Customer Reviews


365 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IP Man - good, classic kung fu!!!
I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this new film starring Donnie Yen (You may remember him from "Hero") entirely in Cantonese with English subtitles which will be out in theaters in the U.S. and Canada on January 28th. Donnie Yen is reprising his role here as the real-life kung fu grandmaster Ip man in this martial arts film. I never saw the original but...
Published on January 30, 2011 by Dan & Gina

versus
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man Meets Rocky IV
I really enjoyed the first Ip Man movie, but there seems to be something missing from this installment. There aren't as many interesting supporting characters as the first movie and many of the returning characters from the first movie are relegated to the background roles of little importance. For example, Ip's family, especially his wife, played a huge role in the...
Published on July 3, 2011 by Redwaltz


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IP Man - good, classic kung fu!!!, January 30, 2011
By 
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this new film starring Donnie Yen (You may remember him from "Hero") entirely in Cantonese with English subtitles which will be out in theaters in the U.S. and Canada on January 28th. Donnie Yen is reprising his role here as the real-life kung fu grandmaster Ip man in this martial arts film. I never saw the original but apparently in it, he escaped the Japanese occupation of his hometown and with his pregnant wife and family have moved to Hong Kong which is living under British colonial rule.

Ip Man begins his life in Hong Kong barely making ends meet renting an apartment and trying to start a martial arts school to teach his Wing Chun style. He is challenged by several neighborhood ruffians who eventually grudgingly give him respect and ask to serve under him as students. Being a kind-hearted man and pleased with the opportunity to teach, he does not push them very hard for their student fees knowing they are also struggling financially under British rule. His school is put up against other martial arts schools in the area competitively and they all clash and fight with territorialism. Eventually all the schools must unite together in order to face the British for their honor.

The British are demanding payments from the schools in return for allowing them to stay open (like offering "protection" in gangster movies). The British do not respect the Chinese and often ridicule them in public. A Western-style boxer named Taylor "Twister" Milos comes to town to fight and entertain the British and by mocking and insulting the Chinese martial arts demonstration opening act, Ip must step up to defend the honor of his people and his own kung fu, Wing Chun.

I know that was a lot of summary, but it seemed needed to really get across the themes in this movie. This film is a delightful throwback to the good ol' days of kung fu. Though I love the wire martial arts styles in films like "Hero", "House of Flying Daggers", "Fearless", and "Iron Monkey", classic kung fu battles of men hitting and kicking each other in defense of their homes, family, country, honor, etc. still are a pleasure to watch. I loved Donnie Yen in "Hero" (basically loved EVERYTHING about that movie) and it was so enjoyable to see him in this role and to find out it was based on a real person's story who eventually went on to train a young Bruce Lee. Wow! This probably won't be a very wide release in the U.S., but if you happen to see it is in your area and you love martial arts movies, go have a fun afternoon in the theater! Yes, you will have to read subtitles, but that's ok. I felt like I could have watched the entire movie muted without subtitles and still understood easily what was going on since everything is so physical not only in the fighting scenes but in acting and reacting in conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as fantastic as the original, but still incredibly entertaining., February 15, 2011
Ip Man is still the only martial arts film I've ever given a perfect score. Similar films usually throw in those silly bits of humor that come off as lame rather than actually being humorous. It probably hits its target overseas audience well, but the difference in culture probably has something to do with how American audiences don't appreciate those bits as much. Either that or the storyline is usually fairly simple or borderline atrocious while the fighting scenes are spectacular. If you're a fan of martial arts films, you see these types of films for the action scenes. A good storyline and exceptional acting are usually just a bonus. Ip Man broke those boundaries. It had an intriguing storyline and a fantastic cast to compliment its jaw dropping action sequences. The only flaws the film seemed to have was that it eventually had to end and left the audience wanting more especially the way the film ended. The desire for a sequel was extremely high and, for the most part, the sequel doesn't disappoint.

