Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough! The only real book on PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT, April 22, 2004
By 
"roeslan1969" (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
I would have given Reilly's book a five (5) star if its explanation had been slightly simpler and there were key check figures / solutions for chapter exercises & problems at the back. The coverage on most topics in both "Investment" and "Portfolio" parts has been written in much depth supported by research from various well-known journals. I have 3 editions of this same book (1989, 1997 and 2001 - the one just before this edition) and each time Reilly has improved & updated it a great deal. This is the ONLY textbook which really examines the subject of PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT in detail (especially on bond & derivatives) unlike other texts which merely "introduce" the subject after covering the Investment Analysis part in some depth. Eventhough it is meant for those who have some knowledge of finance or basic investment, its comprehensiveness makes it a great reader for those who want to know more about the subject e.g advanced undergraduate in business. Excellent text for those pursuing MBA in Finance or CFA professional qualification but will require some asssitance in getting the problem figures checked. Overall, a fantastic piece of work; unfortunately not meant for self-study...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compendium of theory and practice, December 10, 2003
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
Whether encountered through an MBA equity analysis course or the CFA program, Investment Analysis will be an indispensable reference book for investment analysts, fund managers, and finance professionals for years to come. Although it is not an introductory finance text, it covers most of the basics. The book also delves on esoterica about derivatives, value investing, hydrid securities, and hedging. All in all, Investment Analysis is a good textbook that will be appreciated by academics, professionals and students alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Book on Investment Analysis, June 13, 2006
By 
Mark Yelavich (Roseville, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book on Investment Analysis and one of the best books recommended by the CFA Institute for its curriculum.

I commend the authors for providing a solid foundation (chapters 1-9 on the Investment Background and Theory) before moving on to the heart of this book, namely security analysis (stocks, bonds and derivatives).

This book succeeds in teaching material in a variety of ways. Here are some things I appreciated:

1) Chapters begin by providing readers with an overview

2) Terms and concepts are defined

3) Formulas are presented, followed by practical examples

4) Investments are presented in a global perspective

5) Authors help the readers work through the examples by providing calculations

6) "Real world" situations and break-out boxes are used frequently

7) Authors get you think by asking questions beforehand.

8) Excellent chapter end question sets, many with CFA focus

A hidden gem of this book is found with the extensive references to relevant website links. The authors advise you on where to look for additional topical information. A great "value added" feature of this book.

The authors have also written a solutions guide to the chapter end problem set which is tremendously helpful.

What a pleasure it is to read this book - it truly deserves a 5 star rating!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Investment Analysis, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
This book has failed to disappoint me. Rarely can you find a thoroughly written book on investment analysis, and I must say the author addressed some of the core issues in investments for both professionals and those seeking careers in that field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, great seller, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
the book is really good that deserve its price, I am very satisitied with the book especially with gratitude to the seller who is really a nice person. But the usps makes me very disappionted, the service is badly bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
It is a good book for undergraduate students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
Good text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect intro, December 14, 2003
By 
I. Snurer (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
It is perfect for an introduction, and shows you the way where to learn more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prof. Reilly is awesome!, May 1, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management (Hardcover)
Buy this book! GO IRISH and GO AIM XVIII!!! (aim.nd.edu)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management
Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management by Keith C. Brown (Hardcover - October 18, 2002)
Used & New from: $3.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.