Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (3rd Edition) (Learning About Language)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2001
It's hard to find an entry-level book about sociolinguistics. Holmes is probably one of the few people who've ventured to give it a go and didn't do very bad. The realistic and colorful examples of every theory are both this book's flaw and its forte. As a New Zealander, Holmes knows what it's like to live in a multilingual society and this shows in her choice of examples. They help to bring the theories alive, but at times they blur your view of the central theories and technical terms. All in all a pretty good effort, and actually rather pleasant to read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
Janet Holmes is a New Zealander who teaches upper division courses, is a language expert, is interested in gender studies, social-cultural changes in society, and in the English language as an expression of who we-you-are. Most recently, I used the book to gain clarity about the difference between a national language and an official language. If you have any interest in the English Only movement, this book is for you. How can you fight EO? By learning about what it means to have a national and official language. Enjoy this book. Knowledge is power. An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (Learning about Language)If you want to look deeper at forces behind language use and disuse, this is a book for you. Invaluable, and now that I have reading investment in the book, I feel it is an invaluable resource. It can be read by anyone. It is a pleasure to read about the social implications of languages, and get a glimpse of languages from the views and perspectives of the real users, you-me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
I am currently using this book as an undergraduate and graduate course book for a Sociolinguistics class in a program in Applied Linguistics and I feel that it is appropriate for that level and only had to suppliment the contents with a few other chapters from some other books. The students like the material and find it easy reading and understandable even though I teach in Mexico with native Spanish speakers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
Why does this book exist. I don't understand this subject's importance at all. This book is almost entirely common sense, wasted pages of words. I feel like the whole thing could be condensed into about 10 pages with no loss of content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2013
janet holmes does a fine job introducing sociolinguistics. i feel she takes a good mix from all over the world and synthesizes the result. i do feel that her arguments about gender and the english language are clearly activist-based. and i have never bought the african american vernacular english (aave) argument ~ although many notable sociolinguists accept it. i have worked with too many african americans to blanket categorize their language into one kettle.

i would recommend this book if you need to read for school or personal education.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
this book is an excellent place to start when you're researching sociolinguistic topics. clearly structured, with good examples and explanations, it is a book I use for my studies in linguistics and intend to keep as a resource afterwards as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
Bit labourous - takes a long time getting to the point. General feeling by most of those in the class.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
When an English language textbook uses osmosis instead of diffusion to describe something, I become a little sad. But it's actually a very good textbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
Very dated. It seems that it has been republished many times but very little has been updated since it was first published in 1992.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
This is an interesting book that gives a good overview of Sociolinguistics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse