Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.50 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Invitation to the Dance (2011)

 NR |  DVD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

List Price: $24.99
Price: $22.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $2.50 (10%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, Sept. 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Save on Top Movies $4.99 or Less
Save on top movies $4.99 or less in our featured deals and new releases store. Shop now

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product Details

  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • DVD Release Date: January 25, 2011
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B001N59F4S
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #601,451 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

This New Year's concert revisits the most beautiful works in the history of music with the Berlin Philharmonic. This program was crated by Daniel Barenboim and is a journey through 300 years of dance, featuring works by Bach, Mozart, Verdi, Dvorak, Tchaik

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
The Berlin Philharmonic traditionally gives a New Year's Eve concert every year. This one is from 2001 and is conducted by Daniel Barenboim in ebullient form. The overall theme is described as `Invitation to the Dance' and the pieces played all fit this title, but do not include the Weber item of the same name.

Generally the concert follows a broad chronological order so it starts with a reduced orchestra performing a gavotte from Bach's 3rd Orchestral Suite. This is followed by a minuet by Mozart and then his Rondo for piano and orchestra K 334 which is played lightly and crisply by Barenboim. The remaining items feature the whole orchestra and could be generally described as Nationalistic in period and style. The Dvorak Slavonic Dance and the Strauss Emperor Waltz are full blooded in sound showing these characteristics of the Berlin sound as opposed to those of the Czech P.O. or Vienna P.O. for example. The performance of the Sibelius Valse Triste captures its wistfulness well and the Tchaikovsky waltz comes over with wonderful sweep. By now the audience is fully responsive to what is becoming a memorable occasion.

However, the best is yet to come in my opinion. This is in the form of the most wonderful performance of the Kodaly Galanta Dances that I have ever heard. The slower sections feature outstanding solo passages by individual members of the orchestra, and here it is essential to mention the lead clarinettist in particular who produces absolutely magical phrasing and control. This is matched by exhilarating faster sections played with amazing skill and precision. The final moments are despatched at scorching speed and with utter clarity by all - surely there are few orchestras that could deliver this level of sheer out and out corporate virtuosity?
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for Similar Items by Category