Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, great for all occasions.
I can't believe it's finally out!

After obsessively looking at six word memoirs online these editors have gleaned the best of the best. There's so much diversity in thought and storytelling in a hyper-limited platform.

Whenever I tell people about the book they usually say that they're really into the idea or they've already got one or gets them...
Published on January 27, 2010 by Lisa Qiu

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointment...
Although this one isn't quite as bad as the teen edition ("I Can't Keep My Own Secrets"), it's still pretty bad.
Fortunately, it's a quick read, and the design of the book is good.
A "memoir" is normally considered to be a remembrance that's communicated to others because it's interesting.
However, the contents of this volume is better...
Published 13 months ago by B. J. Ford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, great for all occasions., January 27, 2010
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
I can't believe it's finally out!

After obsessively looking at six word memoirs online these editors have gleaned the best of the best. There's so much diversity in thought and storytelling in a hyper-limited platform.

Whenever I tell people about the book they usually say that they're really into the idea or they've already got one or gets them religiously for friends in hospitals or are at a turning point in their life.

At first I thought the idea was a too precious, but there's so much depth and humor in these books--- I became addicted and started writing ones of my own.

I think this book is a must have for writers. It inspires and is a great exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Knew Six Words Could Be So Powerful!, May 20, 2010
By 
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
Legend has it, Ernest Hemingway was sitting in a bar (predictable!) when a fan of his approached him and commented on how well he can tell a story in only a few words. He then challenged Hemingway to tell a story in the fewest amount of words possible. Hemingway shot back with "For Sale: Baby shoes, never worn". Whether this story is true or just once of those great Hemingway myths, it is clear that a full story can be told in only 6 words. SMITH Magazine decided to use this as a premise for a project in which they asked their readers to write their autobiography/memoir in only 6 words. Only expecting a hundred or so responses, the editor of SMITH Magazine was astounding when hundreds of thousands of people wrote in. Among these entries were some famous people such as Stephen Colbert, Alison Bechdel, Yogi Berra's granddaughter and others. These responses were then published in four different books two of which are just overall collections of the 6 word memoirs, one directed towards teens, and one specifically on love and heartbreak.

The entries are almost all different and range from the funny to the poignant. I laughed out loud when I read "failed at love, won at scrabble" and was incredibly moved by a memoir about a woman who was raped and was unable to move on making her feel as if her life was useless. I smiled at the sentence "awkward girl takes chances. Fun ensures" and even wished that I had written it! Interspersed with text memoirs are graphic memoirs which brings an interesting aspect to the book.

I know that some have not given this book the best of reviews, but I would really encourage those people to re-read the book and think a little while on each entry because many have great depth. Personally, I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Poetic Form, January 12, 2010
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
What the authors of the Six-Word Movement have done is create a new poetic form. It's a universe, a story in six words, the briefest of prose poems. Their latest book incorporates all the whimsy and intelligence of their other books and I recommend It All Changed in an Instant--to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun and irreverent yet poignant, January 5, 2010
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
This is a fun, often irreverent, with many poignant entries in this entertaining succinct memoir collection. The selected contributors use six words to describe their "thoughts". With commentary like Edward Doerr's "Age twenty-tree, scored pallbearer's hat trick" or "Wife away, pizza today, diet tomorrow" by David Logan, the audience will empathize or laugh with some as for many of us they hit home. Others are sad like Noema Abbott's profound "Tiny son dying in my arms". Best read leisurely over several weeks, It All Changed in an Instant is entertaining yet deep as summed up by Lisa Anne Auburch's "Everything I touch turns to mold" and Brooke Marie Gorman's "Story of my life? bad timing" as compared with the ultimate optimist Phil Skversky when he says: "Alzheimer's meeting new people every day". Readers will appreciate the short and snappy deep collection that includes classic concise Yogi-isms while making up their own - even the shopping list, I critique.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it all changed in an instant...., February 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
although i am a contributing memoirist to this particular 'smith magazine' tome, and am totally addicted to submitting six worders and stories on-line to smith (when i have a working computer), this book is a meal for the mind! it is amazing what one can convey in the space of six little words. it is small enough to fit in a backpack, but don't let the small size fool you - it has a BIG heart! a great gift idea! just try to NOT write your own sixes once you finish with this latest volume! i am hooked on six words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 6-word hit!, March 24, 2010
By 
Lawral Wornek (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
Like the other six-word memoir books this book will keep you highly entertained for a few hours, if you go at it all at once, or for weeks if you have the self-control to spread out the fun. The list of celebrity contributors is much longer in this book than the first and includes Isabelle Allende, Tony Kushner, Alison Bechdel, Junot Diaz and other well-known authors. Bob Barker (My life story --- spay or neuter.), Neil Patrick Harris (Barney...Doogie...! Average names elude me.), and other mainstream stars' submissions also appear.*

"It all changed in an instant" boasts of more artwork than previous books in the series, and the back matter also includes longer stories that expound on or explain some of some of the six-word memoirs throughout the book. Once again, though, the real soul of this book is the stories from people you will never know.

Made weird children -- will die proud. (27)
Michael Stipe mumbled my formative years. (57)
Little me would've liked be me. (84)
And because there is always one that hits too close to home:
My cat is an ungrateful brat. (108)

Book source: review copy provided by publisher
*All page numbers and quotes taken from an advanced uncorrected proof and may not match the published copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic tool for writer's block, creativity coaching clients, and yoga & Reiki clients, January 25, 2010
By 
Ananda Leeke (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
I love this new book of six-word memoirs. They make me pause, laugh, think, and wonder how creative some folks truly are! I have been using six-word memoirs to break through writing blocks. I learned about them in 2008 and used them to complete my book, That Which Awakens Me - A Creative Woman's Poetic Memoir of Self-Discovery. They are an amazing tool that helps me focus and concentrate. I use six-word memoirs with my creativity coaching/social media clients and yoga students. They love them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READING THIS BOOK YOU LAUGH ALOT, February 6, 2010
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
All groups should have a copy of, IT ALL CHANGED IN AN INSTANT... Everyone I know who has seen this book thought it goes through all emotions. Lots of laughter. You will be surprised at all the Celebraties who are included. WARNING: You may start thinking in six-word memoir format! Which your friends will find funny. Great Valentine's Day gift for anyone .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Gamut, March 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
It seems impossible to capture a life in six words. The challenge Smith Magazine put out was to do that. Their book, "It All Changed in an Instant," is one of many books with six-word memoirs. There are funny ones, lists of oddities, ironies, and things to break your heart. All is six words. Give this to that person who tells you "no time to read."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little read, great little gift, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure (Paperback)
An entertaining, insightful, easy read -- GREAT book for a bathroom, guest room, or as a unique, affordable gift. Will be enjoyed by everyone, from literary lovers to tabloid junkies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It All Changed in an Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure
$12.00 $8.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.