Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 18, 2001
Robert Morey should be applauded for having the nerve to tell the truth about the cult of the Moon God (Islam) and its roots. Westerners would be well advised to read this demistifying of the Islamic creed rather than assume that because it comes from somewhere else then it is somehow more magical.
As usual the other reviews of this text say "oh but the Christian bible says this" and then attempt to offer evidence from the Old Testament. There are two points that need to be made here. Firstly Dr Morey makes it clear on several occasions that he is attempting to review the self-contradiction of the Quran (not the Bible!) and offers countless other sources of supporting information many from Muslim scholars. Secondly, that the term "Christian Bible" is used so often by other reviewers when quoting the Old Testament shows a fundamental lack of understanding of the topic. Any review of the Christian faith requires the New Testament and the teachings of Jesus (the Christ - hence the name) to be complete. Christianity does not claim the works of the Old Testament as exclusively it's own as they are shared with the Jewish faith. Consequently those who may think they are "having a go" at Christianity are more properly attacking Judaism.
For those interested in learning the truth about Islam this is an invaluable starting text and a highly readable book. I would recommend that those reviewers who seem to want to defend Islam stick to trying to defend it. Attacking other religions does not lessen the validity of the evidence presented.
11 comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2001
I found Robert Morey's book very enlightening...because of my husband's job in the oil business, we lived for 10 years in all in various Arab countries, all of them being dictatorships. The average Muslim is not at all aware of many of the things that Robert Morey wrote in his book...that Allah was the name of the Moon God, that Mohammed's first wife's uncle was a Christian of sorts, that he had been protected by the Jews, that many of the rites at Mecca today come down from the days when the Arabs worshipped idols. To cut a long review short, after reading this book which I found a bit annoying at times with references to the Arab scholars whom he spoke to, I must admit that I am only strengthened in my faith, that Christianity is the one and only religion for me. The Muslims have been looking for legitimacy and have managed by some sort of hocus pocus to tie in Adam and Abraham to Mecca. Mohammed most likely had a mystical experience but definitely "stole" facts from our Scriptures to make up his own Quran. Jesus never went to war to oblige anyone to follow him, there can never be any comparison between Mohammed and Jesus, none whatsoever. Now with the events at WTC, more people should read Morey's book !
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2001
I began my study of Islam well before the September 11th attacks on America, because I felt that Christians (as a whole) had too long, misunderstood (even ignored) the nearly one billion Muslims that live upon the earth today. Having read numerous texts on the subject (including extensive portions of the Quran, and other modern Islamic literature), I have found the details contained within Robert Morey's book to be not only insightful, but accurate AND BALANCED. He compares past and present writings, and teachings of Islam, against those contained within the very text of the Quran and Hadith themselves. And as a result, he forwards questions concerning the true intent (purpose, focus) of the author (and the designers) of the Islamic faith - Muhammad (and the caliphs that succeeded him). Now, this very statement may be considered by some Muslims to be 'blasphemous'. But, my intent is neither insult nor degradation. It is simply a response to some all too obvious facts.
With all the attention that is currently being focused upon Islam, many Muslims are feeling quite literally, 'under the microscope'. And this may be true. But, as Muslim scholars have purported (in perhaps, less 'focused' times), the truth will reveal itself. Therefore, I invite Muslim adherants -- let's look for the truth, together!
I can quite truthfully say, this book is NOT vindictive. Neither is it hateful nor 'bigoted'. Its challenges have been raised from within the text of the Quran and Hadith themselves.
I for one, want to know the truth about Islam. And, from what I have read, Robert Morey has raised some very serious questions concerning the teachings and underlying thrust of Islam. Questions that all Muslims need to examine honestly for themselves.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2001
This book truly unpacks the MAJOR flaws in Islamic faith. I would suspect that any TRUE Open-Hearted truth-seeking Muslim would give serious second thought to their faith, once they get through the first 50 pages. The references are a mix of Western and Middle Eastern, ... but believe it or not, the most devastating evidence in this book comes from well known and respected Middle-Eastern Muslim scholars.
The author presents an accurate account of Islam (Middle-Eastern) vs. the "Black Muslims" or Nation of Islam (Farrakhan's cult) and how the true Muslims regard the Black race as damned. (If I were black, I'd think twice about saying I'm a Muslim, Malcolm X was very noble in this regard and should never be forgotten!)
I gave the book a 4 out of 5 because I would have preferred a more gentle demeanor (for Muslim readers). Nobody likes the truth rammed down their throat and I think there is a bit of harshness in the tone of the writer.
