit statements (I do not know if they left out because of a new f90 type of convention, but it is upward compatible from f77). Sure it works, but there is no reason to have an extra line of code where you can have 1. Plus you have to negate the conditional statement you would have in the DO WHILE statement making it difficult to know what is going on right away. Some people may not see this as much of a problem, but for a beginner, they need to be able to read the code and make sense of it easily. And some of the applications seem a bit ridiculous. Not that they are wrong, but just how the programs actually work (like entering pollution data). I really do not like how they took up a whole section for an application. It gets the idea across, but they are not the applications I would have chosen, especially in the conditional and looping sections.

It also seems as though there is a lot of interpreting left up to the reader on some of the concepts. There are some ideas the reader may not be sure they can extend or not. This book was definitely a shorted version of "Fortran 90 for Engineers and Scientists." If you want to learn Fortran 90 get that one, not this one (especially if you're new to programming). It is a bit more expensive, but it is worth it. Leestma and Nyhoff know what they are talking about but this cut down version is just horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars IntroductionTo Fortran 90 For Engineers and Scientists, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
I just receive the book Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists, I bought it for $61 and I am very disappointed with the edition. It seems to be a low quality photocopy, there are some pages that I can hardly read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very bad, April 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
It was pretty older than I thought. I don't like the quality. I am not gonna buy anything from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Print quality; reference value, April 6, 2010
By 
Raman (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
First of all, the publisher/printer should be ashamed of themselves for this printing. It really looks like a bad photocopy, and there is a lot of text embedded in greyscale blocks that is quite straining to read. Many of the text blocks are rotated with respect to the page. I am usually not a stickler for print quality, but this is egregious. Really the only reasons not to photocopy this book are to respect the copyright, save time, or, perhaps, get the unremarkable paperback binding.

Pedagogically, the book is standard but pretty good. It is not an inspired treatise on how to think about computing like "Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs," but Nyhoff and Leetsma is solid, with decent examples, full small programs to illustrate concepts, and nice exercises, some of which require some creativity. I will admit I am still working on the book, but from what I've seen so far it is decent. It does teach some good programming practices (like commenting and abstraction), which I appreciate in a world so full of people content with writing unreadable spaghetti code. A beginning programmer would profit from going through the book linearly.

I'm not convinced, however, that such an exposition is appropriate for a language like Fortran 90. This is mostly a "legacy" language; aside from some holdouts (like my research collaborator) very few people these days write software from scratch in Fortran. Furthermore, I have trouble believing that many current students have their first programming experiences in this language. Much more common is a relatively programming-literate person confronted with the task of comprehending, enhancing, and debugging an often poorly written, sprawling numerical engine developed over years (or decades). This is helped by a well-organized reference work, and here the book is limited: even simple things like a list of functions handling double-precision mathematics are absent or scattered widely through the book. That is to say nothing of the complete omission of more advanced tools, like the MPI libraries used heavily for numerical computing on clusters.

If you are the rare beginner learning Fortran 90 as your first language, this book will do you good. If you have even minimal programming experience (consistent, say, with a decent undergraduate education in engineering or the physical sciences) and are confronted with Fortran 90 on the job, it will get you started but do little else. I wish I knew of a better text on Fortran, and when I find one I will be thankful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists
Introduction to FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists by Larry R. Nyhoff (Paperback - September 23, 1996)
$79.80 $67.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.