Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, Challenging, And Inspirational
"Being of service is not an option, it is a biological necessity. Every kind action we do for someone is a reanimation of our own life force--and the other person's...Each time you reach out to another person, whether you decide to do a small favor or because you feel compelled to help, you perform an invisible act of power that has profound healing effects for you both."...
Published on September 28, 2004 by Janet Boyer

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MAJOR REMIX
Review title says it all! If you've read any of her other stuff, this will be totally boring. She has explained most of the chakra stuff in her other books. If I had to read anyone else's chakra-related story, I was gonna scream!!

Can't think of any reason to purchase or read this one!
Published on June 26, 2006 by Patricia A. Lanham


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, Challenging, And Inspirational, September 28, 2004
"Being of service is not an option, it is a biological necessity. Every kind action we do for someone is a reanimation of our own life force--and the other person's...Each time you reach out to another person, whether you decide to do a small favor or because you feel compelled to help, you perform an invisible act of power that has profound healing effects for you both." --Carolin Myss in Invisible Acts Of Power - Personal Choices That Create Miracles

Caroline Myss, pioneer of energy medicine, has written a brand new book that may forever change how you see yourself in the world.

Invisible Acts of Power - Personal Choices That Create Miracles demonstrates how conscious acts of kindness, generosity, and service create meaning, hope, and even health for both the giver and the receiver. Myss contends that all thoughts and interactions are an exchange of power, and maps how this energy manifests itself through each of the 7 chakras. Within the 7 stages of generosity, Myss makes the case that the ability to be generous and the ability to be intuitive are inextricably linked. She breaks new ground in exploring why many people are afraid to be generous--and the ramifcations of "holding back" or ignoring intuitive guidance.

Using both personal stories and those culled from over 1,200 letters that were sent to her website, Myss shares electrifying and heart-warming examples of how kindness towards others actually increases our own power and health--and teaches how we can move from visible to invisible acts of power.

Showing how acts of service correspond to the energies of the chakras, we learn how Chakra 1 (the Root Chakra) involves gifts of the Earth such as food and shelter, Chakra 3 (the Solar Plexus Chakra) involves gifts of self-esteem and personal dignity, Chakra 6 (the Third Eye Chakra) involves gifts of the mind, wisdom, and optimism, and so on. Myss also teaches the three myths we hold about power, the highest form of generosity and power and why it is invisible, and how we can become channels of divine grace and miracles.

Some of the stories in this book ripped me wide open--spilling tears down my face. As is usually the case with the teachings of Myss, I was both challenged and touched by her sharp, insightful wisdom. Many of the stories moved me deeply--allowing me to remember the importance of a kind word, smile, or even refraining from judging another harshly.

If you've lost hope in the goodness of humanity, this book can restore it. If you've lost faith that heaven sees or hears your pain, Invisible Acts of Power will remind you that you are truly loved and always cared for. If you yearn for emotional and spiritual congruence, you'll learn how to calibrate your energy. If you seek connection with the divine and your fellow man, Myss gives you a blueprint to open the floodgates of grace and power.

Janet Boyer, author of The Back in Time Tarot Book: Picture the Past, Experience the Cards, Understand the Present (coming Fall 2008 from Hampton Roads Publishing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life changing book, December 14, 2004
By 
Darcy M. (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This book was born out of an invitation that Caroline Myss made to visitors to her website. The task was simple: write about your experiences with grace and life changing acts of service. Within six days she had received 1,200 emails in response! She then took these responses and wove many of them into this beautiful, remarkable book that I consider a manual for, as she refers to it, life in "earth school."

The most amazing part of the book for me was how Ms. Myss was able to take the many and varied responses and associate each one with one of the seven chakras. For example, chakra one is our connection to our roots, the physical world, and family. Acts of service associated with this chakra would include giving someone shelter for the night, or cooking a meal for a friend. Chakra four represents love--both of ourselves and of others. Acts of service that are born from this chakra would include forgiveness, as well as acts of unselfish kindness (which could be as simple as holding the door open for someone or smiling at a stranger).

Each chakra has its own chapter, and each chapter is filled with numerous wonderful stories that illustrate the essence of that chakra. Woven in with the stories are beautiful descriptions of spiritual concepts such as grace, intuition, and service.

I have been a student of spirituality and mysticism for more than 25 years and I have read countless books over that time. This is one of the most life changing I have ever read. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Thank you, Caroline Myss, for sharing your wisdom with us. Your writing of this book was a tremendous act of service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey into understanding how we are all connected, September 5, 2004
Invisible Acts of Power is the gathering of an amazing journey into the lives of many who were affected, at some level, by the kindness of others. The stories are incredible and warm, they inspired my own thoughts of gratitude and how is it that i can participate in giving back. I looked at what motivates me to serve.

The fact that Caroline connects each type of giving with an energy center or chakra brings sacredness to these acts of power, the reader will begin to experience what it is to remain in the background and to give with out an agenda or thoughts of recognition. Finally the beautiful essays, prayers and thoughts woven between each story serve to teach-inspire and up lift. If ever there was a book to soften and help us move through those things that are so challenging in this world--it is Invisible Acts of Power, truly a must read for everyone--------Julie Flaherty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformative Generosity, September 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Caroline Myss presents beautiful stories of gratitude and giving to explain how meaningful kindness can be in the life of those in need. She not only addresses financial aspects of giving, but the invisible aspects where you can encourage friends, family and even strangers you only meet once to reach for the best they can be in this lifetime.

