Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Every Name, But Close.
Even though you might not find your surname listed, you will be able to find the "root" name yours derived from. I found it extremely interesting how some of our Italian name got their start. Also how some names are very specific to one certain area. A must for Italian genealogy.
Published on July 30, 2000 by Celeste

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but dry.
I liked it --sort of. Was like reading a text book. Didn't get all the info I was looking for either.
Published 8 months ago by alice picarello


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Every Name, But Close., July 30, 2000
By 
Celeste (Antioch, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
Even though you might not find your surname listed, you will be able to find the "root" name yours derived from. I found it extremely interesting how some of our Italian name got their start. Also how some names are very specific to one certain area. A must for Italian genealogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any researching their Italian roots, October 10, 2005
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
Joseph Fucilla was the son of Italian immigrants from a small village: his interest in his heritage led to in-depth investigations of the origins of Italian proper names - a field which contributes to genealogical pursuit in Our Italian Surnames. Originally published in 1949, this is still regarded as the authoritative reference on the subject, wit chapters covering botanical names, occupative names, compound names and more. Quite technical listings identify names under each category and add often extensive footnoted references: a must for any researching their Italian roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful!, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
Doing genealogy sometimes is frustrating when you don't speak or read the language. This book has been very helpful. Thanks to this author's diligence I now can decipher names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chiappa Means Buttocks. Is that your last name?, August 9, 2014
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
Here's what your last name means:

Marazi -- (a handax used by cask makers)
Batacchi - (bell clapper)
Malanotte - (bad night)
Molinaro - (a miller)
Chiappa - (buttocks)

This book is one of kind, and amazing. I look up all my friends and relatives names. Joseph G. Fucilla gives an easy to use index, and also names and root words arranged by themes (Botanical Names, Geographical Names etc...)
He also goes into detail region by region... so that with a little work, you can trace where your name comes from and the meaning behind it.

Great gift for all of Italian descent.
299 pages
Great resource.
This will stay on your shelf for generations.

forever,
Annie

Annie Lanzillotto
author of "L is for Lion: an italian bronx butch freedom memoir" SUNY Press
and "Schistsong" BORDIGHERA Press

www.annielanzillotto.com

L Is for Lion: An Italian Bronx Butch Freedom Memoir (SUNY series in Italian/American Culture)
Schistsong (Via Folios)
Blue Pill
Carry My Coffee (Live)
Eleven Recitations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but dry., March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
I liked it --sort of. Was like reading a text book. Didn't get all the info I was looking for either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our Italian Surnames, July 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
I found the book easy to read and the selection of names was extensive with many suggestions for further reading. A great help in my research into our family history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the standard, November 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
This is a reprint of a book written in 1949. Dr. Fucilla was born in Italy and a full professor at Northwestern U., who retired in 1965. My copy has a sturdy binding and no frills packaging. The entries are very clear and easy to follow. I was amazed by how many of the surnames I was interested in were covered. I have used it for years. This is a must have for anybody interested in Italian family history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 18, 2014
By 
M. Miller (Kanas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Hardcover)
Interesting, but a number of names I looked up were in included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource., June 3, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
I am fascinated that this book was even put together. It will give you a better understanding of Italian surnames and various origins. I think its a must have for any italian genealogist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Our Italian Surnames (Paperback)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Our Italian Surnames
Our Italian Surnames by Joseph Guerin Fucilla (Paperback - January 1, 1998)
$31.50 $29.93
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.