Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get some serious Retro-Bling with this watch!
It's hard to appreciate the size and weight of this watch from just reading the specifications on the web page. The watch is a replica 1959 Russian diver's watch, so needless to say it needed to be big to fit over the wet suit and the numbers needed to be big enough to read under water through a mask and water. I hope by now you're getting the idea how big this watch...
Published on September 23, 2011 by Igelfeld

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big!
This is a really big watch and the stem is also BIG. I'm worried that I will catch the chain on the stem on something and rip it off. The band looks nice but is not really comfortable. Again, the stem sort of digs into your wrist because of it large size. Keeps time OK. Nice contrast of gold and black plastic on the band.
Published 7 months ago by Rodney Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get some serious Retro-Bling with this watch!, September 23, 2011
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
It's hard to appreciate the size and weight of this watch from just reading the specifications on the web page. The watch is a replica 1959 Russian diver's watch, so needless to say it needed to be big to fit over the wet suit and the numbers needed to be big enough to read under water through a mask and water. I hope by now you're getting the idea how big this watch is, but if not, I can tell you if you trace the circumference of a golf ball, the face of this watch would be bigger. The controls for setting the time are covered with a metal screw top lid that is quite distinctive and protrude significantly from the side of the watch.

It is complete given that when you wear this watch, people will notice and ask about it. In fact, in some ways, it's more of a conversation piece than a time piece. But that's not to take away from the quartz crystal (fairly standard for watches) and heavy construction.

Why do I like the watch?
Well, the primary reason is due to its originality and uniqueness. It's probably a bit too big and flashy for me to wear as an everyday watch (okay, not probably, it IS too big and flashy to wear as an everyday watch). However, you can easily use this as a time piece that sits on your desk as almost a desk clock. This may sound ridiculous, but the size of this watch is ridiculous. I wore this watch one day to work with the result that I had many people (more than 10) people ask about it, and even more where I could see they were looking and staring.

Why "Retro-bling"?
In case you're wondering, I made this term up because this watch uniquely provides a flash from the past along with a constant flash due to the gold trim, gold control knob, and immense size. I won't go as far to say that it's somewhat equivalent to wearing a brash gold chain around your neck, but this watch would be considered jewelry by many.

Who might buy this watch?

First off, you can't wear this watch and not draw attention to yourself. So, if you're shy and modest, this probably isn't the watch for you unless you're trying to break out of your shell. The good news is that the watch is so big you can almost hide behind it!

If you're a bigger person, maybe a bit on the big-boned side, this watch won't look like your body is dwarfing it. I can say that with high confidence. Small boned people will definitely look silly wearing this watch unless it's on a gold chain hanging around your neck (then it's a different kind of silly, but one that hopes for style points).

Any one with a conservative look, can keep looking. And anyone wanting an outrageous look, it might just be perfect for you.

I will say that the watch is rated to go down to 100meters, so actual diver's might be interested. But I'd bet that the gold trim was added by Invicta from the original 1959 Russian watch (their things tended to be plain, functional, and dreary).

This could be the gift for the man that has everything (although you might be taking a chance he may not anything ever from you again).

Finally, the construction of the watch is very solid. Quartz time keeping is known to be very accurate and my guess is that this watch will only loose less than a minute or two per month. Basically, it will keep adequate time because the technology is reliable. I honest don't know what makes the watch so heavy and thick, but you might get a bit of work out on your arm just by having it on.

Overall, it's hard to provide a solid recommendation on this watch because it's really a matter of style and taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Diver's Watch, September 20, 2011
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very nice, high quality watch! Sharp looking and obvious craftsmanship. The face is LARGE and easy to read. In fact, it is a little too large for my taste. It is much larger and heavier than the average watch, but it is in fact a diver watch, so if you are wearing it while diving, I am sure that comes in handy and is not an issue. But for every day use, it is a little bulky, at least for my taste. The only other drawback that I found with this watch is that the bezel doesn't move. Now, I am not an avid diver, but that seems to be something that every divers watch would need to have. I also like the glow in the dark face on this watch...very nice!

Other than that, it is a great divers watch - classy, stylish, and well-made. For every day us, you may want a watch that is not quite as large (the face of this watch is just over 2 inches wide!). If you like large time pieces, this is a great watch and is distinctively eye-catching. This is a quality watch! It also comes set to the correct time, if you are in central standard time.

5 Stars!!

Bohdi Sanders, author of the award-winning bestseller, Modern Bushido: Living a Life of Excellence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big!, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
This is a really big watch and the stem is also BIG. I'm worried that I will catch the chain on the stem on something and rip it off. The band looks nice but is not really comfortable. Again, the stem sort of digs into your wrist because of it large size. Keeps time OK. Nice contrast of gold and black plastic on the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Livin Large, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Beautiful watch, it's a show watch, if you want to show off, or at least own a quality made watch, this is the one. Not disappointed at all. If you don't like large watches, this is not the watch for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great watch., July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
I like the size of this watch and wear it everyday. I can't wait to go scuba diving again, I especially like the rubber watch band instead of the leather one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch but..., October 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Received watch fast but it stopped working on the 2nd I had it. Called customer service at Amazon and received returned info super fast. Sent item back for refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HUGE Beyond Belief, but Attractive, September 20, 2011
By 
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I know you've read it before, but OMG, this watch is HUGE! And heavy! From the face, to the stem cap, to the band, to the buckle, it is the biggest, heaviest watch I've ever seen. The face, including lugs, measures 2 3/4" in height x 2 1/2" in width x 5/8 in thickness. The band is very heavy duty rubber that's so thick it's a bit hard to manipulate, but the tail has a raised edge that will keep the end from coming out of the loops, ... a nice touch, I thought. Now I like my watches big, but this one is over the top and definitely not for everyday use unless you are very large. As for looks, it is a very handsome watch and appears to be quality, but I have three Invicta's and my Lupah's date set feature stopped working after about 6 months and now nothing on it works, so time will tell on how long the mechanics of this one hold out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great looking Watch, October 9, 2011
By 
LexOrandi (Glen Cove, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very attractive watch. If you are a large guy and you want a watch that makes a statement about your masculinity this is it. This watch is huge but on the right person it looks great. It is overstated but that is the whole purpose of wearing it. This is a watch that will be noticed by anyone you sees it. The large dial makes it very easy to read under all conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool looking watch, October 1, 2011
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I gave this to my brother in law as a present because his watch died. When he opened the package, he was impressed by how cool the watch looked. He especially likes the hanging chain. He is not a diver but he is a fisherman and works around water. This watch will work much better for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invicta Men's 1436 18k Gold Ion-Plated Stainless Steel Russian Diver Watch (Watch)
Bought as a gift for Papa. Loved it, great gift, all his co-workers wanted one. Love Invicta, will continue to buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.