The Iron Wyrm Affair (Bannon & Clare) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $1.51 (11%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

The Iron Wyrm Affair (Bannon and Clare) Paperback – August 7, 2012


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, August 7, 2012
$12.48
$2.41 $0.01
Preloaded Digital Audio Player
"Please retry"

Frequently Bought Together

The Iron Wyrm Affair (Bannon and Clare) + The Red Plague Affair (Bannon and Clare) + The Damnation Affair (Bannon & Clare)
Price for all three: $41.28

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Series: Bannon and Clare (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (August 7, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 031620126X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316201261
  • Product Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (95 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #615,557 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

" Saintcrow scores a hit with this terrific Steampunk series that rockets through a Britain-that-wasn't with magic and industrial mayhem with a firm nod to Holmes. Genius and a rocking good time."—New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs

"Saintcrow melds a complex magic system with a subtle but effective steampunk society, adds fully-fleshed and complicated characters, and delivers a clever and highly engaging mystery that kept me turning pages, fascinated to the very end."—Laura Anne Gilman

"Innovative world building, powerful steam punk, master storyteller at her best. Don't miss this one....She's fabulous. "—Christine Feehan

"Lilith Saintcrow spins a world of deadly magic, grand adventure, and fast-paced intrigue through the clattering streets of a maze-like mechanized Londonium. The Iron Wyrm Affair is a fantastic mix of action, steam, and mystery dredged in dark magic with a hint of romance. Loved it! Do not miss this wonderful addition to the steampunk genre."—Devon Monk

"Lilith Saintcrow's foray into steampunk plunges the reader into a
Victorian England rife with magic and menace, where clockwork horses pace the cobbled streets, dragons rule the ironworks, and it will take a sorceress' discipline and a logician's powers of deduction to unravel a bloody conspiracy."—Jacqueline Carey

"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This isn't just fantasy with cogs stuck on. A really good read"—SFX

"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch."—Publishers Weekly

"Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks."—Booklist

"A fast and furious ride through an alternate Victorian London that occasionally stops for polite afternoon tea, just to let you catch your breath. Exciting, great characters and one of the best books I've read this year. Roll on the next instalment! "—thebookbag.co.uk

"A fast-paced blend of Victorian-era urban fantasy and steampunkish technology."—Shelf Awareness

About the Author

Lilith Saintcrow was born in New Mexico, bounced around the world as an Air Force brat, and fell in love with writing when she was ten years old. She currently lives in Vancouver, WA. Find out more at www.lilithsaintcrow.com.

More About the Author

Lilith Saintcrow lives in Vancouver, Washington, with her two children and assorted other strays. She has been writing since she was nine years old. Find her on the web at www.lilithsaintcrow.com.

Customer Reviews

Is it unfair to rate a book that one hasn't finished reading?
miss reads a lot
With two diverse personalities such as Clare and Bannon I would expect two contrasting distinct voices, but really only got one voice for the two characters.
Kale
She throws out terminology that she expects the reader to just understand like candy.
Mayuka-chan

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

95 of 107 people found the following review helpful By Kale on August 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
I'm all for steampunk and Victorian anything, but not when it makes me feel like an idiot using my native language. The Iron Wyrm Affair is like reading Shakespeare for the first time without a lexicon. Everything great about this book was overshadowed by overly indulgent prose coupled with a lack of context.

I was really excited about this book, up until I started reading it. The plot starts off promising in the middle of a conspiracy but is bogged down by an overly descriptive narrative and no foundation to root the reader. Plopped into an established world with no introduction, was a bit disorienting. I kept waiting to be let in on the secret world and magical explanations, but none came. I felt cheated, not being able to participate in the world building experience, excluded from the author's VIP mind set. I was lost a lot, grasping for some context to ground me in this unfamiliar world.

The characters were interesting but the alternating POVs makes the story choppy and difficult to get into. The writing style hindered their connection for me, at times I found it difficult to separate the dialogue and who was saying what. I usually rather enjoy having dueling perspectives but I don't think Saintcrow made it worked here. With two diverse personalities such as Clare and Bannon I would expect two contrasting distinct voices, but really only got one voice for the two characters.

The most difficult part for me was not being familiar with any of the slang used. There was a breakdown of magical hierarchy which would've been more useful presented in the front of the text than the back but I wish there was an index of terms, footnotes, anything to help the reader out.
Read more ›
11 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
60 of 68 people found the following review helpful By Anna N. on August 6, 2012
Format: Paperback
A Sherlockian genius and a powerful sorceress team up to discover and defeat an unknown adversary, for Queen and Country. Also, because it's after them, too.

It's an interesting story which includes a bit of mystery, a lot of magic, and a group of people who have to work together though they may or may not trust each other. The characters are (mostly) interesting and decently well-drawn, particularly Emma. The worldbuilding is intriguing, including Tideturn and its effect on both magic-wielders and gems in proximity to them.

On the other hand, in the beginning, Clare is pretty annoying until he stopped talking about deducing things and just does it. He's also irritatingly sexist for someone who is supposed to be so very logical and his friend Sig is called a genius but portrayed as a buffoon.

Very little is explained about how magic - or anything else - works in this alternate Britain. It almost reads like the second book in the series, written with the assumption that the reader is already familiar with the setting. I enjoy books that throw the reader in the midst of things and explain it as the book goes along - but only when things are actually explained.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful By Avalee on September 15, 2012
Format: Paperback
Add me to the group of people who really wanted to love this book, but was disappointed. The story was slow moving and hardly anything in the author's steampunk world is explained. Some things you can figure out for yourself, but mostly you're just left guessing. I love this genre but if you're looking for steampunk/sci-fi or anything along those lines, there are sooo many better books out there.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Mayuka-chan on June 23, 2013
Format: Paperback
I cannot explain how much I wanted to like this book. There were so many elements that I was excited to read about, a detective, victorian england, magic, mystery AND steampunk. I was so sure I was going to be swept away by this and love every page. Unfortunately that was not remotely the case.

I have yet made myself able to finish powering through this. I've been trying and perhaps I may edit this review if I ever bring myself to finish it. I got halfway through and I just want to read something I like.

I'll start with the characters, Clare was so incredibly bland. He was like a cheap rip off of Sherlock(even jacking the instrumental scales relating to bugs movement from the movie) that wasn't remotely well done. He has no personality whatsoever. The author didn't even really explain what a mentath really was or how they worked. I started somewhat getting and idea and yet I didn't like it. Saintcrow was constantly mention how he was deducing random things from everywhere but never saying WHAT he deduced or any conclusions that he ever came to. Standing next to Emma Bannon he looked incredibly useless and even when he was asked questions, they were something Emma already knew the answer to anyway. Halfway through the book he had still yet to do anything other than get headaches when he didn't understand something solely because it wasn't logical or be generally useless. Half-way through a book and he hasn't done a thing of importance. That's fabulous.

On the flip side, Emma Bannon and her shield Mikal were incredible. Bannon was a very strong female lead, though I wanted to slap her with how she was constantly treating Mikal like a dog. Why he put up with her, even in her moments of weakness is somewhat of a mystery.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa0a3a5a0)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?