Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well-written
I have read numerous art history books, and most suffer from being dry and too heavy on dates. This book is well-written with a style that flows from topic to topic. All the important information (yes, those dates!) a student will need is here, but the presentation puts it above the rest, making it an enjoyable book to read again and again. What I found especially...
Published on December 11, 2004 by aficianado

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Survey
Be advised that this is a dry, very shallow textbook. A reader is not going to gain any perspective from a book that allows 3 paragraphs to the Medici who were great patrons of the arts. It is one thing if you are required to buy this for a class. On the other hand, if you wish to learn about the Renaissance and Renaissance art, I would suggest beginning with...
Published on July 15, 2010 by ccondesa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well-written, December 11, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read numerous art history books, and most suffer from being dry and too heavy on dates. This book is well-written with a style that flows from topic to topic. All the important information (yes, those dates!) a student will need is here, but the presentation puts it above the rest, making it an enjoyable book to read again and again. What I found especially valuable is how Adams places the works within the political and social environment of the times. Knowing the history adds a lot to art history! She provides sidebars with anecdotes about the artists or significant events in the era that have influenced the work. Stylistic and technical information is also excellent. Photographic quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Renaissance Art, August 11, 2001
By A Customer
Italian Renaisance art by Laurie Schneider Adams is a wonderful introductory text on Renaisance art. It is very clearly written with a helpful glossary for those who are not familiar with art terms. It not only explains both style and iconography of the Renaisance period but gives a great backround of the culture of the period. The illustrations in the text are wonderfuly detailed and most are in color. This is a great text for intro. classes to Ren. art and people who wish to learn on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
Book came just when they said it would, was used with writing and highlighting, but still in good enough shape. Just what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great text, difficult subject, but was just what I needed, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
See above, book is very thorough. was perfect since I was studying in Italy over the summer. Gave the art more meaning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars okay, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
Not much high lighting which is good but the cover and pages are not in the best shape. but all pages are readable and all pages are there.

Shipping did not take too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described..., May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
The book was as exactly as the seller described, great condition and quick shipment of product.

Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Renaissance Art reviewed, October 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
as a college book it is a very good source of info i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
nice book, very easy to read and enjoyable. this is a text book for a class of mine and its very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 28, 2008
By 
art book lover (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
I had to buy this book for class, and I'm glad I did. Very comprehensive, great illustrations with interesting side notes. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Survey, July 15, 2010
This review is from: Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) (Paperback)
Be advised that this is a dry, very shallow textbook. A reader is not going to gain any perspective from a book that allows 3 paragraphs to the Medici who were great patrons of the arts. It is one thing if you are required to buy this for a class. On the other hand, if you wish to learn about the Renaissance and Renaissance art, I would suggest beginning with MagnificoMagnifico: The Brilliant Life and Violent Times of Lorenzo de' Medici,a very enjoyable biography about Lorenzo De' Medici which will provide the reader with a good cast of characters and go from there. I would use Amazon's search engine and choose a couple of individual artists who might appeal to you. Personal suggestions would include Brunelleschi, Donatello, Masaccio, Ghiberti, Fra Angelico and Fra Fillipo Lippi. There is also a very good DVD series,Treasures of Sacred Art: Tuscan Journeys which is available on Netflix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions)
Italian Renaissance Art (Icon Editions) by Laurie Schneider Adams (Paperback - April 9, 2001)
Used & New from: $4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.