Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for children coping with divorce.
Now in my late twenties, I read this book when I was entering fourth grade and I liked very much reading it. Although my parents are still together, there are children, even as adults, dealing with divorce. Karen Newman, the main character of the book, is coping with the unexpected events that are going on during her parents separation. She meets another girl that...
Published on January 11, 2002 by Diaspora Chic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can Karen Keep Her Parents Together?
In this book, Karen Newman�s parents are getting divorced. She has a little sister, Amy, and an older brother, Jeff. Karen does not want this to happen. Karen does not want this to happen. Her father moves out, even though they are not divorced. Karen is very mad at them. She tries really hard to get them back together.
Jeff runs away, and her parents...
Published on May 14, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for children coping with divorce., January 11, 2002
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
Now in my late twenties, I read this book when I was entering fourth grade and I liked very much reading it. Although my parents are still together, there are children, even as adults, dealing with divorce. Karen Newman, the main character of the book, is coping with the unexpected events that are going on during her parents separation. She meets another girl that lives in the same building as her father whose parents are divorced. However, her reaction to her parents' breakup is much different from Karen's. She already knew from an early age that her father's role in her life was a small part. She accepts her mother being a single parent and going back out into the dating scene. Karen eventually gets through and comes to the conclusion that her parents aren't getting back. This is an interesting read not only for children, but for adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not The End Of The World, December 7, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
Karen is an ordinary girl who's parents are going through a very hard time. They always have aguments over really stupid things like about pie, and other stuff too! They are never satisfied with eachother and really don't get along anymore! But karen always try to get them to get back together, and tries her best. It was really hard for her to keep on seeingnher parents unhappy, or depress.It is also very hard for her because she's always moving around. These days she stays wit her dad, the other days she stays with her mom. She really hates moving around, all she wanted is to be in one place living with both of her parents. One wednesday when she was at her dad's, she met a friend name Val, and her parents are the same. Then Val introduced her to a book about divorce, and she read it. It was still alot hard for her. But she finally learned that life is not alwayz what she wants. She actually got used to her parents divorce. I think that this book is very touching. i Feel the same and i understand how she feels because i went through the same thing. But now i know that it's better for your parents, because they don't fight anymore...and when they're seperated, they get what they want, and live the life happier. I give this book a 5, because it's wooondeerful, and touching. I agree with the author, and she's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not for people who easily cry., April 3, 1999
By A Customer
This book was very good, but I felt like crying as I read it. It's about a girl named Karen whos parents can't stand to be in the same room togher. They get devorced and Karen hates it. She wont stop at nothing to get them back togher. She sends them a Happy Aniversary card in the mail, Invites them both over to show them her viking diorama. In the end her brother runs away and Karen's parents get in such a big fight that it seems that they want to kill each other! Karen then relizes that they wont get back togher and gets on with her life getting used to the fact that her parents are devorced and theres nothing she can do about it. This book was excellent and would recieve 10 stars from me although it was sad and made me want to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Not the End of the World, March 31, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
Meet Karen, she has an older brother Jeff and a younger sister Amy. She comes into two very big problems. First her parents get divorced. Second her brother Jeff runs away. The kids try to get the parents back together but does it work? Does Jeff come back?

This book is all about divorce between two parents and what the children go through while it happens. It is a sad upsetting story because of all the pain Karen, Jeff and Amy have to go through. It is downhearted the way the parents feel about each other.

I would recommend this book to any one who has divorced parents. Its words can show you a different divorce story and how the characters feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny things, May 2, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
Divorce. its the end of the world. At least that is what Karen thinks when he parents gets a divorce. Now Karen is trying to get them to talk face to face so they can realize that a divorce was a bad thing. Won't they? I like the book because it explains to people the divorce isn't the end of the world, and it is exciting also, and I think that everybody should read it so read this book if you want to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are not alone, November 17, 2003
By A Customer
This book was purchased for me by my Godmother (Aunt) when I was in sixth grade and my parents were getting divorced. It really helped me get through that troubling time and if nothing else showed me that I was not alone and this had happened to many children my age. Although I truly did feel this was 'the end of the world' this book enlightened me, obviously by the title, that it was not. Well, now I have received word that my Goddaughter's (niece) parents are going to be splitting up, so I have taken on the responsiblity, like that of my Godmother, to purchase this great book for my niece. I am quite confident that it will help ease this terrible time for my beautiful niece. Thank you Judy Blume, and thanks again to my aunt for showing me one more way to be a great godparent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For kids going through divorces, April 30, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
This book is about a young girl named Karen. Her parents always get in arguments over stupid things and just can't live together. Karen then learns her father is moving out. She gets mad and asks these questions to herself. How can my parents do this? Don't they belong with each other? She tries to get them together by sending them anniversery present on their anniversery and trying to get sick. While doing this she mets a new freind named Val who's parents are also divorced. Val introduces her a book about divorce. The book Val gives Karen help on how to handle the proble m between her parents. The question is are they divorcing or not This book will help young kids learn about how to live with parents going through divorce, while still trying to have an ordinary life. It also teaches you it's okay to tell people about your parents getting divorced sooner or later. You can also read this book for fun or if your freind"s parents are getting divorced you can kinda sense what they feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Not the End of the World, November 21, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
_It's Not the End of the World_, by Judy Blume, shows how Karen, a girl with divorced parents, or soon to be divorced parents, feels like it is the end of the world. By the end of the book, Karen accepts the fact that her parents would get a divorce. This book is filled with sad and interesting parts.Karen tries her best to get her parents back together, but most of her plans didnt work out the way she wanted it to.Judy Blume writes in such a great way that I thought that this book was a five star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED THIS BOOK!, September 1, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
This book was wonderfull.You could almost feel like you were in the divorce with Karen. Judy Blume describes the thoughts that go through Karen's mind very vividly. A definate must-read for teens going through their parent's divorce!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can Karen Keep Her Parents Together?, May 14, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: It's Not the End of the World (Paperback)
In this book, Karen Newman�s parents are getting divorced. She has a little sister, Amy, and an older brother, Jeff. Karen does not want this to happen. Karen does not want this to happen. Her father moves out, even though they are not divorced. Karen is very mad at them. She tries really hard to get them back together.
Jeff runs away, and her parents get very mad at each other, and she gets madder at them. Finally she realizes she can not stop them from getting divorced.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes books that are funny, serious and a teeny bit sad all at the same time. It was funny when Karen tried to get sick so her parents would take care of her and not get divorced, and serious because it is just a regular girl�s life, and sad when her parents get divorced.
I liked Debbie, Karen�s best friend, because she was very funny, and she was kind to Karen while her parents were getting divorced. She did this by paying more attention to her than usual, when she would be flirting with Jeff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It's Not the End of the World
It's Not the End of the World by Judy Blume (Paperback - August 1, 1986)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.