Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 9, 2008
Gender swap comedies are a motif that Hollywood revisits every decade or so. There was Switch (1991), The Hot Chick (2002), and now It's a Boy Girl Thing. Coming out of the 80s, when women wore square shoulder corporate suits and fought the glass ceiling, there was an aggression that Ellen Barkin captured. Coming out of the 90s, when gender confusion as hip, the Hot Chick followed suit. These days however, when (young) girls flash gang signs on myspace, Muay Thai kickbox each other on the head on youtube, and curse like truck drivers, Samaire Armstrong , playing her neighbor Woody trapped within, has a much harder time showcasing the rift between the sexes.

I mean c'mon: Girls today act more like boys than boys girls.

With all her shrugs, posturing, manly strut, spitting, and cursing bravado, it all but sounds like a typical girl I see in the malls.

Kevin Zegers, on the other hand, lives up to the part by pulling out all the stops on the suddenly sensitive, suddenly well-dressed, suddenly effeminate (or stereotypically gay) football jock.

One of the bonuses the story of this movie contains is the concept of "access." In many gender swapping movies, the humor and plot is based on what one sex discovers about the other half once he or she inhabits the other's body. In It's A Boy Girl Thing, that access takes a sharp turn midway into the movie, and suddenly each character discovers what is being said about him/her from the house next door. Woody (a high school football star with loud parents), inhabiting Nell's body finds out what Nell herself, taking after her mother's bourgeois snobbishness, had said about him. Nell (a preppy girl headed for Yale), inhabiting Woody, learns that the neighboring fathers, once friends, had been pushed apart by her own snobbish mom. With this revelation, Nell (with Woody inside) suddenly realizes where his place is in society.

Once the gender swap plot fades into a (social) class swap story, THEN Samaire Armstrong's acting comes alive.

I find movies about swapping roles always have a latent social critique. Of course the fact that Elton John is the executive producer helps me read into the notion of how one's environment and natural disposition will factor strongly in determining destiny. It's a visual pun on "coming out."

Well the movie is sweet and the romance is snuggle up nice. It wasn't laugh out loud funny, but then again, that may have more to do with the age of this reviewer than the movie itself.
11 comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2010
This movie is very funny, and had a beautiful love story and message. It was like Freaky Friday, and The Hot Chick mixed together. Woody Deane and Nell Bedworth hate each other. They are neighbors who want nothing to do with each other. During a trip to a museum, and are forced to work together, and they begin to argue in front of a statue of the ancient Aztec god Tezcatlipoca. The statue casts a spell on them, and they wake up to swapped bodies. Woody has become Nell, and Nell has become Woody. In the process of trying to figure out how to change back, they intentionally destroy each others' social life. After Woody sticks up for Nell, they slowly begin to fall in love. I highly recommend IT'S A BOY GIRL THING!!!
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2009
The leaders are very good. They almost make you believe a body swap happened. Some good laughs (like when he in the girl's body gets a bikini wax but a little preachy.

At first they try and ruin each other's lives which makes no sense since they have no idea how long they are going to be each other - it could be fore ever. The movie gets better when they try and help each other - she to learn football and he to learn poetry and literature.

Near the end they actually like being each other and in a touching scene say they would be honored to live as each other. It might have been a better or more original film if they didn't change back.

Good ending at the prom as well as good use of Shakespears poetry
22 comments2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2008
"It's is a boy girl thing" isn't the kind of movie I'd normally rent. In fact, I didn't rent it, but when I found it in my house, I gave in to temptation and watched it. I must confess it made me laugh.

This film is very predictable, but quite funny, despite the fact that the humor is rather crude sometimes... The two main characters are Nell (Samaire Armstrong), a bright and somewhat nerdy young woman, and Woody (Kevin Zegers), a football player that has the popularity that Nell lacks, but isn't very accustomed to using his brain. Even though these typical albeit very different teenagers can't stand each other, they will have to reach a compromise, due to an spell that ends up switching their bodies. Confusion ensues, as you can imagine...

