Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Shop Now HTL

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$22.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2013
Winner of the 1970 Oscar for Best Foreign Film, Italian director Elio Petri's "Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion" has held up quite well during the last 40+ years. The story revolves around a powerful police inspector (Gian Maria Volonté of "Fistful of Dollars" fame) and the terrible crime he commits. His position of power leaves him virtually innocent in the eyes of his contemporaries, even though he left a trail of clues and seems determined to profess his guilt. It's a fantastic character study and clever jab at the public perception of those "above suspicion". Excellent acting, memorable music and a unique structure make this a perfectly accessible drama.

Criterion's new "Dual-Format Edition" (Blu-ray and DVD) pairs a spotless new A/V presentation (sourced from a recent 4K restoration) with a handful of informative extras, including detailed documentaries about Petri, Volonte and vintage interviews with key cast and crew members. It's quite a well-rounded package and this forgotten gem deserves the extra attention. Whether you've seen it before or are totally new to foreign films, it's a strong effort and a fairly good "gateway drug" for newbies.

For more details, please read my complete review at: [...]
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2013
Beautiful film by director Elio Petri, Investigation on a citizen above suspicion won an oscar in 1970.
I recommend to watch this film to all interested in italian film making.
It a piece of art.
The dvd box by criterion is full of content with an amazing documentary about the life of the director.
Don't miss it, it's awesome
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2014
While I love this film, the digital download version is dubbed in English, which, of course, ruins the whole thing. I wish there were a way to return it. Be aware of this if you'd like to download the film from Amazon.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 13, 2014
There's a reason why this Oscar winning film has such a following and still commands such respect nearly half a century later. I could wax lyrical about the fascinating plot brought to the screen by a group of actors that were truly on top of their game, the direction that's in turn informed by, and influencing, graphic novels and finally the unforgettable Morricone soundtrack. I won't though, it could take all day.
All the love that every fan of this film has is here in this Criterion package. There's so much information on the background and the making of the film in Italy at that particular time that you really do get a sense of the importance of this piece. As usual, and as to be expected from this company, the picture quality is unsurpassable with audio tracks to match.
If you're a fan of intelligent foreign cinema, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to this release. I cannot recommend it enough.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on June 13, 2014
Paid $12 for the Instant video version only to find out it's been dubbed into English and it's a cheap cringe-worthy dub at that. I guess it's my fault for not investigating the product further but it's not possible to view what language the film is on my Roku.

One of my favorite films of all time, it's incredibly disappointing that the version available on Instant video is a sub-par version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2015
115 minute long Italian crime-drama about a young chief-inspector from unidentified Italian city, who purposely commits murder and makes sure that all clues of crime point him out as the perpetrator. The reason for it: he wants to find out if he is above the law. Il Dottore is testing the system. Il Dottore (Gian Maria Volonte in the role of his lifetime) is an authoritarian, nonchalant, straight-eye-well-spoken and quick-witted chief-inspector of the homicide division, who at the day of the murder, is transferred/promoted to be chief-of-political section. The film opens up with Il Dottore walking in broad-daylight through an empty street towards the house of his mistress, played by the gorgeous and free-spirited Argentinean actress Florinda Bolkan. Beginning with the opening scene all the way to the end, the viewer will be exposed to the film's catchy melody composed by the legendary Ennio Morricone. The music score and film complement each other very nicely. But what really stands out, is Volonte's acting. His air of arrogance can be felt through the screen, his cold eyes and mannerism are electrifying. His Mussolini or Hitler like speeches either to himself, colleagues, or superiors are without a doubt classically fascist. The movie border-lines on surreal, especially the ending. The film also explores Kafka's famous themes of bureaucracy, authority, and citizen v. society conflict. Although, the film can be categorized easily as police-crime story, the deep psychological aspect underlying the obvious genre gives this film a double meaning.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 7, 2015
This is an extraordinarily rich film artistically, and it is also as politically meaningful today as it was in 1970. I would rank Petri's "Citizen" number two in what might be called a period trilogy of political films that investigate the social and psychological tolls exacted by fascism, behind Bertolucci's "The Conformist" but ahead of Costa-Gavras' "Z." Pretty good company. Gian-Maria Volonte is superb, Brazilian-born Florinda Balkan is stunningly beautiful, and the supporting players a full-house gallery of well-chosen types. One cavil that I have is this: Why stream this in the dubbed version? The Anglo-Saxon voices clash terribly with the physical performances of the Italian cast, lending a strangely dissonant aura to the film. At first it is bizarrely interesting, but it soon becomes extremely distracting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
Interesting story and deserved its Oscar for Best Foreign Language film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
Director: Elio Petri

This fascinating, ultra magnetic portrait of a power crazy (and just plain crazy) murderer who also happens to be a Police Chief is made absorptive due to its distinctive visual style perfectly matched to a lively and infectious Ennio Morricone score (see Treasured Appearances).

Excellent Blu-ray transfer. Region A locked.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2014
I saw this filme may years ago and I still consider Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion a very peculiar movie, one of a kind, that shows its age (1970) and, at the same time, is extremely modern and original in its conception. You could say that this happen because the corruption it shows, the connection of politcs and crime still persists in all modern societies. But it is not only because of that. This comic thriller, with a brilliant and overblown acting of the great italian actor Gian Maria Volonté, is almost unparalelled in the movies: it mixes the circus, so dear to Fellini (or comedia dell arte, if you prefer), with the french grand guignol with the genre of popular brazilian comedy that we call chanchada, with kafka, cervantes and ultimately all kinds of political satire that I can remember. Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion is Dino Risi's masterpiece and he is one of the great masters of the classical cinema.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
State of Siege [Blu-ray]
State of Siege [Blu-ray] by Yves Montand (Blu-ray - 2015)

The 10th Victim [Blu-ray]
The 10th Victim [Blu-ray] by Marcello Mastroianni (Blu-ray - 2011)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.