Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 6, 2003
Don't know much on the subject of aliens. Bought the tape because I'm a big Crenna fan and was out of the country when it was on TV. What an ENJOYABLE and CREEPY film from start to finish! Couldn't find fault in any cast member(even Steven Berkoff in a very over-the-top performance was wonderful!). Tight editing, score...well, everything. Thinking of some scenes give me chills even now (I'm with the rest of you guys re: the boy in the valley.....yikes!!)I agree it needs to be on DVD too. Guess I'd better buy a DVD player first, right?
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2000
This movie is the best representation of the abduction phenomenon I have seen yet. It brings together most, if not all, of the elements remembered in abduction accounts. Not necessarily a true adaptation of the Intruders novel by Budd Hopkins, however a very true to life interpretation of abductions. A must see for anyone interested in the ever deepening mystery of UFO abductions, without all the Hollywood sugar coating.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2003
First off I have to echo the words of a reviewer from 2 before mine: The scene with the boy in the valley gave me chills and nightmares, what with the way it was edited and scored. I don't want to oversell it, but bravo for pointing it out, and honestly, though others may not feel so, I was startled as hell when I first saw the "surprise".
Ok, the film is loosely based on the book of the same name (minus the frightening detail of the child's account of his "roommate" which freaked me out most), and is about the lifelong experience 2 women have had with aliens. It takes the subject metter very seriously and tries to find answers, and is not a sensationalized hollywood account with spaceships firing lasers and such. Rent it for a long, but quietly fascinating look at the possibility of alien influence, as well as at least 2 scenes that startle me to this day: The aforementioned "Little boy in the valley" and the very eerie "repairmen" who come to visit the main character at night. Very, very creepy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having studied the abduction phenomenon in some depth, and being acquainted with all the published work of Budd Hopkins, John Mack and David Jacobs over 20 years with thousands of abductees, I had low expectations of a dramatized movie doing justice to this enormous and detailed subject.

But wow, what a surprise. The movie really is good. It could be watched by a viewer very familiar with the subject, or one to whom the subject matter might be new and unknown, and both would find it absorbing and compulsive viewing. The screenplay is very strong, the plot line thoughtful in its development and the direction and editing really first class. The actors are all excellent, and the slow conversion of the psychiatrist character to acceptance of the phenomenon as real in the face of the mounting evidence is convincing and well developed.

Although based loosely on the Copley Woods case, from which the title 'Intruders' is derived, the movie is not not a dramatization of Hopkins' account of that case. The characters and settings are changed, but the essential chronology of events retained.

The essential aspects of the abduction phenomenon are revealed and explained in the drama: the common biopsy scoop-marks usually on the lower leg which many abductees suffer as children and which become lifelong visible scars, the nasal implants and resulting nose bleeds, the 'missing' pregnancies, the circular landing traces left by the intruders' craft (on which often nothing grows for many seasons) and the purposeful, repeated and intergenerational nature of the phenomenon.

The most chilling part for me (apart from the introduction of the 4-year old hybrid child to its natural mother...) was the private and revealing conversation between the Air Force General and the psychiatrist near the conclusion of the film. This of course linked back to the first scene in the military bunker, and the scene with the crashed spacecraft, in explaining the policy of denial and why it is continued. This was a really interesting scene to include, not part of the original 'Copley Woods' case but nevertheless thoughtfully places the phenomenon in its global political perspective where it is taken very, very seriously (Above Top Secret and all that...) whilst public indifference and ridicule of abductees and witnesses remains the order of the day in the MSM, who collude in the deception.

Disclosure about this issue, the most important ever for the human race, will have to come one day. But when?

See the movie. It's time well spent.
55 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 1999
I have never seen another movie covering the UFO subject that was as interesting as this movie!
If you are at all interested in UFO's this movie is a must see!
Bud Hopkins book was converted to film perfectly!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2005
This is the best movie I've seen on the subject, it is a shame it is not available on DVD, so I support the general claim to sell it on DVD, PLEASE!! I frequently remember the part of "little boy" as I call him (the boy in the valley)...it's FREAKY!!

CC
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2014
I am a UFO Field Investigator with the Mutual UFO Network. I am based in NC and I have investigated many abduction cases all over the state. Many of the people I talk to have had life long experiences just as described in this movie. This is the best description of what people everywhere are experiencing. I you want to know exactly what is happening then you have to watch this movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2005
Having read Budd Hopkins' book 'Intruders' from which this TV mini-series originated, I can only conclude that this hot topic deserves a DVD reissue. And soon! It will undoudtedly sell lots and bundles, since the similarly-themed X-Files has been THE most popular TV show ever (Translated into 18 languages around the world, no less!). There seems to be an ever-growing audience for the subject. See the related website 'ufoevidence.org'. The cover-up will soon come to an end. A Disclosure could very well be finally on the way. Meanwhile, we have this nice documentary!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2000
no doubt, this is a terrifying film. it is very true to the "abduction-rules", (missing time, etc.) to me, this has to be one of the scariest movies ever made. it's pulled off very well, and the acting is very good, especially good,- considering it's budget. the scenes depicting the actual abductions are very realistic, or at least they seem to be real- (seeing as though i have never experienced one). overall this movie is very well done, and thought out, and i would 100% recommend it to anyone interested in the "abduction-phenomenon".
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2008
All over the world, people report they've been visited by aliens, taken aboard spaceships and medically examined. The authorities appear to know all about these visits but won't acknowledge it publicly. This film focuses on two 'victims' who struggle to live normal lives, but the aliens keep coming back.One of them, Lesley Hahn (Daphne Ashbrook, who later started in the 1996 Dr Who TV film) lives in California, and has a nightmare about faceless repairmen entering her house and taking her, and the other is a housewife, Mary Wilkes(Mare Winningham), from Nebraska who has unexplained blackouts and ends up on a motorway miles from her home. Lesley goes to a psychiatrist, Dr Neil Chase (Richard Crenna) who doesn't believe her, thinking it could possibly be a result of sexual abuse as a child.

Meanwhile, Mary decides to take a holiday in California with her sister, who knows Neil Chase, and is persuaded to see the psychiatrist to find out if he can help with her problem.Neil is struck by the similarities between the two cases, and realises that symbols drawn by Mary are similar to that of another patient of his, a former soldier who encountered a crashed UFO which was recovered by the government. Making contact with a university professor who does research into alien abductions, he begins to investigate the wider world of alien encounters, and runs into a general who is investigating UFOs in secret. Finally, Mary is abducted again, and learns the true purpose of the aliens.
It's actually based on Budd Hopkins book' 'Intruders: The Incredible Visitations at Copely Wood', which is a true story about a family who are abducted and probed by aliens. The acting and performances are worth the movie itself, Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.