Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for touring Italian wine regions
I find this very helpful to use as a companion to other resources that I have. I found an excellent winery in Tuscany using this book and am very grateful.
Published 22 months ago by Charles E. Fatora

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
This English translation (like the 2012 Edition) is smaller and less unwieldy than earlier versions. The price one pays for this more manageable book is, however, far too high: all written descriptions of the wines have been excised. Accordingly, the most valuable feature of the book is missing. Formerly, the Guide contained a paragraph about each winery, and then a...
Published 23 months ago by On line shopper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, February 13, 2013
By 
On line shopper (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
This English translation (like the 2012 Edition) is smaller and less unwieldy than earlier versions. The price one pays for this more manageable book is, however, far too high: all written descriptions of the wines have been excised. Accordingly, the most valuable feature of the book is missing. Formerly, the Guide contained a paragraph about each winery, and then a paragraph with highlights about some of the top wines tasted. Now only the first paragraph, far less important to wine buyers, is included. I wonder why they even bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened to Gambero Rosso?, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
I have every volume of Gambero Rosso going back to the mid-90's, and have always viewed it as an affordable, integral part of my information gathering on each Italian vintage and region. Simply put, it has been my Italian wine bible.

It appears no actual effort was put into this year's guide. No individual wine reviews or even basic information on the wines, such as grape varietal or aging and use of oak, was included like past volumes. After 20 years of using the guide, I really don't need a basic paragraph on each winery. I have no clue as to what has happened, but I for one cannot imagine how any Italian wine lover can gain anything from this volume.

It appears GR has jumped the shark...I for one will miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget the 2012 and 2013 editions, February 15, 2013
By 
Larz (Fort Myers, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
Anyone thinking about using the 2012 or 2013 GR guide to decide what Italian wine to buy should reconsider. There is nothing within these past two editions that tell's one anything about the wine itself, other than a 1 to 3 glass rating for some of the wines that basically indicates whether, in their opinion, the wine is good, swill or pure bilge water. It has become, after the 2011 edition, nothing but a cataloque of what wines are made in Italy. You are better off reading something like erobertparker.com, or soon, on Antonio galloni's his own website at [...] Whether you share/agree with his palate or not, his reviews at least offer descriptions of what you can expect from the bottle.
This GR guide used to be useful; I have used the previous 9 year's editions as reference points to start sampling. It's a pity and annoying because readers were (apparently) never advised to not expect the traditional information they were used to in each previous year's editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What an utter disappointment (again)!, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
I wish I had read the other reviews before I bought this book. I was hoping that after the useless 2012 edition, the 2013 would be back to its previous top-notch form, that 2012 was just a blip year... sadly, I was wrong. Having relied on the GR for making informed wine choices since 2005 I wasn't ready to give up on them after one bad year.

But now, 2nd year running the book has left out all pertinent information about the wines again, and just included information about the wineries (and the bicchieri [glass] rating system). And, while that information is interesting, it isn't compelling enough of a reason to buy this book because I, for one want to know about the WINES, not just the wineries and a non-descriptive rating. This will be the last time I purchase this guide unless they return to their former format.

Disappointing indeed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too general, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
Starting with the 2012 edition the reviews of theproducers became very general. They would not tell the reader about specific characteristics of each of the wines. While this is still a helpful reference, it has clearly gone downhill from what it used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A sad disappointment!, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
These guides used to be indispensable, but for some completely inexplicable reason, the editors have dropped from the guide the one thing that made them most useful - the descriptions of the wines themselves! This is immensely frustrating! Like many Italian wine lovers, it doesn't matter so much to me that something got a two glass or three glass rating - but rather WHY it did! We are looking for a guide to what the style of the wine is, and when it might be most likely ready to drink. Style is so, so important with Italian wine - it's why we love it! But now they now leave out the essential information in favor of rather vague, watered-down generalizations about what's going on at each winery. I notice that Slow Food Editore is no longer a co-sponsor of the guide. I wonder if there was some kind of rift over the shift in direction. But even "shift in direction" is too complimentary here! It's kind of heart-breaking to see so much labor go into these guides and have something so useless be the result. Sad. Especially because there's nothing else out there to take it's place! Italian wine-writers take note!

I'd be curious to know the politics behind this particular change. Is it just the translated edition that leaves out this information?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars All the guide is good for now is verifying producer names, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
Missing all the written reviews. I'm baffled as to why they took them out. All the guide is good for now is verifying producer names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary evil, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
For those of us who love Italian wines, this is the top publication with many listings, but with many faults. There are a lot of politics at work here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for touring Italian wine regions, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Italian Wines 2013 (Paperback)
I find this very helpful to use as a companion to other resources that I have. I found an excellent winery in Tuscany using this book and am very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Italian Wines 2013
Italian Wines 2013 by Gambero Rosso (Paperback - February 16, 2013)
Used & New from: $9.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.