I had originally thought that Ip Man 2 wasn't able to capture the same amount of heart that the original film had, but I no longer believe that to be true. Ip Man 2 still has all the heart and emotion that the first film did. Everything from Ip Man realizing his friend Quan (Simon Yam) is brain damaged because of him to Ip Man trying to restore honor to the east by taking on a western boxer, the emotion is still there. It just isn't as strong or as powerful as it was in the first film. The same atmosphere is established quite easily, but the struggle to show the world that Wing Chun is a respectable martial art seems to take a backseat to other plot points that aren't necessarily less important but seem to take away from what made the first film so special.

The sequel is still very solid and extremely entertaining. Any scene in the film featuring Sammo Hung is gold. His adamancy for the Chinese culture is half of his character's charm. The other half is split between him trying to provide for such a large family and the amazing action sequences he's a part of. The sole reason to see this film is for the Ip Man/Master Hung match that takes place on a table top. If you've seen S.P.L. Killzone, you know how fantastic a battle between these two can be. However, the Yen/Hung match in Ip Man 2 tops the one in Killzone though. Their encounter will be the thing fans will remember and be talking about the most after walking out of the theater and for good reason.

Just a few sidenotes and nitpicks, the sound effects seemed to be off at times. The main occurrence being when Ip Man goes to meet Master Hung at his dojo after their pupils get into it for the second time. After Hung tells his pupils to leave, the sounds of their footsteps just didn't feel genuine and seemed like the sound was too loud or excessive or something. The film also features the fastest baby delivery ever in recent film memory. The woman goes into labor one scene and two scenes later, she's holding a baby. No mess and no 27 hours of labor? Why have an old fashioned pregnancy when you can just DVR it and fast forward through it later? Lastly, the film leaves you wanting even more than its predecessor did. Mostly due to the Bruce Lee tease featured at the end of the film.

Ip Man 2 doesn't sweep you off your feet and smack you in the face quite as hard as its predecessor, but it's still very worthy of carrying the "Ip Man" name and is a joy to watch. If you enjoyed the hard-hitting action of the original film, then you'll have no problem being entertained by this sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legend, Yes, May 3, 2011
By 
Damian P. Gadal (Santa Barbara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Due to the limited release of this follow up to the original Ip Man movie I wasn't able to see this in the theater. So, I waited for this to come out on DVD and also on Amazon Video Streaming. The wait was well worth it.

This is a great martial arts film, and movies along at a very nice pace, with lots of tension as you cheer on Ip Man.

Though I really liked the film, I gave it four stars rather than five because I liked the first film much better. That's because the story in the first film was a bit more original, meaning this story was predicable (reminded me of Rocky), but still worth watching.

Viewers should know that this film isn't exactly a biopic, but loosely based on the life of Yip Man, who taught Wing Chung to Bruce Lee.

If you've seen the first Ip Man, you definitely need to see this film.

Donnie Yen is outstanding. Looking forward to seeing more of him in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man Meets Rocky IV, July 3, 2011
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed the first Ip Man movie, but there seems to be something missing from this installment. There aren't as many interesting supporting characters as the first movie and many of the returning characters from the first movie are relegated to the background roles of little importance. For example, Ip's family, especially his wife, played a huge role in the first movie as it stressed the tension between the combative life Ip Man led and the stable and happy family life his wife desired. In the second movie, the family is there, but it is more of a side note and hardly a main component to the plot. Character development certainly isn't a focus in the movie as it was in the first.

The plot, that is another major barrier I found with getting into this movie. Not only does it seem to use the same plot points as the first movie, only done in a less polished fashion, but it seems that the writer(s) of the movie had watched one too many Rocky movies, especially Rocky IV. (*minor spoiler alert*) This movie imitates so many things from Rocky IV, it becomes borderline absurd. I mean, it has everything from a reenactment of the Apollo Creed match-fiasco to the "If I can change, you can change" speech after the penultimate fight, with the subsequent conversion of the hostile crowd to his philosophy -- though, I must admit the training montage before the final fight was a lot more subtle as you didn't have to watch Ip Man running up any large mountains.

