Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview of the Armored Avenger and must have for any fan, February 14, 2010
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
DK always does great work with these superhero books and this is no exception. The book follows the format of last year's Wolverine volume, a nice and concise overview of Iron Man's history from his creation to key issues (such as the duo of alcohol-related stories) and interviews with creators. The panels from the comics are great as we get a rundown of all the major players: Tony, Jarvis, Happy, Pepper, War Machine, Justin Hammer, Whiplash, Madam Masque, Mandarin, Crimson Dynamo and more friends and foes (Avengers and even Force Works gets a mention). The looks at the various armors over the years are also good. The big push of course is a rundown of pretty much the entire history of the character from 1962 to early 2010 with highlights on Armor Wars, Demon in a Bottle and more. It's good to read an explanation for the wild "Teen Tony" arc of the 1990's and the changes of the 21st century. Whether you're an old fan or a new one, this is THE history of Iron Man, cheap at twice the price and a worthy addition to DK's comic book library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great content, well organized, very educational, March 17, 2010
By 
Donovan "Meep Mop" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
This book is great. My lady friend and I got really into Iron Man after the first movie and can't wait for the next one. This book has been a great way to get more info on the characters and background. It's also helped appreciate what is traditional Iron Man and what they've adapted for the new movies.

The content is very thorough - it covers all of the series and sagas, goes into the details of the different types of armor, tells who the characters are and how Tony met them.

It's very easy to ready for an hour or for 5 minutes - it's not a novel or a biography; it goes section by section to you can jump to what you're curious about or go page by page and follow the development from the armor to the interior of Tony's personal issues, from the origin to the current and future suits.

It's extremely educational - like I said, it's great to see what is traditional Iron Man, what they've adapted for the movie and what to expect in the upcoming sequel. Also, gives great info on the relationships with other heroes if you're curious about how Iron Man fits into the Marvel Universe (did you know he made a suit for Wolverine at one point? I didn't!)

Strong recommendation. It doesn't cost much more than a movie ticket and it's a great way to hold you over for the next one, or fill you in after seeing it if it leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to learn more about Iron Man, May 19, 2014
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
Iron Man is another Marvel character that has made its way to the big screen in the recent years. And with his appearance in theater, a new generation of kids have learned to love this Marvel character. This book will allow them to read all they want to know about Tony Stark and Iron Man from it’s creation in the comic world to the more recent adventures.

Packed with illustrations that highlights the information contained in this book, the child who reads it will discover the friends, allies, enemies, weapons and much more about Iron Man. The book will bring the reader through the years from the creation of the character to more recent days. The reader will discover key issues, important story lines, a detailed timeline and important things that happened in the world of Iron Man through the years.

It’s the perfect book for the child who loves Iron Man and can’t get enough of him. The book will encourage reading as he discover more about one of the great super-heroes existing in the Marvel universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of Iron Man, Beautifully done book, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
I've never read comic books, but I so loved the Iron Man and Avengers movies, that I just had to take a look at where the character came from. I ordered this book because I was looking for an overview of the series, and I have to say, what I found far exceeded my expectations.

My first impression of the book was surprise. The quality of the actual book was far more luxurious than what I would have expected, considering this was a comic book character. Heavy glossy paper, hardcover format with gold page edges. I haven't seen that in years! Very nice, especially since the book was not expensive.

The meat of the book did not disappoint either. I found myself getting drawn in, enjoying both the history and the artwork. I loved that there was a time line that gave me a real sense of how Iron Man's story played out over time. Not only did I enjoy it, I have to say it has prompted me to order more books and really delve into Iron Man. I really was not expecting to come away with that response. So the book did it's job. It sold me in a big way.

If you are new to the comic book world as I was, I would very much recommend this book. If you're a veteran, then I still think you would not be disappointed to have this well done volume in your collection.

Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and accurate, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
If you are a comic book fan and especially if you want an accurate and comprehensive history and description of the Iron Man character this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy belated 50th anniversary 2 shell-head..., January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
tales of suspense...forget the issue no# but it was the mid-70's when i was 1st introduced 2 ironman through a mutal friend and been hooked ever since...got all 3 ironman movies,,,plus the avengers flick and ironman still kickin' marvel universe bad guy butt for 51 yrs. and still counting...the book iz what i was looking for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron man, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
Good information for anyone who wants to learn about Iron Man. It has all sorts of information about Tony Stark and his enemies and his many different IronMan suits,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for 9 year old, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
My nine-year-old nephew loves this book. He picks it up to read different sections all the time. Great reference book for an Iron Man enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Iron Man complete reference!!!, March 6, 2013
By 
Chad (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
Great Iron Man complete reference!!! Great book with lot of references and pictures from the classic comics to today! Highly recommended for new and old readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man Plots, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero (Hardcover)
I bought the book to read about the Iron Man storyline since I have no comic books. It gave me some good information and explanations about plots, characters, and equipment.

I was not aware of the War that split the super heroes of Marvel. It clued me into the reasoning of both sides of the super hero split. It was very insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero
Iron Man: The Ultimate Guide to the Armored Super Hero by Matthew K. Manning (Hardcover - February 15, 2010)
$24.99 $15.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.