33 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2001
I read Robert Morey's book in 1996 and learned much about the religion of Islam. In light of the September 11 attacks I decided to purchase several copies, hand them out to several people and reread the book. I often encounter those who try to refute what Morey says in this book, but I have not found anybody who could sucessfully do it! I read reviews that resort to ad hominum attacks such as, "This author does not know what he is talking about!" and then the critic does not ellaborate and why Dr. Morey is wrong! And others (Shabir Ally, Badawi, et. al.) have written responses to Dr. Bob as well but TAKE DR. BOB OUT OF CONTEXT, then proceed to attack what Dr. Morey alledgedly "said," when in fact Dr. Morey never said what they are making him say! This is known as a "straw man argument," which is simply putting words into Dr. Morey's mouth he NEVER said. An example is when Badawi and Ally say, "Muslims don't worship the moon god--in fact, "Allah" appears in the Christian Bible!" This statement simply has NOTHING do do with anything Dr. Morey says. Dr. Bob is making the point that Allah was the moon god in pre-islamic Arabia and current Muslims do not CONSCIOUSLY know that Allah was the moon god--and the reason this word (Allah) is used in the Christian Bible is because the word "Allah" has evolved to mean "the one God." So, until I see an honest refutation of this book, one that does not attack Dr. Morey personally by resorting to cheap name calling tactics; or one that does not twist Dr. Morey's words to mean something that Morey NEVER intended his words to mean, I am forced to say this a GREAT book for people who are interested in what makes Islam tick and what the beliefs of this religion are and, escpecially, WHERE THESE BELIEFS CAME FROM. To read Dr. Morey's respons to his critics, you can go to his web site at ... and/or listen to his radio broadcast Sunday evenings. Check his site for local listings.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2001
This book is built upon historical evidence and multiple references to the Quran and the Hadith. In other words, it isn't a book built on "Christian Hearsay." The book makes a frontal assault upon Islam and succeeds mightily. The author quotes from the Quran and the Hadith to demonstrate that Islam is built upon mistakes, errors, and complete untruths. I have taken a World Religions course on Islam, taught by an Oxford professor, and found the "The Islamic Invasion" to be refreshingly accurate in its historical content and quotes of the Quran and Hadith. If anybody is considering Islam, then I would suggest that they first read this book. After reviewing this book, a person would have to rely solely on blind faith to follow Islam, as the facts and evidence don't support the claims of Islam.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2002
Dr. Morey is a brave man to expose the Muslims like he did in this incredible book. The best thing is that he didn't use his opinion, he used actual excerpts from the Quran. If the Muslims believe that his book is not true, and the Muslims' position is that Islam is a religion on peace then why do they threaten to kill him everywhere he goes? In every negative review about this book there have been nothing but personal attacks on Dr. Morey's character and education. However he holds two doctorates including one in ISLAMIC STUDIES and has authored over 40 books. Keep up the good work Dr. Morey and God bless you for your strength and courage defending the TRUTH.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2001
A thorough, easy to read book that does a superb job representing fundamental Islam to the American culture. In light of the recent terrorist attacks, this book (which was written in the early 1990s) is almost prophetic. If you wish to understand the mind of an Islamic terrorist--this is the book you need.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2002
The book documents the growing threat of Islam to the United States of America and to the world. It is a book that everyone should read if they want to know what Islam is all about. I had Arab friends(former Muslims)read the book and they agreed that the book was accurate on its information.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
As my title suggests this is a pretty decent overview of Islam. It is not an in depth look at all facets of the Islamic faith, but it is its a good dissection of the faith's core values.
While Muslim apologists are sprouting all over the 'net, it's good to have some balance to their rhetoric. The Qur'an and Hadith, despite what they will have you believe, are filled with violence, hatred, racism, misogynistic rants and blatant contradictions. Understanding what the Qur'an and Hadith is all about can help you not only understand what's going on in the Middle East, but your Muslim neighbors.
I took away a few stars because the author would continually cite personal conversations with various Muslims. I don't believe this is credible enough evidence. After all, how many times have various kooks claimed to be Christian and their words taken as being orthodox thought?
Lastly, I would say this book is a good addition to an Christian's library. I would also suggest getting a copy of the Qur'an and Hadith if you do a lot of witnessing to Muslims. If the Christian is interested only affirming that Islam is a false faith, you don't need this book. Just the fact that it denies the deity of Christ, the Trinity, the authority of the Bible and salvation through Grace is plenty of evidence of that.
God bless.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse