Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars irresistible holiday music--BRAVO, MANDISA !!!
Christmas music is some of the catchiest, best written music we hear all year long--think about it, don't we always remember songs like "White Christmas" and "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer?" They evoke so many deep, deep feelings and their charm is universally appealing. On this album Mandisa sings some lovely holiday music and you're sure to enjoy this album if holiday...
Published on October 23, 2009 by Matthew G. Sherwin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so
I was disappointed. Mostly it was the arrangements that threw me. It wasn't very Christmassy. Mandisa has such a great voice, that she can make anything sound good. But this CD did nothing for my Christmas spirit. There were some good cuts, but overall I wouldn't buy it again.
Published on January 24, 2010 by Sherry N. Sherrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars irresistible holiday music--BRAVO, MANDISA !!!, October 23, 2009
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
Christmas music is some of the catchiest, best written music we hear all year long--think about it, don't we always remember songs like "White Christmas" and "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer?" They evoke so many deep, deep feelings and their charm is universally appealing. On this album Mandisa sings some lovely holiday music and you're sure to enjoy this album if holiday tunes are what you crave! The sound quality is terrific and that artwork is very nicely done.

"What Christmas Means to Me" is a song performed by Stevie Wonder on his Christmas album entitled "Someday at Christmas;" Mandisa aces this as effortlessly as if it were mere breathing--she has terrific backup and all together they make this song shine bright! Mandisa handles complex tempo and key changes and this impresses me; the percussion and the drums really flesh out the musical arrangement which makes "What Christmas Means to Me" even more powerful. Listen for Matthew West to join Mandisa on "Christmas Makes Me Cry;" Matthew and Mandisa do a marvelous job on this and they should do more duets together!

"O Holy Night" is another charmer that Mandisa delivers with great sensitivity; that piano arrangement is elegant and the number holds its own very well. I love it! "Silver Bells" (which is listed as "Christmas Day" in the track list above on this webpage) is both awesome and completely beautiful. "Feliz Navidad" and "Joy to the World" combine to form a bouncy, upbeat tune with a bit of a Latin/Brazilian flavor on the side. "Silent Night" has Mandisa giving this a very sensitive treatment; her excellent diction enhances her performance all the more and that's grand. "Mary's Little Boy Child" ends the CD with Mandisa performing flawlessly; she never skips a beat and it leaves me wanting more holiday music from Mandisa.

Mandisa's album entitled "It's Christmas" truly has gorgeous music on it and there's a nice mix of older and newer songs. I highly recommend this for Mandisa's fans; and anyone who enjoys holiday music would do well to add this to their music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mandisa rocks, December 18, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
a great addition to my chrismas collection. standout tracks are "christmas day" and "o holy night". i loved her first album, and on this, she really shines. o holy night is not your typical arrangement and that's why i like it. mandisa has an amazing voice that is very versatile. the songs range from motown, to standard carols to new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Christmas!!!, February 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
I LOOVVVEEED this album. Mandisa did it again and came out with the perfect album. Here's the ratings for each song:

WHAT CHRISTMAS MEANS TO ME: This song explains what Mandisa loves during Christmas. Its very catchy and has the Christmasy feel to it. 5/5

FELIZ NAVIDAD: The traditional spanish carol in a mandisa type music style. Very cool! Joy To the World is inserted into this song, but a REAL Mandisa Joy TO the World song would be on her EP album. 4/5

CHRISTMAS MAKES ME CRY: This is a really mellow song featuring Matthew West. It's a perfect song to sing the performance tract at a Christmas event. When I first heard it i was impressed. 5/5

CHRISTMAS BELL MEDLEY: This was one of my favorites. Mandisa sings the traditional Silver Bells song blending it into Carol of the Bells, and then into my favorite, Caroling, Caroling. I loved this song. 5/5

SILENT NIGHT: This is more traditional in music. Mandisa sings the calm yet strong song Silent Night, a song that will always be famous at Christmastime. 4/5

ANGELS WE HAVE HEARD ON HIGH: The same traditional Christmas Hymn, but mandisa adds some of her own flair to it. 4/5

LITTLE DRUMMER BOY: I love this one, the drummers are talented. There is alot of DrumRoll. This is a very good song. 5/5

CHRISTMAS DAY: Michael W. Smith features this song on his Christmas album as well. This is a very sweet song about the Christmas season. The Children Choir adds a special touch as well. One of my favorites. They have this in performance version as well and it is a great song for a Children Choir to sing at a Holiday Event. 5/5

O HOLY NIGHT: Mandisa's strong voice comes out of Hybernation in this song. It will blow you away, the way she sings this song. It is in the traditional form of the song with extra vocal flair. 5/5

MARY'S LITTLE BOY CHILD: This is also a traditional christmas song, but Mandisa changes it to fit her flair. A very sweet and mellow tune. 4/5

CHILDREN GO WHERE I SEND THEE: An excellent ending to the album. Mandisa sings the rounds up to 4, then she skips strait to 10. I wish she sang the whole thing, but anyway the song was great. There was even a little surprise at the end (Which you'll have to hear by buying this CD).

This doesn't end Your Mandisa Christmas fun however. Get the Mp3 song, Joy To the World, from Mandisa's other Christmas Album. That song is the best Christmas song of all from her. Mandisa shows you her Jazzy side in that song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas cd!, November 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
I love Christmas!! I am always looking for more Christmas cd's. So, as soon as I saw that Mandisa had a Christmas album I bought it. This is the best Christmas album I have heard in a long time. If you love Christmas music, Mandisa, or both then you will love this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so, January 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
I was disappointed. Mostly it was the arrangements that threw me. It wasn't very Christmassy. Mandisa has such a great voice, that she can make anything sound good. But this CD did nothing for my Christmas spirit. There were some good cuts, but overall I wouldn't buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Worshipful CD!, December 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
I love this CD! Very worshipful! Mandisa has powerful vocals and a great testimony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Christmas by Mandisa, January 30, 2009
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
Truly enjoyable. It brought home the feeling of the season, especially the "Little Drummer Boy" tract
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blessing, January 17, 2009
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
This CD was a blessing. I heard about Mandisa on Huckaby's show and
immediately ordered her Christmas CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (Audio CD)
I did not like this cd at all. Mandisa is a good singer, but the songs were not good at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Christmas (MP3 Music)
Great Album. It's Christmas and puts you in the Christmas spirit.. There is no better time of the year. Great Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It's Christmas
It's Christmas by Mandisa (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.