Also, just like Rocky IV, Ip Man has a strong nationalistic message at the root of its plot, just like the first movie. It attempts to show the viewer that Chinese culture is superior to the "foreign devil" Brits, who are just like the Russians in Rocky IV. Just as the Japanese were portrayed as vicious inhuman two dimensional villains, the Brits are portrayed as uncultured two dimensional barbarians that act like comic book villains, maniacal laughter included. It's fine if the writers want to write about the British occupation in Hong Kong, but the writing makes the British into caricatures that are unbelievable outside of a movie script and there seems to be a pro-Chinese culture agenda similar to the pro-American agenda of Rocky IV, which I guess is fine if you are from the country being portrayed as the superior, and not so much for the country being portrayed as the inferior. It doesn't help that the British actors in the movie are atrocious at best.

Also, I'm sure there were Western Boxing vs. Eastern Boxing matches that took place in the past, but I doubt they were as drawn out and absurd as they are in this movie. I mean, seriously, you put a guy with boxing gloves on, who follows traditional Western Boxing rules, against a guy who kicks, knees, grapples, throws, and is allowed his full range of martial arts ability, which includes punching a guy in the face while he is being held on the ground, and we are to expected to believe that would be a good fight? Maybe in a Street Fighter game that is believable, but in a "loosely-based" biopic, it is laughable. I guess it is as believable as Rocky winning a boxing match by just blocking with his face.

Anyway, people watch Martial Arts movies for the fighting and this movie has a lot of good scenes, in particular the one between Sammo Hung and Donnie Yen, but there aren't as many good scenes as the first movie. In fact, there just aren't as many fighting scenes as the first movie and that is a shame, since they are a beauty to behold.

I think the plot drags the movie down too far and is not as well told or put together as the first movie. I do suggest watching this movie at least for the fighting scenes and just laugh off the plot as I do when I watch Rocky IV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this DVD, August 23, 2010
By 
IP MAN was my favorite movie of 2009, so I was excited to watch IP MAN 2. I was not disappointed. Can't say any more. Get this DVD and watch it! The DVD itself was great. Note that this DVD comes in a slim glossy slipcase, not a regular DVD amray case. That's fine with me. Takes up less space. I'm more interested in the DVD itself than the packing. Nothing is more frustrating to me than buying a DVD, and getting quality I could have gotten downloading. Don't worry about that here. Picture quality is great. This is a dual-layer DVD, so there's less compression = better picture quality. Subtitles were perfect. I speak Cantonese, so some things they have to translate slightly different than the Chinese meaning, but the translation was as accurate as it could have possibly been. My wife who doesn't speak Chinese loved it as well. There are also a few special features on the DVD that we enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie! Great DVD! English subtitles are perfect what is the other guy thinking?, August 23, 2010
I'm not sure what the last reviewer is talking about. The English subtitles on this DVD are perfect. I'm wondering if his seller sold him a different DVD? The movie is great. If you haven't seen IP MAN yet, get it. Then get this DVD and watch it right after. I'd have to say that the first IP MAN was a bit better, but I'd give the first one 5 stars, and this one 4 1/2 stars. The DVD is great quality. It is a DVD-9 with a high bit rate transfer and an excellent picture. The subtitles as I have said are excellent quality. This DVD is uncut. I saw it the first time in Hong Kong. I previously bought this movie on DVD, and it had about 5 minutes cut from it, so I'm happy this DVD is uncut. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Yet it could be better., April 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I said it could be better because this Blu-ray only features 5.1 HD Surround Sound (NOT DTS-HD).

Original Language: Cantonese (Amazon list it as Mandarin Chinese).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ip man 2, September 20, 2010
great movie if you liked the first ip man u will like the second. i personally am an Ip man fan, wish there were more movies like this one. Donnie Yen (awesome)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you haven't seen it, then you're missing out. Hands down one of the best martial arts movies to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspensefull & Uplifting, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I took off a star because I was just a little disappointed that not as much
care for factual history of events went into IP2 as did in IP 1.Never the less
I wouldn't have wanted to miss this.Yeah I agree with the Rocky comparison,LOL
But its still very entertaining with great fight scenes.Ips comment to the
crowd at the end gives Him,MA,and the movie some class and a healthy theme.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ip Man 2 [Blu-ray]
Ip Man 2 [Blu-ray] by Wilson Yip (Blu-ray - 2011)
$26.98 $14.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.