All in all, I think that those that are expecting the classic high school comedy will like it, if their expectations are just to have some fun... If that is your case, recommended.
0Comment8 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2009
Kevin Zegers is adorable and the connection between him and his female counterpart increase over time. It shows the real issues between guys and girls and how, if they only switched places, they would better understand what the other half goes through. Great inspiring film.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Suppose the mind of Freaky Friday were mysteriously transported to the body of just about any teen movie ever - you'd get something that looked a lot like this. Instead of mother and daughter this time, it's a teenaged boy and girl whocan barely stand each other. He's the uberjock, with the big homecoming game coming up, she's the Yale-bound, bookish type.

The result is pretty predictable: bathroom and locker room jokes, some body-part humor but less than you might think, and a happy ending all around. Oh, and the Mean Girls character ends up publicly embareassed (spelling is intentional), which just goes towards making the ending happy. Best watched if you're doing something else at the same time.

-- wiredweird
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2008
Okay, I did enjoy this movie for the most part. The actors did a good job with a pretty predictable plot that really had only one possible resolution. All of the characters were stereotypes of one sort or another but of course, the two leads get over their personal prejudices and move to the inevitable ending. sigh. If there was one thing that could have made this better (at least from my perspective) is that they could have done away with so much of the humor being dependant upon sexual organs. The film was cute, funny and touching. It seemed to be pretty well acted and made you feel good in the end. Oh, and Nell's dad: There was a man of integrity. What a guy! Worth seeing...once
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
Yes, it's a body swap story. It's been done before. I had this one in my queue because I'm a fan of Samaire Armstrong. I didn't expect to like the movie. But I definitely did. The characters are well enough done that I actually cared what happened to them. There's not a lot more to say. If you're looking for a fun movie with engaging characters and story that are brought to life by actors that did a great job... give "It's a Boy Girl Thing" a shot.

One more quick thing I almost forgot. I ordered it from Amazon right after I finished watching the movie. I like it enough that I want it in my collection.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2008
I have to admit that I didn't expect this film to be so good. The body swap has been done so often that it didn't seem possible to come up something fresh. Well, this film succeeds. Kevin Zegers and Samaire Armstrong are really outstanding performers and make this gender-swap fantasy work. Very entertaining.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2008
Ah, yes, the whole body switch scenario. Sure, it's been done many times, but that's probably because we all have some sort of curiosity as to what it's like to be somebody else. And since it's impossible, the only way to mildly entertain that fantasy is a movie.

Of course, we always want to switch bodies with someone who is entirely different from us, otherwise, what fun would it be? It's a Boy Girl Thing has the entire opposite part down to a "T." It takes a boy, Woody (Zegers), the popular jock with a middleclass socioeconomic status and switches his body with a girl, Nell (Armstrong), an intellectual and not so popular girl with a higher standard of living. Woody is loud, obnoxious, and listens to rap music, while Nell is proper, keeps to herself, and listens to mellower music. The two are next door neighbors who bicker constantly over their obvious differences. Once they accidentally switch bodies, they are forced to see what it's like to have the other's life.

Although, nothing new, the movie does have some quite entertaining moments. It addresses a key question I've always wondered if guys and girls were able to switch bodies: how does it feel to suddenly have man or lady parts opposite of one's own? It's comical and really emphasizes the differences between guys and girls (now if only they could have a movie where they switch bodies as a woman is in labor.) The movie is, for the most part enjoyable to watch, however, there are parts that seem a little unbelievable at times. But, then again, this movie suspends reality by making switching bodies possible in the first place, so I suppose it's fine. Armstrong and Zegers do a good job in this film and it's hilarious to see them portray the opposite sex. They also had pretty good onscreen chemistry throughout. I do feel, however, that both of them are capable of much more than this movie showcases.

All and all, the movie is nothing great, nor terrible. It has its laugh out loud moments and charm. There is a nice progression along with a neatly packaged ending that will leave you satisfied. And I suspect most people won't expect anything more from this movie than what it has to offer anyway.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.