Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 22, 2009
There is another "Invicta Watch Sizing Tool" on Amazon with many more reviews. The main point from half of those reviews is that it is easy to break this tool. The only difference I see from that tool and this one is that this one is yellow.

There are no instructions included with this product. With a little research online, in 5 minutes I removed 2 links from my new watch and I am wearing the watch right now. I am going to give you the valuable piece of information that I found online.

When you look at the pins in the links of the watch's bracelet, on one side there appears to be a split in the pin, as if you were going to use a small screwdriver on it. The other end of the pin is solid. This is the key to not bending or breaking the pin on this tool.

Line the tool's pin up with the solid end of the pin in the bracelet, making sure it is in the hole, and slowly turn the knob on the tool. It will push it out enough so you can grab the pin with tweezers of pliers and finish pulling it out.

When you remove the links and put the watch's bracelet back together, you can by hand push the pins back into the links. They will not go all the way in, so you can use this tool to push it all the way in.
1010 comments275 of 278 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2010
I bought this because I have several Invictas. Works great with a little reasoning, and patience. The friction pin wristbands are marked with an arrow as to which way the pins are pressed in, look on the inside of the links. Make sure your not pressing the wrong way, there is a taper to these. Second try to go slow till you're sure the pin tool is pressing the pin and not the link It does not take a lot of force to pop the pin once the tool is set properly. If you force it the tool will break. I have sized 5 different watches now and not one problem at all. When you're going to reinstall a friction pin again make sure it's going in the correct direction, and press the pin all the way in on a flat hard surface to seat it. This is just one of those tools that makes a job easier. Why pay a jeweler or go poking pins or whatever else around your nice NON marred band when there's a proper tool for the job?
11 comment30 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2009
Doesn't it annoy you to have a new watch, but not to be able to wear it right away because it doesn't fit? You have to wait until you can get to the mall or jewelers, and then pay to have the thing sized to your wrist. Then you don't want to niggle about the fit because they always act like you're taking too much of their time with your piddly watch band.

Say goodbye to those days. The Watch Sizing tool is the answer to your frustration. Just identify the links that need to be removed (try to remove the same number from each side of the watch band, usually marked with an arrow if removable). Use the removable piece to punch out the clasp pin and put the clasp and pin aside. Then lay the band into the Sizing tool. The little screw on the main body raises and lowers the base so that you can align the turning mechanism that pushes out the link pins. Get your alignment correct here ... take the extra moment to make sure you are well aligned. Then screw the large handle slowle until the pin pops out a little. From there remove the watch from the device and use a tweezer to remove the pin fully. Repeat for additional links, then replace the clasp mechanism and fine tune the fit with the pins in the clasp mechanism.

The device is simple: just 2 controls that I described above. The yellow body is high impact plastic, and the actual pin pusher is stainless steel, as well as the elevator screw.

Mine came free with my watch, but it is easily worth the minor cost, and will pay for itself the first time you use it. I am not a very mechanical person, and I was able to adjust my and my friend's watch bands (hers was a different make of watch) within 10 minutes, being very careful. With some practice, it can be done in less than 5 minutes.
33 comments23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2009
I got this tool as a freebie for buying an Invicta watch. Great watch, but the tool is terrible. No instructions and if you don't get the pin straight on the hole and then turn the handle the pin bends. I used it on two links and when trying to remove a third link the pin on the tool bent and broke, so I had to go to the jeweler. Luckily it was free or I would have been more upset. I would not recommend buying one at all.
44 comments35 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2010
broke the tool within 5 min and had to take the watch to a jewlers to get band changed. it would also REALLY help if directions came with the product.
sorry but i WOULD NOT recommend this product.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2009
I rate this one star because you can use it to a certain extent. But don't think you can use it on watch bands wider than 24mm or watch bands that have pins that are tight in their place. Nowhere does it state that. It is also made of the cheapest, weakest, most fragile plastic that has ever been invented. If you put pressure on it, the plastic bends and creaks and wants to break. The pin pusher on mine broke while sizing a bracelet. I was left to do it the old fashioned way, with a thin paper clip. It does come with extra pin pushers so I guess they expect the pins to give out. There are many excellent watch sizing tools out there. No need to waste money on this one. Invicta should be ashamed to put their name on such a tool.
0Comment24 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
Must-have for a watch collector. Pushes the hinge pins out so you can add or remove watch band links. Has a slot to hold the band vertically, so you can re-insert the pins to put the band back together. That knurled metal knob on the side allows adjustment of the tool bed, to allow for different band thicknesses.
Only problem: There were no instructions, so I had to learn all the above from trial-and-error and Google-searching. Didn't damage anything, so it's OK, but I definitely recommend practice on an old watch before adjusting your "good" stuff.
Hey, Amazon: what about a little "how-to" on your watch page for this and similar tools?
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2009
The bracelet pin or screw remover that a watchmaker uses can cost several hundred dollars. When you're working on tight friction pins or tiny screws used on higher end watches, you need to be VERY careful and this tool would do more harm than good. This tool and the others with the same shape/style should really only be used on (sorry) very low end watches that use split pins, which only need to be pushed a few mm before they pull out freely. The pusher pins on this tool are far too short to force out pins from any bracelet in a better quality watch. Don't use it on an Omega, Rolex, Tag Heuer or any watch worth more than a few hundred dollars.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2010
i've seen many bad reviews about this particular piece of equipment, and i'm sure the reviewers had good reason to crib about it, but i personally found this to be a decent tool for sizing watches. i have 2 metal watches, one invicta and the other a gift from my dad and i used this tool to size the links for both watches and it worked fine for me. sure the plastic is flimsy and squeaks a lot, but i've kind of used it to my advantage as an indicator of when i'm applying too much pressure in the wrong spot. if you've aligned the watch band just right and you're sizing pin makes good contact with the link pin on the watch then the link pin should come out on applying just a little torque to the sizing handle. for putting the link pins back in, i would recommend putting them back in by hand and then applying pressure on them against a desk or some solid object ( hammering with a rubber mallet is the best, but i don;t have one of those). overall, the build quality leaves a lot to be desired, but the tool does its job
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2011
As many people have stated, no instructions. My Invicta watch band was too wide to fit into the slot (as also stated in other reviews). I was able to remove four links from my watch band and install the pins back in. I didn't bend any of them but I had to completely remove the push pin (extractor) from the sizing tool. I used it freehand. I have no clue how it is supposed to be used, assuming you would slide the band in the channel and twist the extractor through until the pin comes out? It saved me money in the long run as it would have been twenty-five bucks at a jewlers and this only cost eight. It is VERY flimsy - cheap plastic. In the end, it got the job done with the sizing tool and my watch all in tact.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.