Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, direct, on point - a great appetizer!
Great introductory book for index fund investing, asset allocation, and the importance of ignoring the market "chatter" that constantly tempts the investor to "do something" (even if that "something" is more likely to hurt than help). At about 100 pages, the entire book can easily be read in one sitting, and provides a great introduction to the topic.

Perhaps...
Published on September 29, 2009 by RLC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars was hoping for more
one of the few non-fiction books i read this year. very simplistic, but straight forward was what i wanted. it's a quick primer
Published 18 months ago by Lizard


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, direct, on point - a great appetizer!, September 29, 2009
By 
RLC (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
Great introductory book for index fund investing, asset allocation, and the importance of ignoring the market "chatter" that constantly tempts the investor to "do something" (even if that "something" is more likely to hurt than help). At about 100 pages, the entire book can easily be read in one sitting, and provides a great introduction to the topic.

Perhaps the most helpful message of the book is that simple investing is easy and generally beats complex investing. More activity does not necessarily lead to better investing results, and laziness (aka patience) generally outperforms efforts to produce higher returns.

By presenting this discussion in a clear, straightforward and easily-understood manner, "Investing Made Simple" lives up to its title. Easy to read, easy to understand, easy to implement - and with a good set of references for further ready, this book is a great launching point for someone interested in investing for themselves and with their own interests first and foremost. Thanks Mike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Investing, October 4, 2009
By 
Rick Stanley Francis (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
If you are new to investing and want a short introduction this is an excellent book for you. It defines the basics concepts: stocks, bonds, mutual funds, index funds, IRAs, 401Ks, and asset allocation. It gives you solid strategies that are proven to work in the long run: avoiding taxes and fees, buying diverse investments, using an asset allocation plan, and annual rebalancing. Finally, the book warns you against common pitfalls that are hazardous to your wealth: Chasing hot funds, selling at a market low, and buying at market peaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, to the point guide, September 25, 2009
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
This is a good overview of the widely agreed upon principles of investing. At the end, he lists 20-25 books and blogs as "Helpful Resources". I would describe this book as a short summary of the common points on investing between all those other resources.

This book is great for its intended audience (beginning investors). If you already know the benefits of index funds and a good asset allocation, you probably won't get much out of it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Book, September 24, 2009
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
What a fitting title. Finally, an investing book that doesn't try to confuse everyone and explains, in a clear and concise manner, how we can all make our money work for us.

This is a short read, but I actually applaud the author for it because if you can get the point across in 100 pages or less, why make it any longer? You'd be happy you got the book, because all you can think of after the entertaining read is why the book didn't come out before you started investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the new or experienced investor, January 5, 2010
By 
M. Smith (Winchester, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
I received this book for Christmas, and I have to admit, at first I was somewhat hesitant of this book because of its length. During a long flight home however, I decided to give it a read and I couldn't have been happier with the decision. As a young professional, I recognize how important it is to get started early in investing to one day meet my financial goals. This book clearly lays out a game plan to do so, while helping to understand/weed out much of the hype you hear about certain stocks, certain fund managers, and TV finance "guru's". The book is a perfect length, and well worth an afternoon read. The author's website ([...]) is also filled with great investing tips, and goes into further depth about many of the books topics. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular, February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
This is the ONLY book ANY of us needs on investing. If we have over $1000 welcome to Vanguard... if you have less than that and want to invest, well then he has the page in there with EFT's you can buy them from tdameritrade for $10 and just buy and hold.

Now all you have to do is figure out how much you want to invest in stocks and bonds, many quizes online to help you with that. Just google "asset alocation" then go out and enjoy life, because this is one area of life that really is simple.

Its all a matter of finding low fees and growing with the market (period) doesn't matter if you are type A or B, Tall or short male or female, this should be one of the easiest area of your life. ( I am suggesting that investing is easy, I am not suggesting that the market will do well, of course nobody knows that, but if the stock market does well, with his approach, you will do well without the extra fees most people endure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interested in Investing and don't know where to start? THIS BOOK FOR YOU, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
The Perfect book for that someone who has an interest in learning about investing. Over the last couple years I am continually asked about investing by friends, family and coworkers, as I always have an investing book on my desk at work or coffee table at home. I have YET to successfully pass on enough or right information that someone actually pick's it up enough interest to learn more. I have tried several ways from sharing my Investing Policy Statement, recommended books, web sites..ect. I think I have finally found the perfect book to pass on that beginner or to that someone who wants to be a DIY investor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book, October 21, 2009
By 
Blues (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Investing Made Simple: Index Fund Investing and ETF Investing Explained in 100 Pages or Less (Paperback)
The perfect primer for anyone who wants to incorporate time proven investing techniques without having to become an "expert".

Written for the layman in simple, direct, concise language...if one takes the suggestions and recommendations of this book to heart, time and the proper asset allocation will take care of most of the rest.

Highly recommended, especially for those who thought they couldn't do it for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars was hoping for more, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
one of the few non-fiction books i read this year. very simplistic, but straight forward was what i wanted. it's a quick primer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investing Made Simple, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book and easy to comprehend. Enough information to begin the process of basic investing. Also bought Mutual Funds for Dummies and both books are perfect for the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.