Customer Reviews


514 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-movie fun, you'll enjoy every minute as long as you realize it's not trying to be Scorcese or Speilberg...
Very silly, a tad forced in places, and who gives a crap? Pure, B movie fun, as was intended. Amazing effects considering their $10 million budget. This movie was silly, had a message but delivered it with the subtlety of a giant rubber mallet. It was the funnest load of crap I've ever watched. Highly recommended.

(Note: this review was originally a reply to...
Published on June 16, 2012 by Croaker

versus
68 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absurd black comedy: Sarah Palin v. Nazis from the moon
The publicity material for this film might give some the false impression that it is to some extent an adventure movie, if a tongue-in-cheek one. It isn't. "Iron Sky" is black comedy from beginning to end. It has moments of genuine comic genius, though to get to them you have to watch a fair amount of material that is very silly indeed.

Any supporters of the...
Published on June 30, 2012 by Marshall Lord


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-movie fun, you'll enjoy every minute as long as you realize it's not trying to be Scorcese or Speilberg..., June 16, 2012
Very silly, a tad forced in places, and who gives a crap? Pure, B movie fun, as was intended. Amazing effects considering their $10 million budget. This movie was silly, had a message but delivered it with the subtlety of a giant rubber mallet. It was the funnest load of crap I've ever watched. Highly recommended.

(Note: this review was originally a reply to Hydra's review, but I decided to post it on its own.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 123 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accept it for what it is... and it excels at that!, June 15, 2012
Face it, this wasn't meant to be the next grade 'A' MEGABLOCKBUSTER. This is a lower budget, independently made 'B' movie.... but what a 'B' movie it is. All things considered, it has great spacial effects, decent actors, a good script.... One of my favorite 'B' Sci Fi films of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for originality and entertainment value, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Many reviewers have referred to this movie as "camp" which I think belittles it unnecessarily. Rocky Horror Picture Show was camp. This is clever. Would I recommend it to absolutely everyone without reservation? No, it depends on your sense of humor. But these days when all Hollywood spews out are screenplays based on a novel, or a comic book, or a sequel or a reboot or a remake, I found this wonderfully refreshing. (When Fifty Shades of Gray comes out we can look forward to a movie that was based on an atrocious novel that was adapted from a fan fiction that was inspired by the equally atrocious Twilight novels...ugh.)

Keep in mind I only watched this to humor my husband, fully expecting to roll my eyes and scoff the entire time. Instead I found myself highly entertained for the full 90 minutes. Personally I enjoyed the special effects, realistic when appropriate and other times quite lyrical. And the direction overall generated lots of energy. I thought the acting was truly excellent, everyone sold their roles (with the possible exception of the "mad scientist" who did cross over the line to camp.) Special mention must be given to the actress who played the main character, Renata. From a female perspective I found her to be completely believable and sympathetic as a woman of both intelligence and innocence, indoctrinated to prejudice and yet when confronted by a black man for the first time her reaction is a very human mixture of curiosity and compassion. A woman bound by duty to a genetically matched mate, yet longing for a spark of romance from the insensitive clod. A gentle schoolteacher, who, it turns out is fully capable of kick-ass moves when the occasion calls for it.

No, this is not Saving Private Ryan. And should I review that movie I would give it 5 stars for cinematic brilliance, though I didn't enjoy watching it and have no intention of viewing it again. Such is the dilemma of ratings. If you're looking for something fun, different and likeable, take a chance on Iron Sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complements the theatrical cut: DIRECTORS CUT REVIEW, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a fan i am massively impressed with the directors cut of Iron Sky, it's like a whole new movie. The directors cut features 20 extra minutes of previously deleted scenes some of which alter the style of the original film, and that's not all, they've added a boatload of new visual effects throughout and made the Meteor Blitzkrieg even more awesome than before, they've even replaced some of the musical scores with new ones. What they basically have done is taken a "crazy B movie" and turned it into a "crazy B+ with an extra side of crazy movie", it's just like the back of the movie case reads: "It's an all-new take on the film".
I must suggest however (and this is just my personal opinion) that this directors cut only be watched by people that have already seen and love the original theatrical cut of the film, why is this? Because, the film really has been considerably changed by the inclusion of these deleted scenes and the new musical scores. Some of the new scenes work great in the film while some others are ether unnecessary or do harm to the flow of the scenes they were fit back into, even though i love this directors cut i have a strong respect to the way the theatrical cut was edited, the flow of the film was so much more balanced. A great example of another film with a theatrical and directors cut with similar levels of changes between the two is "Donnie Darko", If you've seen both versions of that movie then you know what i mean. The directors cut of Donnie Darko complements the theatrical cut, it just shouldn't be watched first, same thing goes for Iron Sky.
So if you're already a fan of Iron Sky then buy the directors cut, however, if you've never seen this movie before then i suggest buying or renting the theatrical cut and see what you think first. It's unfortunate that they didn't just include the theatrical cut in this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absurd black comedy: Sarah Palin v. Nazis from the moon, June 30, 2012
The publicity material for this film might give some the false impression that it is to some extent an adventure movie, if a tongue-in-cheek one. It isn't. "Iron Sky" is black comedy from beginning to end. It has moments of genuine comic genius, though to get to them you have to watch a fair amount of material that is very silly indeed.

