Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Isis Paperback – Large Print, June 13, 2012


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Large Print
"Please retry"
$12.00
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 124 pages
  • Publisher: ReadHowYouWant; Lrg edition (June 13, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1458762114
  • ISBN-13: 978-1458762115
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 10 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.5 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,993,973 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Clegg (The Abandoned) expands the burgeoning backstory of his multivolume Harrow haunted house saga with this poignant chamber tragedy involving young Iris Catherine Villiers (who, as an adult, will become Isis Claviger, oracle of the spook-ridden Hudson Valley academy). One of four children growing up on her family's Cornwall estate, Iris conveniently stumbles upon books of occult lore in her grandfather's library shortly before beloved brother Harvey dies while saving her life. Grief-stricken and guilt-ridden, Iris invokes a resurrection ritual, and the devastating results show how the worst horrors can grow out of misdirected love. This potent novella, one of Clegg's best, is both a stand-alone triumph and a powerful new chapter in his evolving series. (Nov..)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

Christine Feehan, New York Times bestselling author of Murder Game
“Douglas Clegg’s Isis is a haunting beauty of a tale as chilling and dark as the shadows on an October night.”

Dean Koontz, New York Times bestselling author of Forever Odd
“Clegg’s stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby.”

Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Black House
“Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction.”

Library Journal
“Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem.”

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

I invite you to subscribe to my free newsletter at: http://DouglasClegg.com/newsletter
When you subscribe, you'll get updates and extras.

Current Bio:

Douglas Clegg is the award-winning author of Neverland, The Priest of Blood, The Children's Hour, among many other novels and collections. He lives with his husband of more than 25 years in a house called Villa Diodati. Included in and around that household is a menagerie of animals, including cat, dog, rabbit and possibly more than 40 goldfish. He has written many books and more short stories. Recently, he wrote a new introduction for Mary Shelley's Frankenstein for the Signet Classics edition and released the novella, Dinner with the Cannibal Sisters as well as the ebook mega-collection, Lights Out.

Customer Reviews

I'm sure that just like me you'll read it in one sitting.
diosacarinosa
It is beautifully written and full of the irony that good horror always has.
Sheila Clover
If you are looking for a quick horror read, I highly recommend this one.
Robert "Dimndbangr" Hicks

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By diosacarinosa on October 1, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I was really excited when I found out that Douglas Clegg was writing a book about Isis. I wanted to know more about her character. This book is incredible. The illustrations are haunting and beautiful. The story itself is fascinating and sends just the right amount of chills up your spine. I'm very interested in world mythology, so I really liked seeing the Egyptian myth about Isis and Osiris worked into the storyline. Douglas certainly knows how to describe everything so you feel as if you are there inside the story. I'm sure that just like me you'll read it in one sitting. This is definitely a great book to read to older children by the campfire or even make it a tradition to read together every Halloween. Pick up a copy, you won't be disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Janet Boyer HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on October 12, 2009
Format: Hardcover
"There had been a legend, once, of a Maiden of Sorrow, who had traveled deep in the earth to the Isle of Apples to find her lover who had died a terrible death in a distant battle. When she had returned, she brought him with her and held his hand as they emerged from the winding caves into the sunlight. But when others saw the couple, they cried out in terror--for her lover's eyes were black as pitch, and he had no mouth upon his face, just a seal of flesh as if he had not formed completely upon his journey back to the land of the living. The villagers knew he was not meant to be among them, yet the Maiden would not allow him to return to the earth." - From Isis

I can't remember the last time I read such a truly spooky book, in the classic sense of the word. Maybe Stephen King, circa the 80's (when he was stoned and wrote great horror)?

When I first held this slim volume by Douglas Clegg, only 111 pages, I honestly wondered, "Can someone really tell a good scary story in such a short time?" Since I knew I'd finish Isis within an hour or two, I figured I'd pass a Saturday morning with this illustrated hardcover book.

Let me start off by saying that I have never read anything from Douglas Clegg before; in fact, I had never heard of him before I picked up Isis. So I had no expectations, really. Just curiosity at what an author can do in 111 pages.

After finishing Isis...wow. It's hard to put in words how the tone of this book sucked me in and below its undertow of dread. I truly felt "haunted" while reading it, and even afterward.

Isis is how great horror should read (in my opinion).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Cheryl Koch VINE VOICE on October 8, 2009
Format: Hardcover
The Villier family's homestead is situated right near a burial ground. There is an old legend regarding The Tombs or as it is also known as the "Isle of Apples". A maiden who had lost her lover, traveled down to the tombs. She returned with her lover in tow and refusing to let him return to the underworld.

Iris Catherine Villiers is the younger sister to twin brothers, Harvey and Spence. Though, Harvey and Spence could not be more different from each other than night and day. Harvey is the sweet one and Spence is the evil one. Iris and Harvey get along with each other. They are very close.

One day a tragic accident befalls Harvey and Iris, leaving Harvey dead and Iris gaining the ability to communicate with the dead. Iris longs to bring Harvey back from the dead but is she willing to pay the price?

While the story had some paranormal elements to it, I was hoping for more. I found the characters were interesting. This is a quick read, which I actually wished had lasted a bit longer. The illustrations in this book are detailed and wonderful. I would have liked to seen Iris use her new learned ability more. It was like she had it, used it and that was it. Overall, a pretty good book.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By CoffeeGurl HALL OF FAME on September 23, 2009
Format: Hardcover
Iris Catherine Villiers is part of an unhappy home. Her father is somewhere at war, her mother is depressed and keeps to herself, her grandfather (known as the Gray Minister) shouts ominous Biblical passages from inside his room, and her governess hates her. Harvey, one of twin brothers, is the only person who cares about her. Their closeness is wonderful, and they often call themselves ISIS and Osiris, after the legend. They go on adventures together at Belerion Hall, their Cornish estate, and that is where they learn some creepy things about the Tombs from their gardener. Old Marsh's warnings go unheard when tragedy occurs one day. In her torment, Iris discovers that she can summon the dead. But as Old Marsh says, there is a big price to pay. Eternal damnation might be in the cards for Isis and Osiris.

ISIS (which I think it's set in Victorian times) has the subtitle of "A Tale of the Supernatural," but that is an understatement. It is in fact quite a spooky gothic story, and it deals with the consequences that come from good intentions -- or rather, from selfishness. It begins with an ominous tone, and it ends with sheer horror. There is symbolism and foreshadowing. Douglas Clegg sure knows how to write a don't-turn-off-the-lights/don't-read-before-bedtime type of story. My one complaint is that this is very short. At 113 pages, it is a novella and nothing more. Still, it is definitely worth reading. I think I will try Clegg's other efforts after reading this gem. Highly recommended, a perfect read-under-the-sheets book for the harvest/Halloween season.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews