Island of the Sequined Love Nun and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.40
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE SUPER SAVER SHIPPING!! Amazon customer service AND delivery tracking! This book is in good condition!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Island of the Sequined Love Nun Paperback – July 1, 2000


See all 19 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 1, 2000
$3.97 $0.01 $6.89
Audio CD
"Please retry"
$65.60

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 70%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Avon Books (P) (July 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0380816547
  • ISBN-13: 978-0380816545
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (223 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,089,993 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Pilot Tucker Case has a weakness--well, Tuck really has two--and the combination of drinking and sex in the cockpit of the pink Mary Jean Cosmetics Learjet puts him on the front page of papers all over the planet. But he finds another job with a mysterious employer--someone with a brand-new Lear 45-- who's willing to pay Tuck generously and ask no questions about his record. The jet and job are on Alualu, a speck in the Pacific Ocean, and Tucker has nowhere else to go. But first he has to get to Alualu, and once there, he faces a hurricane, Shark People, atypical missionaries, and boredom ... and the responsibilities assigned to him by Capt. Vincent Bennidetti, U.S. Air Force, deceased bomber pilot and present-day deity of the Shark People. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

Here's a recipe for one very funny book: Take Tucker Case, a disgraced airline pilot whose unseemly in-flight behavior has destroyed his career (along with a pink Lear jet) and damaged what's politely called his manhood. Add Kimi, a Filipino transvestite navigator, and a talking fruit bat named Roberto and send the three off in a typhoon to an island in Micronesia (its inhabitants only a generation away from cannibalism) where dastardly deeds are being done by a greedy medical missionary and his beautiful but amoral wife. Toss in a dead World War II aviator who plays cards in heaven with a Jewish carpenter. Stir well. Read fast. Fans of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams will especially enjoy Moore's (Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story, LJ 8/95) peculiar take on the world. Recommended for general fiction collections.?Nancy Pearl, Washington Ctr. for the Book, Seattle
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Christopher Moore is the author of eleven previous novels: Practical Demonkeeping, Coyote Blue, Bloodsucking Fiends, Island of the Sequined Love Nun, The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove, Lamb, Fluke, The Stupidest Angel, A Dirty Job, You Suck, and Fool. He lives in San Francisco.

Customer Reviews

Christopher Moore is a seriously demented writer!
Frank J. Konopka
The best parts of the story are those that feature one or a few of the characters doing things that are only minimally related to the actual plot of the book.
Vanessa E. Lee
I would HIGHLY recommend it as a summer/ beach read, and I can't wait to read more of Moore!
Erin Gentry

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful By RMurray847 TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on January 13, 2004
Format: Paperback
Christopher Moore is simply one of the most inventive and funny writers around. He doesn't take his books "seriously" a la the very funny Kurt Vonnegut. They are feel good novels, and they are WACKY!!! ISLAND OF THE SEQUINED LOVE NUN is one of his better ones, because the main characters are particularly loveably painted for us. Tucker Case, our main character, is a ne'er do well pilot for a Mary Kay kinda corporation, who ruins his career when he takes a girl on the company jet and causes a serious accident. He gets a chance to elude prosecution when he's hired by a mysterious missionary organization to fly their jet from an obscure Micronesian Island to Japan for "medical supplies" for the natives.
I'd really rather not try to summarize more of the plot, because virtually every chapter introduced a new twist or engaging character, and there are A LOT of chapters. The book flies by as Case and his supporting cast go from one dilemna to another.
And as often happens in Moore's books, there are relationships of either love or friendship that develop unexpectedly during the story, and suddenly, we find ourselves not only laughing outloud at the silly antics and outrageous plot turns, but we are caring about the main characters. This is rare in writing that is so flip and over-the-top.
Moore's books are fast-moving and you're sorry when they are over. LOVE NUN is particularly winning, and if you haven't tried Moore before, this is a good place to dive in. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED (not for kids...lots of language and some naughty goings-on.)
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 15, 1997
Format: Hardcover
Christopher Moore is emerging as one of the most original writers of the decade....easily! In "LOve Nun" he has managed to blend suspense and intrigue in an action-packed story that keeps you doubled over with laughter. Unlikely combination? I'll say, but to read it is to believe it. Moore is a writer whose sharp wit pierces the armor of reason, respectability, and righteousness with constant mirth and good spirits. I can't recommend the book highly enough. I've already given away a dozen "must read" copies to friends.

If you haven't read any of Moore's books, fill your shopping cart right now with "Practical Demonkeeping", Coyote Blue, "Bloodsucking Fiends"
and "Island of the Sequined Love Nun." You are in for a treat.
Call in sick tomorrow and read, read, read and shout with laughter.
No, I'm not Moore's father, brother or even brother-in-law. Never met the guy and might even be afraid to go near somebody so goofy, but I can't put his books down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
30 of 34 people found the following review helpful By D. Mikels on October 5, 2006
Format: Paperback
Okay. I like humor. Some people tell me, based on my looks, it's darn good I like humor, 'cause I sure need a sense of it. I like funny movies, funny stories, dirty jokes; what I don't see a whole lot of, are funny books. I mean, laugh-out-loud funny books.

ISLAND OF THE SEQUINED LOVE NUN is a witty exception. I had read Christopher Moore before ("Coyote Blue"), and while I enjoyed his work, his humor was just a tad too quirky (and for me, that's saying something). But with this book, I had a good time from the moment I started reading, right up until I finished the last page. Moore has a great gift of getting inside the heads of his characters, making them react to stuff they don't want to react to, and putting them in situations they don't want to be in. . .and he pulls it off with supreme comedic flair. I won't go into the plot (there are already hundreds of reviews here doing that), but suffice it to say Tucker Case is one likeable, funny bad boy. His adventures (or, more accurately, misadventures) make for a delightful read--a read augmented by the supernatural (a Moore staple), good and evil, and some compelling moments.

But I'm thinking too much (and once again, for me that's saying something); ISLAND OF THE SEQUINED LOVE NUN is a darn funny book. Not only that, it's a good book, a very good book, brilliantly written. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more of this author's work.

--D. Mikels, Author, WALK-0N
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By mellion108 VINE VOICE on May 7, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Christopher Moore has to be one of the most brilliantly bizarre people on the planet. Either he was dropped on his head as a small child or he was touched by the literary gods (I'm betting both). Moore does it once again in ISLAND. He presents quirky characters, a zany plot and absolutely hilarious dialogue. I couldn't put this book down! I carried it with me everywhere until I finished it, and I often was the object of curious stares as I guffawed my way through the reading in public places.

Moore has a knack for creating the bizarre. Tucker Case, hero of ISLAND, finds himself in a "sticky" situation (you'll understand the pun once you read the novel) one evening while "entertaining" a young lady in the cockpit of his plane. From there on, the novel is nonstop hilarity as Case first runs away from the law and then has to run for his life. He finds himself on an island with natives fascinated by Americana, bored druggie pseudo-missionaries out to exploit the island, and a transvestite with a sunglass-wearing bat as a pet. Case just wants to save his hide but finds himself as the hero time and again.

It's difficult to place Moore into any particular genre. Part fantasy, part comedy, part sci fi, part horror, part drama....If you read nothing else this year, pick up any of Moore's novels. All of them are well worth your time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa0116714)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?