Any supporters of the GOP "Tea Party" or fans of Governor Sarah Palin should probably avoid this unless your sense of humour is extremely good at laughing with or at people who are ridiculing things you believe in. And anyone who had assumed, from the way this film is advertised as a battle against a nazi threat, that it would be an opportunity to enjoy a guilt-free heroic battle against a dangerous and utterly evil foe - a bit like a film version of David Drake's novel "Fortress" which was recently republished in "Loose Cannon: The Tom Kelly Novels" may be rather disappointed.

We are told at the beginning of the film that it is 2018. There is a new female US President, (played by Stephanie Paul), who is in the middle of her first term and campaigning for re-election. Stephanie Paul and the producers of the film go out of their way to indicate in almost every possible way other than actually using her name, that the President is based on Sarah Palin. It would probably be fairer to say, on a caricature of Sarah Palin as those who are least fond of the former Alaska governor might see her.

The President has re-started the Apollo programme, and the U.S. astronauts who land on the far side of the moon are horrified to run into a moonbase full of nazis.

Apparently in 1945 elements of Hitler's third reich escaped to the moon, and for seventy years have been rebuilding their strength, ready to strike back ...

Don't switch off before the end of the credits. When the camera starts to pan out as the hero and heroine embrace at the end of the film, their location is seen from further and further away, e.g. from out in space. As the first credits appear on the screen something rather important can be seen happening if you watch the earth closely. At the very end of the credits another image appears in the camera view which appears to be meant as a hint about where the future of the human race lies.

Several of the best jokes in the film are inspired by the Charlie Chaplain film "The Great Dictator" which is openly referred to in "The Iron Sky." There is also an obvious parody of the section of the film "Downfall [Blu-ray]" which has inspired a thousand Youtube spoofs.

The film sends up politicians in general, not just openly Nazi ones - partly by drawing attention to the parallels between the actions of world leaders in general and those of NSDAP leaders.

I don't want to give away the jokes in the film, but another point to watch out for is that the viewer should watch closely, immediately after the President gives the name of the USA's space warship, for the way that name is written on the side of the ship.

In more than one place in "The Iron Sky" there were things which would clearly have been a mistake or bad acting in a more serious film, but I wasn't sure whether the people who made this one were sending themselves up as a joke. For example, Gotz Otto, who plays the main Nazi character in the film, deputy fuhrer Klaus Adler, appears to have modelled his performance on the nazis from the UK TV show "Allo Allo" (Link: 'Allo 'Allo! The Complete Collection) set in occupied France, particularly Herr Flick.

Indeed, all the actors who play the Nazis from the moon in this film seem to have modelled their performances on characters from "Allo Allo."

The special effects are reasonably well done, though again I wasn't certain whether the film-makers had overlooked certain basic laws of physics or were sending themselves up. one example would be spaceships which were converted Zeppelins. The example I gave in the first draft of this review, which has sparked a vigorous debate in the comments (see below) was that handguns which appear identical to WWII german luger pistols appear to work perfectly well on the moon - in extremely low temperatures, one sixth gravity, and the absence of an atmosphere. And with the recoil not affecting those who fire them in the moon's one sixth gravity any differently from how it would on earth. There are an amazing range of comments on this from people who probably know a lot more about guns than I do, though I'm not aware than any of the Apollo missions tested it by firing a gun on the moon. I had the impression that the creators of this film were not aiming at realistic depiction of the science of such issues, they were simply having a laugh.

