Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex issues in common language...
Brian Davies takes complicated issues involving God, metaphysics, ethics, etc. and presents them in clear, common language anyone can read. It is clear from reading Davies' book that he has been in dialogue with philosophers who come at these subjects from many contrasting perspectives. He presents the varying arguments, demonstrates their strengths and weeknesses and, in...
Published on June 25, 1998

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Information but not for everyone
I had to get this book to read for my religions class at Simmons and it was a good book but keep in mind this has some complicated language. I'm a common reader who reads once a while (actually only when im assigned something to read by my school lol) but like this was a book that i would have to read over more than one, like in each chapter to understand what the other...
Published on June 11, 2012 by Sreenadh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex issues in common language..., June 25, 1998
By A Customer
Brian Davies takes complicated issues involving God, metaphysics, ethics, etc. and presents them in clear, common language anyone can read. It is clear from reading Davies' book that he has been in dialogue with philosophers who come at these subjects from many contrasting perspectives. He presents the varying arguments, demonstrates their strengths and weeknesses and, in the end, leaves it up to the reader to decide whether or not to support the arguments presented. Great reference book for anyone engaged in the philosophy of religion or in metaphysics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy of Religion Made Easy, August 23, 2000
This book was my "textbook" when I took Philosohy of Religion back in 1985. Compared to most philosphy of religion books, Brian Davies does an excellent job in reviewing, describing, explaining, and showing the strengths and weakness of each metaphysical idea without showing too much of a bias one way or the other.
This text is small, yet, thorough. He deals masterfully with some of the biggest arguments for God: Ontological, cosmological, and teleogical as well as others. His chapter on miracles is easy to understand and well written. The book doesn't try to sway the student in any direction, but instead, shows that it is reasonable to believe or not to believe in God.
Well balanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work, November 19, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used this book to teach Theology in seminary and found it always successful at engaging the students and generating real discussions. The biggest difficulty for students is to see the point of the issues that Theologians wrestle with and Davies does an excellent job with that. I would recommend this for those reading alone as well as for groups of adults or teachers of introductory courses. Individual chapters could also be very useful for more focused discussions or for parts of courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fairly up-to-date and friendly textbook for total beginners, November 24, 2008
By 
Christopher Culver (Cluj-Napoca, Romania or Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
Though I took a course in the philosophy of religion as an undergraduate some years ago, I needed a refresher and Brian Davies' AN INTRODUCTION TO THE PHILOSOPHY OF RELIGION proved an accessible resource. Davies' book is set up in twelve chapters on the subjects of 1) concepts of God, 2) philosophy and religious belief, 3) cosmological arguments, 4) design arguments, 5) ontological arguments, 6) experience and God, 7) talking about God, 8) divine simplicity, 9) omnipotence and omniscience, 10) God and evil, 11) miracles, 12) morality and religion, and 13) life after death.

As an introductory textbook, Davies' book serves fairly well. I especially like his clear explanation of the difference between classical theists and theistic personalism, a recent trend which older textbooks don't adequately cover. I have only a couple of complaints. The first is that his explanation of the ontological arguments isn't as clearly written as it could have been. The ontological argument is as opaque as a Zen koan to most of the public, and demands just the right approach. The other weak aspect of the book is the lack of any discussion of the probability calculus as used in the philosophy of religion, widely known from e.g. Swinburne's THE RESURRECTION OF GOD INCARNATE.

Nonetheless, Davies' book seems to be a good choice if you want to start in this field from scratch. Be prepared, however, to start chasing primary documents soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective, Clear, but a Little Dry, October 6, 2011
By 
Kodoku (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
This book offers a very sensible, well-organized explanation of various major themes in the field (concepts of God, reasons for believing, what miracles are and whether they can be known, etc.) that takes into account several different points of view on each issue. It seems difficult to infer Davies' own position on the various issues just from reading the explanations, so it seems that a lot of effort was made to avoid any bias.

The material can get a bit dry, as it's presented as "Here is an issue. Here is why it's relevant. Here is how it's been formulated in the past. Here are some criticisms. Here are some answers to those criticisms. Here is another another formulation: etc... Conclusion: Both sides seem reasonable on this issue, it does not appear possible to conclusively go one way or the other." pretty much throughout the text. Not exactly page-turning stuff, though this is by no means a fatal flaw.

The other issue I have is that it doesn't really give a taste for some recent controversies or highly debated matters in the philosophic literature as of the writing of the book or most recent edition - it gives the impression that the subject is somewhat stagnant.

So to summarize - very solid introduction to the major themes in philosophy of religion, but not a very exciting read and you'll need to supplement your reading (many suggested readings are included) if you want to delve deeply in any particular topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise; a true introduction, October 10, 2008
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
Davies' Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion is clear and concise. He quotes the major philosophers and brings their varying views together for the reader's comparison. I have not studied philosophy or religion and found this fairly easy to comprehend; it opened my eyes to a number of aspects of religious thought and I feel, having read it, on more solid footing in my thinking about God, creation, miracles, evil, and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Information but not for everyone, June 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
I had to get this book to read for my religions class at Simmons and it was a good book but keep in mind this has some complicated language. I'm a common reader who reads once a while (actually only when im assigned something to read by my school lol) but like this was a book that i would have to read over more than one, like in each chapter to understand what the other is trying to say. I'm a pretty good reader with a high level of vocabulary but the way the author write, he makes it wordy and unnecessarily complicated for average readers.

It does have some great ideas and theories. It shows both sides of religion, the people for it and people against it. It isnt biased

I enjoyed reading it although i do wish i was a little less complicated to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
Interesting book. Very good, makes you think. I would read this for enjoyment. It is well written. I recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars student, July 5, 2013
By 
Gregory L. Koon (TAVARES, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
required reading for any theology student learning is a life time of working everyday to be a teacher by preaching you must know and understand what God has revealed about himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Construction, September 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion (Paperback)
I am only half way through this book and pages are falling out. The bunding is bad. Cheap romance novels have better binding. I need to read this as part of my Theology course but it won't last long enough to go into my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion
An Introduction to the Philosophy of Religion by Brian Davies (Paperback - January 8, 2004)
$40.00 $32.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.