Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Sociolinguistics by Janet Holmes
I am currently using this book as an undergraduate and graduate course book for a Sociolinguistics class in a program in Applied Linguistics and I feel that it is appropriate for that level and only had to suppliment the contents with a few other chapters from some other books. The students like the material and find it easy reading and understandable even though I teach...
Published on January 11, 2007 by Connie Rae Johnson

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not half bad
It's hard to find an entry-level book about sociolinguistics. Holmes is probably one of the few people who've ventured to give it a go and didn't do very bad. The realistic and colorful examples of every theory are both this book's flaw and its forte. As a New Zealander, Holmes knows what it's like to live in a multilingual society and this shows in her choice of...
Published on March 11, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not half bad, March 11, 2001
By A Customer
It's hard to find an entry-level book about sociolinguistics. Holmes is probably one of the few people who've ventured to give it a go and didn't do very bad. The realistic and colorful examples of every theory are both this book's flaw and its forte. As a New Zealander, Holmes knows what it's like to live in a multilingual society and this shows in her choice of examples. They help to bring the theories alive, but at times they blur your view of the central theories and technical terms. All in all a pretty good effort, and actually rather pleasant to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Sociolinguistics by Janet Holmes, January 11, 2007
By 
Connie Rae Johnson (Puebla, Puebla, México) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am currently using this book as an undergraduate and graduate course book for a Sociolinguistics class in a program in Applied Linguistics and I feel that it is appropriate for that level and only had to suppliment the contents with a few other chapters from some other books. The students like the material and find it easy reading and understandable even though I teach in Mexico with native Spanish speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sociolinguistics sounds like linguini...., March 3, 2011
By 
jeffrey (carson, nm, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Janet Holmes is a New Zealander who teaches upper division courses, is a language expert, is interested in gender studies, social-cultural changes in society, and in the English language as an expression of who we-you-are. Most recently, I used the book to gain clarity about the difference between a national language and an official language. If you have any interest in the English Only movement, this book is for you. How can you fight EO? By learning about what it means to have a national and official language. Enjoy this book. Knowledge is power. An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (Learning about Language)If you want to look deeper at forces behind language use and disuse, this is a book for you. Invaluable, and now that I have reading investment in the book, I feel it is an invaluable resource. It can be read by anyone. It is a pleasure to read about the social implications of languages, and get a glimpse of languages from the views and perspectives of the real users, you-me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sociolinguistics textbook, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Bit labourous - takes a long time getting to the point. General feeling by most of those in the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gives a good overview, informative examples, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
this book is an excellent place to start when you're researching sociolinguistic topics. clearly structured, with good examples and explanations, it is a book I use for my studies in linguistics and intend to keep as a resource afterwards as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, December 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
I very much enjoyed reading this for one of my TESOL classes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 16, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Get the new edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Interesting book that is well-worth reading if you are interested in sociolinguistics. Great textbook overall, I recommend it for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a book, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Shipped quickly and in the same conditioned as mentioned when I purchased. Can't ask for much more, and the price was just right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intrduction to Sociolinguistics (Learning about Language), April 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
The book is clean like new and no pages missing. I thank the seller in advance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language)
Used & New from: $34.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.