Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Does Not Cure Everything, But It Helps A Lot
"Iris" is not an easy to movie to watch. It is very painful and it can be unberable to some people. But in the end you see how much it means to have someone to support and love you -- mainly when you need.
The film tells the story of the British novelist and phlisopher Iris Murdoch. Alternating scenes from the young Iris (Kate Winslet) and the old (Judi Dench) the...
Published on June 7, 2002 by A. T. A. Oliveira

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Luminous acting, touching at times
Iris, of course, chronicles the life of noted British writer, Iris Murdoch. It focuses on her battle with dementia late in her life, interspersed with scenes form her early relationship with her husband, when Iris was free-spirited. This contrast leads to many genuinely touching moments (note: although most of the audience where I saw the movie were elderly, I am in my...
Published on March 15, 2002 by Westley


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Iris chose wisely, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (Amazon Instant Video)
Life is so short and usually by the time you figure it all out--you either die or get dementia. At the opening of the film, I thought it would be the story of a writer whose trade was words and the catastrophic loss of the facility to use them--in other words about the work and the devastating absence of what it is that makes life worthwhile.

But I was mistaken--because what might be the raison d' etre for some--one's creative output- was just the framing device for the lovely and gentle love story that spanned over forty years between Dame Iris Murdoch and her husband, critic and professor of English literature, John Bayley.

Bayley was not Murdoch's first, nor her greatest love, but he was her most enduring and devoted--and I almost wish this had been a miniseries because while the sequences of the couple's later life were well developed--I would have loved to see more of their life together beyond the all too fleeting scenes of their courtship that was so brilliantly brought to life by Bonneville and the incandescent Winslet. Both were so charming--he as the inexperienced, intellectual, inhibited stutterer and she as a free spirit--whose brilliance, physicality and joie de vivre must have lit everyone around her on fire--despite the fact that she was far from being conventionally beautiful.

In any case there are scenes that are so intimate and moving as the once leader of the duo becomes as helpless as a small child and the follower takes on the role of the caretaker. Witnessing young John kissing Iris' hand and then the length of her arm -so courtly and old fashioned-and then as she realizes she must take the initiative in their lovemaking, confess he has always been backward--his brother had to tie his shoelaces until he was seven [!] ; and old ill Iris, somehow still able to understand she has annoyed John to no end--scratching at the door of the study like a cat to say she is sorry--or somehow managing to recall the words 'I love you'--after she has caused their car to go off the road -is beyond touching.

Beautiful script, casting and performances- not only from the four principles but the actresses [ Juliet Aubrey and Penelope Wilton] who played Iris' best friend Janet with such empathy and compassion, and her erstwhile lover Maurice [ father and son--Timothy and Samuel West ] . I watched it twice within a one week period and loved it. I also would recommend Shadowlands, about the love affair between CS Lewis and Joy Gresham, to those who enjoyed Iris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IRIS - a gem, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (DVD)
Bought two copies and circulate one to my friends. A hidden gem film for sure. You won't be disappointed for a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oustanding, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (Amazon Instant Video)
The content was quite appropriate and sobering ... the author surely drew from personal experience as the realism was profound. The performances of all the actors were outstanding ... Judi Dench remains one of our favorite actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great love story, May 30, 2014
By 
Chance (Pinole CA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
It's an awesome love story of two brilliant people and how there grew old together as a husband and wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets!, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (DVD)
One of my favorite movies. I've watched it 3 times already. Great acting and a true story. :-)
A bit sad at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judi does it again, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (DVD)
So accurate in the portrayal of the disintegration of a sensuous bright free spirit into an aging confused and volital lady as alsheimer consumes her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Judy Dench, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (Amazon Instant Video)
Enough said in headline, her acting is always top notch. Something about British drama that is so engaging, great character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A candid look at aging., April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (Amazon Instant Video)
Hard to watch, yet impossible to stop. This movie is about a subject that will someday affect everyone- aging. The love between Judi Dench and husband is heartwarming. Truly wonderful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars judi,judi,judi, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (DVD)
another fave actress and yes this is a tear jerker. she is brilliant in everything. just a great talented woman. I have seen this on tv too and I a collect her movies as well and was so happy with this movie that I was even happier to see it available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iris (DVD)
Great film, great cast, moving story! Not much more to say really. The story of Iris Murdoch is moving if read, but the acting and the situations chosen for the film really drove home the tragedy and humanity of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Iris
Iris by Richard Eyre (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.