Whatever else you may say about it, this film is certainly different. There were points while watching it when I was quite literally rolling around laughing. There were other points when I was on the verge of getting up and turning it off. I suspect this will be one of those films which some people love and others hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Reich From Outer Space: A Loopy Sci-Fi Spoof With True Cult Potential, February 13, 2014
Note on Director's Cut Version: If you've seen the original version of Iron Sky, the Director's version is about 20 minutes longer. While essentially the same movie, these extra 20 minutes allow the film to have more time on the moon establishing the characters before taking off into mayhem. This build-up alters the tone of the movie somewhat and the addition of a new score and new effects make everything a bit grander. I certainly like the Director's Cut because it's the vision more in tune with the movie laid out in storyboards (the original was rushed for distribution and confined by budgetary restraints). But for sheer lunacy, I liked that the Theatrical version just jumps into the action in a madcap fashion and never relents. I really wish this release included both versions!

Additional Extras include on this edition include a 90 Minute Making-of Documentary and a 32 page Concept Art booklet.

The Finnish sci-fi spoof "Iron Sky" is a bold, unapologetic, and absolutely ridiculous bit of nonsense! And I mean this in the most complimentary way possible. If you're going for loopy and outrageous comedy, you can't beat the camptastic premise of this seriously disturbed movie. I understand that such humor isn't for everyone, but I suspect the audience for "Iron Sky" will continue to grow as word of mouth spreads about this nutty endeavor. It's not always a perfect movie, and it may even play a bit too long--but I've always got to commend a movie for serving me a tasty dish that I haven't sampled a hundred times before. This is the definition of a cult movie. Love it or hate it, you won't be apathetic! And "Iron Sky" is nothing if not original. Combining elements of classic science fiction with mad scientist mayhem with a culture clash comedy with a political satire, the film covers a lot of bases. And for the most part it succeeds as an exuberant slapstick romp. Eschewing all political correctness, "Iron Sky" embraces its lunacy and doesn't hold back. And really, that's all you can ask for.

Set in the not-so-distant future, a very Palin-esque United States President sends a new mission to the moon. What they discover will irrevocably change the future of the world! On the dark side of the moon, an installation of the Reich has been constructed from a renegade band of survivors who fled at the end of the WWII. Under the command of the Moon Fuhrer (Udo Kier), the German scientists discover an essential new power source to fuel their galactic empire and position them to re-take the Earth. Sending a team to retrieve as many cell phones as possible (computers have improved dramatically since the forties!), leads Gotz Otto and Julia Dietze some become seduced by the new world. In skewering both the media and opportunistic politicians, "Iron Sky" aims for some fairly obvious targets but the results are still quite funny. But as the mayhem escalates, it seems that there is no stopping a full on invasion from the skies (a delightful visual of blimps stand in for traditional space ships). I won't reveal any more, it's just best to go with the flow.

"Iron Sky" works as well as it does due to its premise. It's over-the-top and patently ridiculous (as I've mentioned), but everyone is committed to the preposterous scenario. The screenplay is bold and offensive, the actors display great physical comedy prowess, the effects are appropriately loony. It just all works. I really liked the central pair of Otto and Dietze. After setting up some great ideas, though, the film may lag toward the end where it becomes more concerned with action than comedy. It's a small gripe in the scheme of things, and one that doesn't deter a recommendation. So many movies play it safe or cover tired formulas. "Iron Sky" is a cult film that defies expectations and has plenty of great surprises and laughs as well. Check it out for something off the beaten path. KGHarris, 9/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this not available on NSTC and released in the USA?, June 18, 2012
This review is from: Iron Sky (DVD)
This movie is a hit around the world except in The USA!....I'll buy it from the British if i have too...but it amazes me how slack distribution companies in the USA have not featured this as one of the best new movies of the year....Tell me it is coming soon, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Reich From Outer Space: A Loopy Sci-Fi Spoof With True Cult Potential, September 29, 2012
The Finnish sci-fi spoof "Iron Sky" is a bold, unapologetic, and absolutely ridiculous bit of nonsense! And I mean this in the most complimentary way possible. If you're going for loopy and outrageous comedy, you can't beat the camptastic premise of this seriously disturbed movie. I understand that such humor isn't for everyone, but I suspect the audience for "Iron Sky" will continue to grow as word of mouth spreads about this nutty endeavor. It's not always a perfect movie, and it may even play a bit too long--but I've always got to commend a movie for serving me a tasty dish that I haven't sampled a hundred times before. This is the definition of a cult movie. Love it or hate it, you won't be apathetic! And "Iron Sky" is nothing if not original. Combining elements of classic science fiction with mad scientist mayhem with a culture clash comedy with a political satire, the film covers a lot of bases. And for the most part it succeeds as an exuberant slapstick romp. Eschewing all political correctness, "Iron Sky" embraces its lunacy and doesn't hold back. And really, that's all you can ask for.

