Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: iON Air Pro Plus
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars11
Price:$179.00 - $497.34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 30, 2013
Advantanges:
1. Good looking
2. Easy to use
3. Supporting FHD and HD video capturing format

Disadvantages:
1. Slightly heavy on the weight, feeling tired if fixing the camera on helmet for long period of time.
2. Unlikely to fit on the helmet, the instructions given on the manual is too simple and not details enough.
3. Video will auto convert into two MP4 (High and Low) format, this is unnecessary.
4. Some video captured in vertical view by itself in FHD and HD mode.
5. No free video editor software is given by ION, user have to look for the others.
44 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
Just got mine yesterday (HumbleOutdoors $261), it's very compact well suited for for my mountain bike. It's waterproof to 10 meters without any outer case required and records in full 1080 HD video. I like the simple one finger operation and it's vibration record confirmation.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
So. First the reason to purchase the camera
1.my cycling magazine suggested using a camera w/4 good reasons 1.keep the peace 2. collect evidence 3. identify an attacker 4. behave yourself. and after using the camera for several weeks now it has defused both motorist and pedestrians when they see that i have a camera plain as day on my helmet.i tried both the handle bar mount and helmet mount and like the versatility of the helmet mount. just to mention i actually mount both the camera and a 800 mitycross cygolite on my helmet together which really enhances night riding visibility when playing the video back . and the weight to me is very insignificant on my head while riding.
now lets review the camera itself. all i did was charge it up and loaded the sandisk. i purchaes the 32 gb because i am recording about 2 hours a day 5 days a week. some people say the 16 gb is enough however the 32 was just a few dollars more. now as to how long the battery lasts. others have said about 2 hours and i only had drained the battery one time and it seems that it is about 2 hours. now when you first plug your usb in the computer it while provide you with a program and their you can adjust any settings. i did not have to adjust anything for my needs. then windows promps you to download if you have pics or video. i first was choosing windows and then scrolled down to windows media player which worked better for me. just remember to check the box after you tell it to import to remove the files off your camera because if you don't your memory chip in your camera will get full and stop recording. that actually happened to me that is why i am telling you. oh so just to know everytime you turn the recorder on and off it creates a new file. so when you download it always gives you a smaller duplicate file i guess for e-mails. so then if you record 10 different times that is if you turn the record button on and off 10 times you will have 20 files when you down load.the larger file is full screen and smaller file is about 3" x 3". now you of course can view the video on your computer but since mine is not wifi i just stream the video with my hdmi cord from the computer to the t.v.and it works great. now i also ordered from amazon for $2.00 a mini hdmi adapter to plug in to the camera to the t.v. so when i am at my friends house i can play the video on their t.v. if they have a hdmi connection. you operate the video with the power button on the camera. you will either press it once to scroll and twice to select, then hold it down until it brings up the option to delete either one or all files.quite simple actually. now please note: the first camera i purchased had a which i thought a mechanical problem. when you turn it on,off,record on record off it will vibrate for a moment to confirm. mine would vibrate nonstop!! so rather that deal with a faulty unit i immediately contacted amazon and since it is a 3rd party they cannot send a replacement to you. so do a return and request a instant credit. then ordered another right then and since i am a prime member had it in 2 days. so this second one works fantastic no problems. not to say that the first one was not user error however i feel that as long as it was purchased within the 30 days let amazon take care of it. because if you choose to fix any problems with the manufacturer directly then you will pay for the shipping cost for the camera back to the factory not to mention repair time you might be looking at at least several weeks.now back to the camera it has excellent audio. when iam am riding it actually picks up alot of wind noise. now when you are turning it on you do not need to turn the on button first you can just turn on the record and it will automatically turn on and start recording.now while your recording and you want some still shots just quickly push down on the on and off button it will take as many still shots as you like each time you quickly press the on/off button and then it will continue to record. now to stop recording and turn off unit you need to turn off recorder and then turn off unit or it will stay on. where as like i said to turn back on recorder you do NOT have to turn it on first just turn on record. i forgot to mention i purchased the extended warranty the 2 year because for a few dollars you are completely covered on any drops and spills. and after owninf it for several weeks i can see where it would be very simple to drop. now the helmet mount comes with some straps however they were very cumbersome so i just used some small velcro straps and 1 zip tie for safety and works fine.now i realize some of my information may not work for everybody and maybe i have done things incorrectly however i wanted to take the time to write in detail my experience with this camera and it works great. so easy even for a not so computer person like myself. i wanted to also say i have contacted the customer service for this company and i feel they certainly contributed to the 5 star rating because lets face it with electronics of this nature most of us need some help.and helpful they have been! so in conclusion i will say that this camera has both enhanced my riding and made it safer. i sure hope my review helps.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
I think this little camera is definitely better than a Go-Pro. It's lightweight, easy to use, has a more vivid and clear picture (which is a great advantage for those of us who don't do a lot of video post-production), is itself waterproof so you don't have to have a separate case, and I like the aerodynamic shape a lot better. Except for scuba diving (obviously, the Go-Pro is better for underwater applications, because it's watertight to much greater depth) I would recommend this instead of a Go-Pro for just about anybody who is not a professional photographer. Do yourself a favor though-- go ahead and by the "bundle" that includes the wi-fi and battery booster and whatnot... you'll want to have them, and it's cheaper that way than buying them separately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
This camera is overall good for my needs especially considering the price. I purchased this to protect myself while commuting through Chicago's busy streets, since motorists and people can be hostile. So far it has proven to be a good deterrent, and should I need evidence of an incident this will come in handy. I used it for recreational means as well, but not nearly as much. So overall, if you are looking for that "commuter's protection" at a cost less than a GoPro, then definitely go with this. If you can and care to spend money on a GoPro, then I would go with that, especially if you plan to use it more so for recreational purposes.This is a good camera, but definitely not as good as GoPro.

There are only a few drawbacks: Other posters have said the camera is a little heavy on the head for your helmet. This is true, although only a little heavy. The weight could be an inconvenience if you have a sensitive head or neck. The worst part is that the instructions are confusing. It took me many attempts to get the straps properly onto my helmet. Also, despite latching onto my helmet very securely, it's a pain to take on and off, so you may want to have a dedicated camera helmet, especially if you cycle for sport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
Purchased for my 15year old grandson. Used it to shoot fireworks New Years eve. Took great video while strapped to one of the launchers. Easy to mount and came with everything needed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
This is garbage! I'm so mad. It broke after I took it into the pool. It's NOT WATER PROOF! The warranty says they don't cover water damage so they know it's not water proof even though they claim their product is water proof. It gets really hot and it won't turn off. Should've bought a GoPro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
i think the go pro might have been a better choice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2014
Very good. The ion pro is the real deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
Broke after one use at the beach
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.