Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Monroe /Kennedy
Cross between John le Carre'and Graeme Green this book is a new take on the Kennedy/Monroe mythe.I loved the plot,the tempo and the hero.New York has a Hardy like quality,the city becomes a character and I desperately want to go back to the late 50's and be a part of that culture.Go Winslow.
Published on September 6, 2007 by Mrs. Enid L. Breese

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, but
not compelling, nor inspiring. This book is completely different from Winslow's remaining work.

The story is not particularly interesting, nor involving, but, having said that, it still is a Don Winslow book, and, therefore, worthy of being read.

The portrayal of New York and of living there is very well achieved.

It is a much "calmer"...
Published on February 6, 2012 by Bordeaux Dogue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Monroe /Kennedy, September 6, 2007
Cross between John le Carre'and Graeme Green this book is a new take on the Kennedy/Monroe mythe.I loved the plot,the tempo and the hero.New York has a Hardy like quality,the city becomes a character and I desperately want to go back to the late 50's and be a part of that culture.Go Winslow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the normal Winslow, June 5, 2010
By 
K. Shoop "tkshoop" (roaring spring, pa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
If you are expecting another "The Death and Life of Bobby Z" or "The Winter Of Frankie the Machine", you will be sorely disappointed. If, however, you don't mind a rather slow-moving, character-driven novel that really doesn't kick in to high gear until page 208, this may be for you.

This is a wonderfully written novel, just not very action-packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, but, February 6, 2012
By 
Bordeaux Dogue (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
not compelling, nor inspiring. This book is completely different from Winslow's remaining work.

The story is not particularly interesting, nor involving, but, having said that, it still is a Don Winslow book, and, therefore, worthy of being read.

The portrayal of New York and of living there is very well achieved.

It is a much "calmer" book than the others by this Author.

At the end of the day ( like with many moovies ) it depends on the frame of mind you were in when you read it.

3.5 stars, for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Author got lost, December 30, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
Starts out very strong and falls way way off. The portrayal of Bobby Kennedy seemed real and was very interesting. Bobby was an enforcer for his drug addicted brother and the enforcer part shows in this boook. Jack's drug addiction is skipped but his sexual obsession gets front row. Jackie is treated tenderly and, Vidal aside, I like it that way. What I really found interesting is the scene with Rosenbloom fixing a Rams game while sitting with the common man. I have often wondered why Rosenbloom drowned on a Flordia beach... in two feet of water. This might be part of the story.
The book then stumbles off into a lot of secret service stuff that becomes boring and finally perposterous. I like Winslow as an author and have read all of his stuff, I wish I had stopped about 3/4 of the way ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winslow is Wow, September 22, 2011
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
Not an easy read like most of his other books, but ultimately more crafty and humorous if you allow yourself to be transported back in time. He is near the top of my favorite authors list for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don Winslow, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
The first book by Don Winslow after finishing the Neal Carey series. A good read, and a book that fills in my collection of all books authored by Don Winslow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Don Winslow, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
Yes, I enjoyed Isle of Joy. But the Don Winslow I grew to love became popular for writing different stuff than this, and I admit that I like his later writing better. Why he wanted to do a Kennedy roman a clef (accent somewhere) I don't know. But he did, it was okay, and he moved on, and I am glad for all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis (from the back cover), April 8, 2008
By 
Anne Kathleen "Mirror Star" (In front of my Mac, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isle of Joy (Paperback)
New York: Late 1958

Walter Withers had given the best years of his life to the CIA, setting honeytraps and reeling in the victims of his plots. but Withers has returned to his hometown for an easier, safer life as a Private investigator.

Manhattan in the late Fifties is alive with new possibilities, new sounds and new faces, including young presidential hopeful Senator Joe Keneally. Withers is assigned to bodyguard Keneally's girlfriend at a society gathering: a simple enough job. But next morning, she's dead - and Withers is the prime suspect.

To clear his name, Withers must take on his old masters from the CIA, as well as J Edgar Hoover's FBI, all of them determined to set Keneally up. And Withers, expert hunter, becomes another disposable victim of the trap closing in on the Senator...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Isle of Joy
Isle of Joy by Don Winslow (Paperback - February 1, 1996)
Used & New from: $3.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.