Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Molly's review
I must say that this book is a bit more about improving your life than your golf game and Mr.Burke has lead an exceptional life to say the least.The book will improve your game ten fold but you will also look at life a bit different as well.Mr. Burke is a master of teaching about life through the game he so dearly loves.Wisdom abounds through these pages and you will read...
Published on August 8, 2006 by Molly B

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's more than a game
The main title, "It's Only a Game," is misleading. Jackie Burke, Jr. was born to the golf business. His father was a club pro. Burke, Jr. became a club pro, a tour pro and then co-founder of the Champions Golf Club in Houston, where golfers with only average skills need not apply. From the author's perspective, it's a business, and a serious one at that, not a game...
Published on October 10, 2006 by Carl E. Johnson Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Molly's review, August 8, 2006
By 
Molly B "Miss Molly" (Chataignier, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
I must say that this book is a bit more about improving your life than your golf game and Mr.Burke has lead an exceptional life to say the least.The book will improve your game ten fold but you will also look at life a bit different as well.Mr. Burke is a master of teaching about life through the game he so dearly loves.Wisdom abounds through these pages and you will read and re-read most of this whole book.Mr.Burke's dry humor is evident through-out the book which makes this an especially enjoyable read.Do yourself a favor,do not miss out on this man's hard earned wisdom,he did us all a favor by putting it in print.There are not many people in the world that say what everyone's thinking and this man does.He shows courage and unwavering knowledge on the game of golf,but never lets you forget "It's just a Game".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any golf purist..., December 28, 2006
By 
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
Simply put, if you care about golf - it's history, tradition and the real meaning of the game, then this book is a must read.

Jack Burke, Jr. has played an important role in golf history - as an outstanding player, teacher and co-creator of one of the greatest golf clubs in the nation.

This book is a compilation of great stories and Burke's views on a number of meaningful topics relating to golf and life.

A quick, educational and enlightening read that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the true golfer, April 18, 2007
By 
The title of can be a bit misleading but not in the way one might assume. The title seems to convey the diea that Burke doesn't take golf as seriously as others; the exact opposite is true. He views the game through a different viewpoint where instead of the game being involved within every aspect of your life, life is involved throughout the game of golf. He at the same time views golf not as a game to be taken lightly but instead one that falls back on the basic human instincts of competition. I've had the personal luxury of growing up and maturing as a golfer at the club he and Jimmy Demaret founded, Champions Golf Club, and because of Jack Burke I see the game differently from my peers. This book comes as close as possible to discovering who he is and the way he believes the game of golf should be played. He hasn't been caught up by who he is and what he has accomplished; he instead continues to try to teach others what golf is, what it used to be, and what it should continue to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life lessons, July 15, 2006
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
Jack Burke has written a book not just for golfers, but for anyone desiring simple lessons of life. It's a fun, quick read, with lots of fascinating golf anecdotes. This book is one you can pick up and read bits at a time...or the whole book in a sitting. But you will find yourself returning to it...reading a chapter just for fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite pleaser for any golf fan!!, January 4, 2007
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
When growing up, you always need an older mentor. Mr. Burke has been just that to Steve Elkington and Hal Sutton and shares alot of the wisdom he gave to them for the price of a book! I highly recommend getting this as it will really shape you as a player and in alot of other ways as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading List for Golf 101, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
This book is required reading for anyone loving golf, golfers and life! The game of golf and life are written with wry humor and uncanny wisdom. I am not a golfer, but I love this book. I have given it as a gift to anyone I know with a set of golf clubs.
To quote the author in a taped lecture, he quoted the nun who was his fourth grade teacher, "First things first." As a fourth grader, he didn't understand it, yet dutifully copied it from the chalkboard each day as Sister instructed. Later, as Jackie Burke became a professional golfer, he realized that first, he needed a golf tee. As a reminder of prioritizing my needs and wants, I carried a golf tee in my handbag...a physical reminder to "do first things first. " Buy the book. You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legend, July 7, 2009
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
If you dont appreciate Jackie then you dont apperciate this game...He is a legend, a man that grew up in the game, played with the greats, and is one of the few great players/teachers- PGA and Masters champ. He is a gem to the game and this book is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for everyone, November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
Not the typical how to book on golf.........much better. Jackie weaves in life lessons with his approach to the golf swing. At one time a scratch player, I still picked up some valuable tips. Must read for golfers as well non-golfers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burke Fan Club, January 11, 2007
By 
E. Gowan "EGolf" (Carefree, Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf (Hardcover)
Jackie Burke is a breath of fresh air amidst the hype of modern golf writing. His clear and concise commentary on all aspects of the game leaves little to conjecture. A great read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "It's Only a Game", March 25, 2007
By 
D. Gill (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book, full of the wit and wisdom of Jackie Burke. Fun to read and a combination of personal reflections, advice and a few tips along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf
It's Only a Game: Words of Wisdom from a Lifetime in Golf by Jackie Burke (Hardcover - March 23, 2006)
$22.50 $20.15
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.