Why do some people practice generosity as a "spiritual practice?"
What is the most appreciated type of generosity?
How can you break through fears to awaken your own generosity?
What do people regret the most?
Why do we fear giving to those less fortunate than ourselves?
How can you build someone's self-esteem by giving invisible gifts from the heart?
Why is listening an act of generosity?

Caroline Myss has profound insight into life's many complexities and in Invisible Acts of Power she explores the positive results of emotional, creative, supportive and risk generosity. She now builds additional layers on our understanding of the charkas, although you can enjoy this CD set without knowing detailed information about energetic fields (the interactive charka model at her myss site is very helpful).

What is most interesting about the ideas is how they were inspired by real-life situations and letters sent in by people connected to her website through her newsletter. This opens up a world of experience in which giving takes on practical dimensions.

I can also highly recommend:

Self Esteem: Your Fundamental Power Audio CD Set
Why People Don't Heal and How They Can
Journal of Inner Dialogue (a beautiful companion to the Archetype Cards)
Archetype Cards

It feels as if I have come full circle with Caroline Myss' teachings since I was first introduced to her wisdom through a generous friend. The CD sets make wonderful life-changing gifts that will inspire spiritual growth and moments of deep contemplation. If you are interested in using your power for good, then this essential CD set will inspire you in profound ways.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Invisible Brought to Light, November 28, 2007
By 
David Berck "cruecut" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Take one part energy centers and mix in a little Chicken Soup for the Soul and you've got Invisible Acts of Power. Carolyne Myss has taken a number of stories from people who have been of service to others or have had their lives changed due to others' service to them and organized them into section that correspond to the seven chakras.

If your belief system does not allow for the existence of energy centers within the body or mystical forces, then you're probably better off staying away from this book. However, if you are more open-minded, this is a good choice for just about everybody. Carolyne Myss takes a little time to introduce each chakra and what type of energy and service will resonate with it, then follows up with some stories involving that particular level of energy, and then usually finishes up with some poignant questions regarding said level of energy.

The most important concepts throughout the book are those of sharing, being of service, and that there is absolutely enough energy in the universe for everybody to be of service to others. We can be supportive and not have to worry that there isn't enough good fortune to go around.

The author also pulls all the information with a style that is easy to follow and makes a point without being dogmatic or preachy. I would definitely recommend this to just about anyone. Truly, just about everybody could use some portion or all of this book, but unfortunately, some will not be open to the information contained within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MAJOR REMIX, June 26, 2006
This review is from: Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life (Paperback)
Review title says it all! If you've read any of her other stuff, this will be totally boring. She has explained most of the chakra stuff in her other books. If I had to read anyone else's chakra-related story, I was gonna scream!!

Can't think of any reason to purchase or read this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Service is our Deeper Meaning, July 29, 2008
This review is from: Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life (Paperback)
I have both the CD and the book of this powerful program. Though the book is good, the CD program is amazing and this review relates more to the CD program than the book.

I give this review four stars for the book... however, the CD program of the same title really is 5+ stars and is an absolute must.

Firstly, the CD program is Caroline Myss presenting the topic of the book in a workshop format. This allows a more intimate understanding of how service is an invisible.... and, in fact, sacred act of power.

More than that, the CD program gives you a deeper sense of how service is an act of power... and how service may be rendered in many differnt ways; some to ground the receiever, others to support and still others which show love and empower people... the greatest of which, in my mind, transfroms the reciever... and the giver.

There are many levels of service, each one a powerful act in their own right, however, higher acts of service are transfomational in nature. This program shows you the way to embody these invisible acts of power to heal youself and others.

It truly is a wonderful program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as interesting., March 10, 2006
I think of Caroline Myss' other two books as adding to my information and spiritual knowledge. This boook however does not have the same effect. It's main theme is to 'pay it forward'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invisible Acts of Power will change your life, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Carolyn Myss since her early days on PBS doing intuitive health readings and her first books -- especially Anatomy of a Spirit which I know helped me over that mid life bump.
Invisible Acts will show you how you have received many invisible acts at just the right time and that your intuition telling you to reach out to someone are almost always right on when we are in our bodies and aware that we do feel enery from others. If you have ever wondered about the chakra system you may have heard about this book will give you everything you need to know and the desire to learn more.
Be present in your life so you can be present and be of service to others in need, especially in these days!
Blessings and may Christmas bring you close to those you love and give you a better understanding of the courage it takes to reach out to someone and the courage it takes to accept the help offered.
Phyllis Auburn, CA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable Writer, December 7, 2007
By 
E. Broerse "writer/editor" (Parksville, Vancouver Island, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life (Paperback)
I can usually rely upon Carolin Myss to produce a book worthy of not only a good read, but tools for everyday, spiritual living. I love her stories of others' and she also writer personal stories, as well. She is humble yet very wise in her approach to her subject; there is no ego to this woman. I usually come away from her book as from a great feast. I feel satisfied and
happy. I also got my money's worth. Liz Roy-Broerse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life
Invisible Acts of Power: Channeling Grace in Your Everyday Life by Caroline Myss (Paperback - January 9, 2006)
$15.99 $11.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.