Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read this book three times and still return to it often
Of the many dozens of books that I have read on world religions, this one best expresses the beauty and sanity of the perennial philosophy. As a British diplomat who converted to Islam, Mr. Eaton is unique in his ability to convey some of the more complicated aspects of Islam in a comprehensive and palatable manner to the Western reader. The beauty of his prose is...
Published on August 23, 1998 by limabean@cfw.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A truly refreshing book on Islam with slight impudence thrown in
I was truly enjoying this book till I came to the passages where author casually referred to the mother of believers Khadija, may Allah be please with her in a somewhat inapproprate way.

Aside from a few instances of such impertinence on the author's part, this is a truly refreshing read on Islam from a Western Muslim's point of view. Loaded with compelling...
Published 14 months ago by Al-Maghrib


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read this book three times and still return to it often, August 23, 1998
By 
limabean@cfw.com (Waynesboro, Virginia (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
Of the many dozens of books that I have read on world religions, this one best expresses the beauty and sanity of the perennial philosophy. As a British diplomat who converted to Islam, Mr. Eaton is unique in his ability to convey some of the more complicated aspects of Islam in a comprehensive and palatable manner to the Western reader. The beauty of his prose is memorable, as evidenced by my copious underlining that adorns almost every page in the book. I often sensed that I was reading the thoughts of a visionary who happened to be a scholar. No matter what your faith (I am a Roman Catholic), or lack thereof, this book will move you and challenge you to view the religious dimension of man in a more profound manner. I simply can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can someone against religion become Muslim?, October 12, 2001
By 
Suzanne (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know the true Islam. Charles le Gai Eaton has written an excellent guide to Islam that will leave the intellectual reader full of thought-provoking questions about their spirituality, their concept of God, and the meaning of life. I was a church-going Christian when I read this book, quite uninterested in changing my religion, and certainly never to become the unthinkable: a Muslim. When I first read this 5 years ago, I heard that thousands of people had embraced Islam after reading his book. The author's depth of conviction and his miraculous change of heart from anti-religion and serious student of philosophy, to becoming Muslim, is beyond what most Americans/Europeans would expect. I praise God that I found this book to help lead me to true freedom, the path of Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, Thought Provoking, Challenging, September 15, 2000
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
Gai Eaton takes the reader on his own spiritual journey. From an atheist through the Eastern religions, through Christianity, we as the reader see why Islam is the only logical conclusion, and completion of all the Abrahamic faiths (Judaism, Christianity). Although his objective is for western minds to understand the fastest growing religion, in this day when there are millions of Muslims in the west, I highly recommend it to those raised Muslim,and converts alike.It is such a complete understanding of Islam from the basics to the whole existance of man.Anyone searching for true meaning in their life, and for anyone who has EVER asked WHY AM I HERE?, read this book, carefully, and with an open heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MONUMENTAL!!, June 15, 2003
By 
Mr Tea-Mole (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
This is a truly majestic book and is, without doubt, one of the most powerful works available on Islam in the English language. Intended primarily for the non-Muslim, or specifically for Westerners with little or no prior knowledge of Islam, I would say that this book is equally accessible and helpful to those who are either practising believers or who have a good working knowledge of the Faith, in the way it goes so far beyond ordinary introductory texts in dealing with and answering the vital questions of human existence. A comprehensive coverage of specifically the Islamic ethos is included, with regards to formation, beliefs, sources, history and crystallization, yet this representation always remains couched in an acute understanding of other major religious forces and (contemporary) intellectual contexts. This work is scholarly and encyclopaedic in content and scope, yet is saved from becoming abstruse or inaccessible by the author's pronounced gift of articulation, where with an almost effortless ease complex issues and matters are expressed in beautiful and poetical style. In fact, certain passages of this book are simply spellbinding, and there is a definite spiritual dimension to the text where the reader can tangibly feel the calm serenity of the author being transmitted through the words. I really cannot recommend this book enough; for those interested in furthering their knowledge of specifically Islam and the Muslim faith it is an excellent place to start or continue your research, for those who have any type of interest in religion in general or who are simply concerned with the deeper questions of life, meaning, purpose and existence then reading this book will prove to be an intriguing experience and for those who are simply looking for an interesting read then I am sure that this book will not disappoint you. Unreservedly, I recommend this book to as many people as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, December 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
This is one of the best books on Islam. Written in an elegant style, the book gives many original insights on the basics of Islam. Very useful even for islamic scholars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Charles, September 2, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
Charles inspired me to pray again, alhamdulAllah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submission to One God.., December 27, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
This book is a must read for those interested in finding out what is the fundamental difference between Islam and other monotheistic religions. His mastery over the language brings out some of the subtle elements of Islam with delightful clarity. Some portions of this book are a gem and have to be read again and again.
Eaton explains why submission to one Authority is the only solution to the problems of the mankind. Eaton explains the complex relationship between truth and mercy in a clear and unique way. This book is a must read for both muslims and non-muslims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in faith and expression, August 5, 2003
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
I have little to add to the other reviews lauding the brilliance with which this book is written, the excellence of its philosophy, and the sympathetic exegesis of Islam: indeed all of the Abrahamic religions. The one sour review you will read says it all about the excellence of this work.
I am a born-again, Bible believing Christian. It is a pleasure to read such a surrender to the wisdom of God, the Author of history, even if the true nature of Christ isn't, sadly, acknowledged.
I discovered this book entirely by accident, and cannot understand why it is not vastly better known. Do not let this gem of a book escape your careful attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small in size yet heavy in content, January 31, 2002
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
Very articulate and eloquent. A delight to read for the intellectual.Small in size yet heavy in content. In his book, Charle Le Gai Eaton describes what it is to be a muslim, a far cry from what is portrayed in the media. I would read it again for one cannot grasp all that it has from the first time. What moved me most was his chapter "The Human Paradox". Read it, then you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the intellectual seeking deep explanation, July 21, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for the intellectual seeking to understand the intricacies and the subtleties of the Islamic faith. The man is a master of language and his expose of Islamic principles is one of the best in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d342444)

This product

Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam)
Islam and the Destiny of Man (Suny Series, Islam) by Gai Eaton (Paperback - September 30, 1985)
$31.95 $20.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.