Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$57.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 15, 2003
When I was 6 years old, my father give this movie that recorded from TV in 1989. That time I'm kindergarden boy. but this movie very huge, huge impact in my life. This movie treat war story. So some people may think this stuff feel very cruel. But that's wrong! this movie treat humanism like father & son. Doug rescue Father in enemy line. So this every scenes that Doug's try try so hard behave is so moved to me. now I'm 21 years old. and now I'm "South Korea Airforce Academy" Student. In the end dream come true.Like Doug Masters. So I'm very proud about me and this movie. Someday I'll drive F-16. This movie's give me a my dream. Change My Life~ Doug & Father's meet scene is never forget it..thorough all my life.
33 comments41 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 7, 2008
Little Doug Masters (Jason Gedrick) has an Air Force pilot for a father, an incredibly irresponsible father who has been allowing him to fly training missions since, evidently, Doug hit puberty. The kid has more simulator time than anyone on base (wherever that may be). He's so into flying that he has a club of fellow high school aviators - officers' kids - who take their personal planes out on the weekends for fun...and to race paint-huffing morons on dirt-bikes through treacherous mountains. He's a whiz at flying (but not acting). Doug's happy little world halts when he finds out that not only did his application to the Air Force Academy get denied, but his father was also shot down, captured, and scheduled for a hanging in an undisclosed Middle Eastern country.

Doug enlists the help of his flying buddies (two of which are Styles from Teen Wolf and the gay dude from Revenge of the Nerds) to hatch a rescue plan. Along the way he manages to get the help of a retired Air Force Colonel named Chappy Sinclair (Louis Gossett Jr.) who just happens to have flown with Doug's father. After the two find out that the U.S. government has their hands tied in red tape, Col. Chappy decides to put a plan into action. He'll require the considerable talents, connections, and tricks of each member of the flight club. They'll have to steal maps, get top secret armament information of the enemies, hack into government computers to get F16s with enough ammo (and flight plans) to take on an entire Arab country, and exploit every moron the Air Force could possible assemble on one facility in order to save Doug's father.

After all the training, the shenanigans, and the ubiquitous 80s montage in which Louis Gossett Jr. shakes it to an old jukebox, the training mission gets the go ahead, and it's up to Doug and Chappy to rescue Doug's father from the evil, Arab terrorists (and not face long-term prison when and if they get back).

If that isn't the most preposterous, far-fetched, Ben-Affleck-in-Armageddon-ridiculous premise for a movie, then someone has to fill me in on what tops it.

This movie is one of the most enjoyably improbable movies of all time. It's a classic from that period of the 80s when there seemed to be no rules, and movies were made for pure, silly entertainment. Shut your brain off for two hours and just enjoy the good guys getting the better of the bad guys in a movie less believable than James Van Der Beek's accent in Varsity Blues.
33 comments24 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2004
I watched Iron Eagle when it came out in the theaters in 1986. I was in college, and it was absurd. A teenager and his buddies with an air reservist steal a couple of F-16's and manage to fly across the atlantic, attack an entire country and recover a single person? Impossible!
But if reality is what you are looking for, get a documentary. This is just good old-fashion fun. The plot has holes, but the action is there. The Good guys are truly white hats and the evil, stereo-typed middle-eastern despot/colonel is dripping with evil.
gotta love the fun,... expecially the dog fighting scenes.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2008
I was only 12-years-old when I saw Iron Eagle with my dad, who passed away 5 years ago, and it's one of the finest memories I'll ever have. It was an exciting movie, and I still love it to this day even if it's unrealistic. For people who moan and groan about movies all the time for not being plausible, especially movie critics, I say "just grow up!" Movies are supposed to be about entertainment. Leave it to the movies based on true stories to be the so-called plausible ones.

The reason I gave this review a 1-star rating is not because of the movie itself, but because of the horrible DVD. It's the only one available as far as I know here in the U.S. It's in "full screen" format, which means edited for old televisions and not in its original widescreen format. That, of course, means a lot of the picture is cut off. The so-called 5.1 surround sound is just as bad, with little detectable sound from separate audio channels. It's old, outdated, and is in serious need of a brand new DVD and hopefully Blu-Ray version sometime soon.
77 comments12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2000
"Iron Eagle" is best described as your typical 1980s, feel-good, pro-American, rock and roll action movie. Required viewing material for those of us still on the 80s hype. While completely unrealistic, anyone who ever grew up in the Reagan-era has to love this film and its simple premise. "Iron Eagle" has everything the 80s fanatic could want: a soundtrack including Adrenalin (Road of The Gypsy), Eric Martin (Eyes of The World), Dio (Hide In The Rainbow), Twisted Sister (We're Not Gonna Take It), and Queen (One Vision); a heavy, pro-American slant; and how could we forget, actors like David Suchet and Louis Gossett. While not up to the same high-budget par as its contemporary, "Top Gun", this is still a great film. Your plot is simple: imaginary Mediterranean rouge state shoots down one of our pilots, and in return, two American rouge pilots steal F-16Bs and bomb the living daylights out of the enemy. It's a great movie to watch as a "I remember when" type of film, especially since "Iron Eagle" has all the undertones of the perpetual international crisis faced by the US during the time period.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 1999
I love Iron Eagle. When I was a kid, this was my favorite move, and it still is. Who cares if the storyline is cheesy...I sure don't. Louis Gossett, Jr. adds so much to this movie. Chappy Sinclair is one of the baddest mothers to ever walk the face of the earth. And how can you forget the awesome soundtrack? I mean..Dio...come on. And Helix? Just buy this movie...that is all I have to say...
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2005
Four Iron Eagle movies were made. This is by far the best. Often true of any series of movies, the first is so good it inspires sequels. I saw this movie during its first release. It was great then and it is still fun today. Surprisingly the aircraft are still used today and so it seems timely even now when you consider what is happening in Iraq. Filmed during Ronald Reagan's administration it is interesting how this could apply even today. All in all a stand out movie that is still fun to watch today. This is one most the family will enjoy.

A high school graduate finds that his father has been shot down over a Middle Eastern country and is being held hostage. He has three days to rescue him before he will be hanged. He enlists the aid of his fellow flying club friends and a retired Air Force Colonel to concoct a plan to fly over and rescue his father. Good acting, great flying sequences, and excellent music soundtrack make this worth catching. I love the soundtrack, especially his flying song by Queen. Good quality DVD with little in the way of extras. Still worth adding to your collection of family action movies.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2008
Jason Gedrick, Louis Gossett Jr., and Tim Thomerson star in this high-flying 80s action film about a pilot who is shot down and the lengths his son will go to save him.

Thomerson stars as Col. Ted Masters. He and his wingman are on a routine mission over the Mediterranean Sea when they are jumped by MIGs from a middle-eastern country. The name of the country is never given, but, due to the time when the movie was made, it can be assumed to be Libya. Masters and his wingman manage to shoot down three MIGs, but Masters himself is eventually shot down and captured.

Meanwhile, Ted's son Doug (Gedrick) has become a fairly good pilot himself. He and his friends have their own flying club, and they enjoy flying their Cessnas on the weekends. Doug has an enemy in school who challenges him to fly "the snake", a dangerous canyon near the air force base. Doug accepts and, even though someone messed with his plane, Doug still manages to win. However, his victory is short-lived, for he soon finds out about his father's capture and impending trial.

The U.S. Government is powerless to assist Doug's father, and Doug soon learns that his father has been found guilty of spying and is going to be hanged in three days. With no other options available to him, Doug concocts his own plan to fly in and free his father himself. He enlists the help of Col. "Chappy" Sinclair (Gossett). Chappy is a retired pilot who lives on the base. He's extremely reluctant to help Doug with his far-fetched plan but, after thinking it over, he decides to go along with it.

Now its up to Doug's friends to somehow come up with two fully-loaded F-16s with a full combat load, refueling schedules, approved flight plans, and other necessary logistics to pull the plan off. Sure enough, Doug's friends somehow manage to make all the necessary arrangements and Doug and Chappy are soon winging their way across the Med. Will they succeed in rescuing Doug's father, or will they be too late?

I enjoyed this movie a great deal. Granted, the story is extremely far-fetched, but the action sequences are very good. Gossett does a good job as Chappy, and Gedrick gives a good performance as Doug. Fans of great action-adventure movies won't want to miss Iron Eagle.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2008
It seems everyone reviewing Iron Eagle has seen and loves it. What I know is, it reminds me of simpler times. Cliched? Probably. I remember watching this with my sister as a kid. I love the whole thing and hopefully is as available in the future as it is now. The comparisons to Top Gun are unavoidable, like comparing the Stones to the Beatles. But, as it is with music comparisons, you can't look at Iron Eagle as a Top Gun rip off, it is in my opinion more entertaining and way better in it's own right. The final raid scene is complimemted by the awesome track by Dio "Hide in the Rainbow", when Doug rescues his dad at the end of a fire engulfed runway you just jump up and cheer. What a great moment! Im sure there are technical short comings as far as communications go but so what?Do you like a good old fashioned calvery rescue? When 4 planes lead by MAJOR "Dwight Smiley" show up to fend off the bad guys...well all I can say is grab your apple pie, and classic Coke and enjoy being an american.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2010
A good action fighter plane movie from the 80's. Jason gederick puts in a good performance. Louis Gossett junior puts a superb performance as a veteran fighter pilot who teaches Doug Masters to fly an f-16 and use its weapons. a bit unrealistic but its not a serious war film , I know Arab Air Air forces have performed poorly throughout the 20th century but I don't think they would be able to lose to 17 year old kid with few days f-16 practice.The movie was made during the cold war so their was no chance of using real mig's, the planes were used as mig's were Israeli Kfir jets,(itself an unliscenced copy of a French Mirage III/5 series.)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.46

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.