Set in the not-so-distant future, a very Palin-esque United States President sends a new mission to the moon. What they discover will irrevocably change the future of the world! On the dark side of the moon, an installation of the Reich has been constructed from a renegade band of survivors who fled at the end of the WWII. Under the command of the Moon Fuhrer (Udo Kier), the German scientists discover an essential new power source to fuel their galactic empire and position them to re-take the Earth. Sending a team to retrieve as many cell phones as possible (computers have improved dramatically since the forties!), leads Gotz Otto and Julia Dietze some become seduced by the new world. In skewering both the media and opportunistic politicians, "Iron Sky" aims for some fairly obvious targets but the results are still quite funny. But as the mayhem escalates, it seems that there is no stopping a full on invasion from the skies (a delightful visual of blimps stand in for traditional space ships). I won't reveal any more, it's just best to go with the flow.

"Iron Sky" works as well as it does due to its premise. It's over-the-top and patently ridiculous (as I've mentioned), but everyone is committed to the preposterous scenario. The screenplay is bold and offensive, the actors display great physical comedy prowess, the effects are appropriately loony. It just all works. I really liked the central pair of Otto and Dietze. After setting up some great ideas, though, the film may lag toward the end where it becomes more concerned with action than comedy. It's a small gripe in the scheme of things, and one that doesn't deter a recommendation. So many movies play it safe or cover tired formulas. "Iron Sky" is a cult film that defies expectations and has plenty of great surprises and laughs as well. Check it out for something off the beaten path. KGHarris, 9/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This could come true - it could happen to you, February 17, 2014
To promote the president and maybe pick up a little hydrogen 3 on the side astronaut are sent to the far side of the moon. There they find that they are not the first to do a little mining. Yep the Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiterpartei (NSDAP) has been there sense 1945. This triggers the plans of the NSDAP to take over the world.

Will they succeed or will they only buster the president's chances for re-election?

I tried hard to keep a straight face during the movie but they got me going and practically non-stop. One of my favorite spots is when everyone in the UN was trying to find out where the threat was coming from; each country denied it was their people. Then North Korea representative admitted that they are behind it.

The acting was great the dialog pungent. There was a little too much potty mouth but it was not enough to be gratuitous. The CGI was quite adequate. The back ground music was not overwhelming the dialog. They did not try to be too campy. In all it was a well balanced movie with a big budget fee.

It was nice to have the subtitles. However 90 percent of the German used was so fundamental that you could follow quite well at that pace.

I look for more from this team:
Original story - Johanna Sinisalo
Original concept - Jarmo Puskala
Screenplay - Michael Kalesniko
Writer - Timo Vuorensola

I will watch it again to see the nuances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for the "B" Movie, November 30, 2012
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Sky (DVD)
This is a tough one. I don't know if I've ever seen anyone go to these lengths and spend this much money on a movie with this content.

Here's the scoop. A Sarah Palin (albeit with a Southern accent) type President of the United States is up for reelection. She sends a manned shuttle to the moon which is supposed to be a big p.r. boost being that one of the astronauts is black. When they get to the dark side they find that some WWII Nazis have a secret base and are ready to launch an attack on earth and conquer the entire planet. The black guy is captured, turned into a white guy via an albino drug and sent back with the new Nazi commander to spearhead the assault. Plots and mayhem ensue as the whole thing plays out.

Yes this is a "B" movie but it has "A" sensibilities in all departments. The film makers didn't cheap out anywhere. The script is way better than it had to be. It sported some nice turns and didn't telegraph where it was going. The production design, costumes, special effects and music were all nearly as good as big studio releases. The acting, though not Academy Award grade, was much better than it would have been had this been made in the 80s. Udo Kier was on hand but I didn't recognize anyone else.

This is riotous fun but it plumbs some deeper depths and landed some solid jabs at things that bordered on uncomfortable. There were huge pokes at North Korea, America's relations with the rest of the world, the selling of a President and much more. That one of the assault space ships is named the George W. Bush has to be making some people squirm in their seats. And the ending must be seen to be believed. Not the sweet, upbeat ending one might imagine.

Again I have to wonder why the film makers went to such great lengths to put this together, but my hat's off to them. They did a sweet job and made this the best "B+" or "A-" movie ever. It almost reads like a vest pocket version of "Dr. Strangelove." This needs to be seen by a wide audience. It's better than it had to be and I hope I see these folks handle a lot more projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Iron Sky
Iron Sky by Udo Kier (DVD - 2012)
$19.98 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.