Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom to help
I picked up Ravi's book after reading an article where he told the story of his brother getting married through the process of arranged marriage. Ravi approached his brother prior to the marriage and basically asked him, "Brother, what if this girl is ugly?" His brother scolded Ravi and said, "Mark this down. If you will to love someone, you can." That intrigued me...
Published on October 16, 2004 by Andy Merrick

versus
20 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Milk
About this we have much to say, and it is hard to explain, since you have become dull of hearing. For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the basic principles of the oracles of God. You need milk, not solid food, for everyone who lives on milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, since he is a child. But solid food is...
Published on April 6, 2006 by William Krischke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom to help, October 16, 2004
By 
I picked up Ravi's book after reading an article where he told the story of his brother getting married through the process of arranged marriage. Ravi approached his brother prior to the marriage and basically asked him, "Brother, what if this girl is ugly?" His brother scolded Ravi and said, "Mark this down. If you will to love someone, you can." That intrigued me because today, we're of the mindset that you can only love someone physically beautiful. While I believe it's good our own dating system affords us the chance to have a beautiful mate, I wanted to know more about Ravi's take on willing to love.

This book is fantastic! Ravi lifts marriage out of our own cultural context and puts it in the place God intended it. While it is true that dating/marriage will have aspects of the culture buried within it, Ravi asks us to accept those only to a point. He points us to the story of Isaac and Rebekah - two "kids" who:

1) aceepted the need for a mate and allowed the parents to be involved,

2) willed to love each other,

3) sacrificed their lives for each other,

4) committed to sexual purity prior to marriage (his discussion in this chapter focuses on the believer's body being the temple of God and is very illuminating),

5) left the home of mom and dad,

6) had the great need for daily, genuine personal prayer and bible study, and

7) remained committed to each other even in the hard times.

As I mentioned before, this book will lift your thought of marriage on to a totally new plane. You'll find yourself questioning what you actually believe marriage is. You'll be left with much thinking to do, but will come to appreciate that marriage is a huge commitment in rejecting your own desires, accepting God's desires, and fulfilling your wife's desires (as she, in turn, fulfills yours). It's a beautiful book, in my opinion. Highly recommended. -andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Tribute to Lifelong Love, March 28, 2004
By 
FaithfulReader.com (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
Best-selling author Ravi Zacharias offers a moving, albeit awkwardly titled, tribute to lifelong love with I, ISAAC, TAKE THEE, REBEKAH.
As its subtitle suggests, the book is about "moving from romance to lasting love," and in light of modern day attacks on the sanctity of marriage, its message is not only timeless but timely.
While it is Zacharias' first treatment of this subject matter, fans of his more philosophical works, including CRIES OF THE HEART, DELIVER US FROM EVIL and JESUS AMONG OTHER GODS, won't be disappointed by his departure from "weightier matters of philosophical debate about truth and belief in God," as he states it.
Centering on the Old Testament story of Isaac and Rebekah, Zacharias identifies them as a covenantal couple committed to loving each other unconditionally. In the process of telling their tale, he espouses a return to the enduring values of family, faithfulness and fidelity in the marriage relationship.
Decrying the prevailing popularity of "sex without strings and marriage without rings," Zacharias shares invaluable insights for nurturing a marriage that stands the test of time. For example, in the chapter titled "The Living Act of a Dead Self," he writes that "if the first thing about committing the will is that it is a death to yourself, what comes to life is a disposition that seeks to serve."
Zacharias lists personal maturity, premarital counseling and preparation for disagreements as the three characteristics of a couple properly prepared for life as man and wife. And with clarity and conviction, he drives home the point that "conflict resolution is the key to success in most marriages," an understatement if ever there was one.
As Zacharias points out, the wedding is the easiest part of being married, and it is not until afterward that couples actually discover whether or not their words carry the weight of authenticity. To help couples striving to make their marriage a success, he proposes some governing disciplines that must translate into the lives of each partner.
According to Zacharias, there must be a daily commitment to prayer, to the study of the scriptures and to active involvement in a local church, if couples are to cultivate the type of character that enables them to successfully navigate the stormy seas of modern day matrimony.
Presenting foundational truths in the face of mounting threats to marriage, the book is a useful guide for establishing love that lasts for a lifetime. It is specially suited for use as a premarital counseling tool and related church resource; it's also recommended reading for any couple seeking to ground their relationship in biblical bedrock.
--- Reviewed by Sean Fowlds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, March 22, 2004
By 
William Cain (Gastonia, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Ravi hits a home run with his latest book. Clear and straight to the point. A great read for any parent who wants to help guide their children in these difficult decisions and a must read for anyone who plans to marry or wants to improve the relationship of his/her marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not an average marriage/dating book, June 6, 2005
By 
J. Klandrud (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought and read this book last summer, going through some difficult mental and emotional battles involving not dating anyone or being married yet. This book was brilliantly and beautifully crafted and gave me hope and practical principles I could use now to prepare for marriage later.

