Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling and important story
A magnificent work. Mills, America's preeminent genealogist, has evolved into a passionate and successful writer of historical fiction. The Isle of Canes deals with the little told story of the Creoles of Louisiana. Mills shares the story of a family, the Metoyers, people of color, as successive generations live and prosper in the unique environment of Spanish and...
Published on December 25, 2004 by Richard G. Sayre

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read!
the author did a great job telling the story of 4 generations of a family from slavery to owning the place in Louisiana. my favorite characters were Francois, Fanny, and Coincoin. some parts were hard to read because the author gave so much detail, I had to read several times to get a full understanding. the character detail held my attention the entire time.
Published 1 month ago by MM Read


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling and important story, December 25, 2004
By 
Richard G. Sayre (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
A magnificent work. Mills, America's preeminent genealogist, has evolved into a passionate and successful writer of historical fiction. The Isle of Canes deals with the little told story of the Creoles of Louisiana. Mills shares the story of a family, the Metoyers, people of color, as successive generations live and prosper in the unique environment of Spanish and French Louisiana. We see and feel the changes in their lives as the impact of the Civil War comes to the Isle. The story richly weaves the tensions of slavery, multiracial families, and economic upheaval in the antebellum South. This novel is of enduring importance, and will come to be part of the classic literature describing Southern history. If you enjoy a compelling, and entertaining story, based on real families and events, and if you like to be more than entertained i.e. learn something about our history, you will thoroughly enjoy this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Held me spellbound......, August 9, 2004
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
Isle of Canes has been called a cross between Gone with the Wind and

Roots. It's a grand epic to rival both, but it goes far beyond GWTW's

moonlight-and-magnolia image of the South and it explores complexities of

slave life that Roots' ignored. The sexual tension of Isle is more akin to

Monticello's Thomas and Sally than to Tara's Scarlett and Rhett, and the

masters who occupy the "big house" were once slaves themselves. Mills

explores raw and painful sides of America's past, but she has done it with

a grace and style and rhythm and emotion that held me spellbound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Reading!, November 9, 2004
By 
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book to those who have any interest in genealogy, history or just enjoy reading the saga of a family. Excellent reading. Very enjoyable. Difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culture, Race, and Sex, July 28, 2004
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
Behind its idyllic façade, Isle of Canes is a frank and gripping look at issues America has preferred not to deal with-particularly the world of slaveownership by those who once were slaves themselves, its motivation (some would say, necessity), and the conflicts of conscience that lifestyle created. A major underlying theme is the world of sexual servitude, which Isle explores in multiple ways, some of which turn stereotypes on its head. Both issues are presented on a stage history has ignored: the cultural conflict of Creole (French and Spanish Catholic) America versus Anglo-Protestant America in the colonial and antebellum South. Mills brilliantly shows the consequences of the white Creole vs. Anglo conflict upon America's racial history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Roots", June 1, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
America's leading genealogist is a master of the historical novel, too. This powerfully moving account of many generations of a Southern family is a true story of real people. It unfolds with all the drama necessary for a Hollywood script, yet it's based on fact. Just as Thomas Jefferson, author of our most powerful document of freedom, owned African slaves and had a child with his Sally, Coincoin demonstrates to readers that former slaves sometimes went on to own slaves of their own. "Canes" has all the compelling detail found in books like "Roots," and "Gone With The Wind," yet never compromises its accuracy. A tremendous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating journey through Louisiana history, June 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
"Isle of Canes" captured my interest from the start. The story weaves its way through four generations and tells the tale of a proud heritage. I cried through much of the book, but it is well worth the tears. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone With The Wind for Creoles, October 18, 2008
By 
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
This is a very well written and researched book. The story flowed from one generation to the next and I did not want it to end. If southern historical novels are your forte, I think you will be more than satisfied! It will join my list of books to reread!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, February 8, 2009
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
"Isle of Canes" is a brilliantly told story of multiple generations of a multi-racial Louisiana family. I've just finished a second reading of the book and it held me again as few other books ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isle Of Canes, January 30, 2011
By 
Derrick Mercer (WYANDANCH, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
I loved it.I have have always been fascinated by the gens de coluer libre and the Louisiana creole language. The book was awesome, the amount of historical documents: ie slave manumissions, etc is an accomplishment within itself. The strength of Coincoin, that was then transferred to Augustin which enabled him to build the Isle into a force that was respected by all cannot be underrated. I recommend the book to all interested in a not so Celebrated part of American, French and Spanish History in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Mrs. Mills!, February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Canes (Paperback)
This book was a great help in understanding Louisiana history and in understanding my own dear husband's roots from lower Natchitoches Parish. Thank you Mrs. Mills for your research and for producing such a literary masterpiece. I'll read this book over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Isle of Canes
Isle of Canes by Elizabeth Shown Mills (Paperback - September 1, 2006)
$27.95 $22.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.