Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy your update here, not through Quickbooks
For years I spent money on my accountant preparing paychecks. I then discovered Quickbooks and Quickbooks Payroll. I used it for a year and it worked perfectly.

I got an request to charge my credit card $135 for another year's subscription. I went on Amazon, and found this for about 1/2 the price. Intuit would not match the price, so I bought this. A great...
Published on February 4, 2012 by ASA

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
3.0 out of 5 stars you need quickbooks
This wasn't clear to me, but to use this payroll program, you must also have Quickbooks installed. When adding the two together, the software is around $400. Just so you know.
Published on February 29, 2012 by snorton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy your update here, not through Quickbooks, February 4, 2012
By 
ASA (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
For years I spent money on my accountant preparing paychecks. I then discovered Quickbooks and Quickbooks Payroll. I used it for a year and it worked perfectly.

I got an request to charge my credit card $135 for another year's subscription. I went on Amazon, and found this for about 1/2 the price. Intuit would not match the price, so I bought this. A great time saver, and a great value here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you need quickbooks, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
This wasn't clear to me, but to use this payroll program, you must also have Quickbooks installed. When adding the two together, the software is around $400. Just so you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Mar 6, 2012 3:10:35 PM PST
Hi, my name is Amy and I'm with the Intuit Payroll Product Team. Our Basic and Enhanced payroll products integrate directly with QuickBooks to make payroll a seamless process, so I apologize that this requirement wasn't clear. We also have great payroll products for non-QuickBooks customers, Intuit Online Payroll (http://payroll.intuit.com/payroll_services/online_payroll.jsp) and Intuit Full Service Payroll (http://payroll.intuit.com/payroll_services/fullservice_payroll.jsp). We're in the process of getting those on Amazon, but for now you can find them on our website (www.payroll.com). Those are both standalone offerings and hopefully you'll find one that fits your needs! Thanks
 
 

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this service- simple as that., December 15, 2011
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
I used to do payroll by hand; have had a CPA in the past also; bottom line this is a great intuitive easy program to use. I have used this payroll service for 9 years, no, absolutely no problems and I have usually had about 7 employees. If I have a question, the excellent customer service department has always been able to answer it - however I can count the times I needed answers on one hand because it is so easy. Everything I need for month end, quarter end, and year end is at my fingertips. I can drill down in many different ways to look at data. Bottom line - I am taking the time to endorse this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No New Functionality, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
To start this review, I will tell you I am a CPA in "real life" and see nothing new here to justify purchasing a newer version unless Intuit has you over one of their many barrels in a forced upgrade that just annoys the &^$% out of their customers. I was annoyed with having to purchase this version at all - Intuit really needs to work on their licensing program as well as their no-help customer service: the machine I had QB 2010 and a current version of Payroll on died. Little did I know the online version I purchased was a "one time download only" version, and their customer service department wouldn't let me re-download it.

Accordingly, I bought the CD / DVD version and have made a vow to do that with all future Intuit purchases - the price for the DVD version is actually cheaper on Amazon than purchasing it and downloading from Intuit (doesn't make sense).

Install was a snap, and I see absolutely zero difference in functionality between this 2012 version of Payroll and what it was replacing. Granted, my needs are pretty simple (single member LLC with one employee), but every piece of functionality I use is exactly the same. If you do not need to upgrade due to the licensing rollover, I would recommend you save your money until you absolutely, positively, have to get the software - and when you do, make sure on all future Intuit products you purchase the DVD install version vs. downloading it. Please be aware if you do purchase and install this version, Intuit will charge you over $100 each year to continue the license. It's a great cash flow scheme for them, but really makes you wonder if you are purchasing a piece of software or are you really just purchasing a license. Me thinks it is just the license.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Jun 15, 2012 12:43:57 PM PDT
Hi Michael. My name is Amy and I'm with our Intuit Payroll Product Team. Each year, we update our product to comply with the latest tax rates and payroll regulations. So although you may not notice differences in the product, we are making updates to keep your business in compliance. If you have suggestions on new features you'd like to see, we're all ears! In regards to price, Amazon will occasionally offer promotional pricing on your first year of service that differs from what you see on Intuit.com. Going forward, the product will renew at the regular price. Thanks for your feedback.
 
 

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best price on the net, March 31, 2012
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
For years I have used QB Basic Payroll for free for my own company and two clients -- the condition was that the company could only have one employee, which we all did.
Well, in their attempt to gouge every last dime out of the marketplace, Intuit has decided to discontinue FREE basic payroll for one employee companies and force us all to purchase a payroll subscription. This is the best price out there. Disgruntled, but happy I found a $20 discount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Costs too much for a very small business, July 19, 2012
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
I have only a couple of part-time/temporary employees - but I still have pay as much as the big companies for payroll services - $345 - just went up from $299! Quickbooks needs a smaller version for companies that need the tax tables but not all the other bells and whistles for payroll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subscription cost confusion, March 4, 2012
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
I have read several posts regarding the subscription price for basic payroll and enhanced payroll. I'm still confused, seems like others are as well. Is the 1st year subscription INCLUDED with purchase of the software? I understand that there is a renewal fee annually (thereafter?)
Will someone from Intuit payroll please answer my question? Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Mar 6, 2012 3:14:43 PM PST
Hi Bree, my name is Amy and I'm with the Intuit Payroll Product Team. Your first year of service is included with the purchase of Basic or Enhanced payroll. At the end of the year we'll automatically renew your service, which provides you with the latest tax tables to keep your payroll up-to-date! If you have any other questions please let us know. Thanks
 
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Payroll, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
Price was a bit less than in the stores and if you want to do payroll out of Quickbooks it is mandatory. It's the exact same product as last year but Quickbooks makes the previous version inopperable after a year,bastards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not For Buisness, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
If your running a buisness and are going to start doing payroll this IS NOT the product you want.It doesnt tell you that you will need updates from the IRS,which this will NOT do.And it is only a base for payroll NOT the advanced that you will need for taxes and so forth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Payroll made simple, December 13, 2011
This review is from: QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 (CD-ROM)
Quickbooks Basic Payroll Subscription gives you all the tools and advice necessary to make payroll a breeze. Auto-calculations for salary, taxes, and other deductions are a life saver to the busy Office Manager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012
QuickBooks Basic Payroll 2012 by Intuit, Inc. (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.