I picked it up again this summer, not intending to read it again, but somehow finding myself engrossed once again. I think I could read this book once every few months to remember--whether I'm single, dating, or married. I so appreciate Zacharias' delicate yet bold handling of modern issues including homosexuality and divorce. These aren't themes, but they are issues approached in an inoffensive manner.

I have read many other books on dating and marriage and this one by far is the best thus far. I know there is a bookcase of books on this subject out there and can't say this is the best out of all of them, but that is only because I haven't read all of them. I'm sure this one would come out near the top no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich insights, but must be gleaned with patience, December 29, 2005
This review is from: I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving from Romance to Lasting Love (Paperback)
One thing is clear from reading Ravi Zacharias's book, I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: marriage is hard work. Using the biblical story of Isaac and Rebekah, Zacharias attempts to reveal God's will for marriage.

Zacharias's background as a professional speaker is obvious from reading his book. He ties in stories and examples effortlessly with a conversational tone, letting the reader know that it's safe to go on. His views on marriage are at the same time agreeable and challenging to anyone reared on biblical values. It's all been said before in other marriage books, but perhaps not in such a sober way. Zacharias's passion is to show people that marriage is a serious business. He doesn't pull any punches in this regard; everyone takes responsibility, from pastors to parents to society. In particular, Zacharias does not go easy on men, saying: "There is little doubt that men have led the way in the dereliction of duty to the family" (p. 145).

But his confidence as a speaker works against him to a large degree. He makes the assumption that people will want to listen to him. He takes his time how life ought to be--rather than presenting them as they are. Therefore, people who are looking for answers to their problems in a clear, straightforward way may decide to look elsewhere.

This is not a self-help book. Instead it reads more like a 156-page sermon and, like a sermon, tends to go off topic quite easily. The chapter titles are clever and informative, but the material in between doesn't always fit; it's not at all unusual to finish a chapter and wonder what it was about. The problem is that Isaac and Rebekah's story was intended to be a framework for how the book is structured. Unfortunately, it is used as a springboard instead, launching off into lengthy discussions only loosely tied into the subject of marriage.

While there is no doubt that parenting, church life, and personal devotions all relate to marriage, Zacharias could have done a better job of tightly joining them into the main idea. As it is, they fit more like oversized pants, requiring the reader to do the work of holding up the point: marriage God's way.

Another part of the problem is that Zacharias doesn't seem to know to what audience he's writing. Is it to those who are single and thinking of marriage? Or is it to those who are already married? Or is it to parents or pastors? A specific focus would have been beneficial. The fact is, the story of Isaac and Rebekah would make a much better Prayer of Jabez-size book: repackage it as many times as you want for different audiences.

I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah has some rich insights, but they must be gleaned with patience and a meditative approach in order to benefit from them. -- Charlie Gormely, Christian Book Previews.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, November 23, 2004
I think Zacharias did a great job with this book in highlighting important, practical steps in finding a spouse. I appreciated the stress he placed on the parents' role in the process and the importance of their involvement through it all. However, i wished he more fully disclosed his parents' thoughts and ideas through the course of his wedding after only sharing their initial objection with his marriage. Parental blessing is in an important aspect to him and i was curious as to the turn of events that produced their blessing (if at all).

Nonetheless, this is an insightful book and is a good reference in counsel for marriage and marriage-preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Easy Read, August 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving from Romance to Lasting Love (Paperback)
This was a good book - period - the reason for a 4 instead of a 5 star is due to the fact, I don't think most pre-marrieds will like it due to its black and what suggestions that most pre-marrieds have no desire to hear. I my self have been married for 7 years and still loved the book. It has some great principles for the perspective of a father and a husband, and if you are looking for a short easy read that is great - this is your book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I will say that I bought this book thinking it was about lasting love a book perhaps suitable for people that have been married a while, however, it seems more geared toward people that are dating and have been dating a while. That being said I think that this book is a must read for young people embarking on the time of their life when they are looking for "the one".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for Marriage issues., March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thoughtful, insightful, and well written. As a Christian, I found it very helpful, and will pass it on to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for husbands., July 15, 2014
This review is from: I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving from Romance to Lasting Love (Paperback)
If you're looking on how to take a good marriage to the next level of total love and dedication, this is it. Mr. Zacharias also has other good nuggets in it. That said, it's for the married couple who enjoy a good relationship. Particularly for the husband.

I particularly like how he tells of his cultures arranging marriages - and then having happy marriages. It further reinforces my opinion that soul mates and falling in love are not the key to having a successful relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving from Romance to Lasting Love
I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah: Moving from Romance to Lasting Love by Ravi Zacharias (Paperback - April 5, 2005)
$14.99 $12.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.