Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the cutest hats!
i love this book! i have no babies to knit for specifically but hats are quick and easy, heartfelt gifts. there is such a terrific variety in this book from simple to sophisticated and all so very cute. i will be knitting some of these for Dulaan and other charitable efforts because the hats are budget and time friendly projects, who can resist such instant gratification...
Published on June 20, 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The ugliest hats I've ever seen for a baby's head!
There are maybe 2 cute hats in this entire book, and that's including the hat on the front cover of this book. These are the ugliest hats I've ever seen with crazy color combinations, oversized flowers and bunches of colorful worm looking I- Cords on top of these hats. Looks more like a clown show, nothing cute about it!
Published on June 24, 2012 by Lexx


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the cutest hats!, June 20, 2006
By 
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
i love this book! i have no babies to knit for specifically but hats are quick and easy, heartfelt gifts. there is such a terrific variety in this book from simple to sophisticated and all so very cute. i will be knitting some of these for Dulaan and other charitable efforts because the hats are budget and time friendly projects, who can resist such instant gratification? the book is really nicely printed too, quality paper, full color. and the spiral binding is the only way to present a book chock full of great patterns, not an insignficant detail to most knitters. a keeper for any knitting enthusiast looking to add to their reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, good for beginners, January 18, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
I've knit two hats out of this book. The hats are very cute although mostly they are variations on one or two themes. One of the nice things about this book is that the author uses the same yarns for most of the hats. This allows you to knit more than one style hat with the same yarn if you have some leftovers.

However, if you are a very experienced knitter who is looking for variety... this is not for you. I would definitely get this as a gift for my friends who are just learning to knit. The instructions at the beginning are good and since the hats are similar and use the same yarn, a beginner would get lots of practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple pattern with lovely variations, July 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
I found this in my local library and decided I had to buy it...

The author starts with a very basic/simple beanie pattern on circular/double pointed needles (no seams!) and then shows variations.

The wool is mostly Rowan cottons however beanies are quite forgiving and many wools work just as well if you watch your tension square; I have knitted the dropped-daisy in a fluffy wool, and a striped beanie in a light pure wool.

What I would like to know before buying this book:
It is a US book - US tension gauge, inches and US needle sizes.
The patterns are beginner to intermediate - there is nothing inately difficult or challenging with these patterns.
The patterns are (mostly) in sizes newborn to 2yrs+. Nothing bigger.
Most of the pattern variations are made with colour changes and toppers.
The pictures are gorgeous and the patterns work!
There are a few errors in the patterns that are pretty easy to work around, and with minor modifications you can vary the final look to your own taste, eg the dropped daisy hat in many on the customer images has quite small petals and a very long stem (by pattern) but can be easily changed to suit yourself.
There are quite a few patterns; I would make most of them, and have made 5 of them in the last 4 weeks.

Addendum: I made the dropped daisy hat in a soft pink wool with a lemon daisy for my 2+ yo. First off, she refuses to remove it - it goes on when she gets up and comes off only to sleep. Secondly it was easy to make but looks so effective. And thirdly, we get compliments everywhere we go. I have never had this happen before - everyone we meet says "gorgeous hat", "love the hat", etc. What more can you want? This book was worth the buy, if only for that one pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Creative Knitting Book, January 11, 2006
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
This book has fabulous hat creations for babies and kids. The patterns are fun and look cute on kids. The knitting instructions are easy to follow. A must have for any knitting enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best baby hat book ever!!, November 27, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
Wow this is an awesome book, I've already made six hats from here and I'm still going!! Every pattern has newborn through toddler sizes and the first three are plain hats in three weights of yarn which can then be applied to any other hats if you'd like to change the weight. They have patterns with color, texture, crazy and just plain pretty... it's perfect for any baby you could ever need to knit for!! I'd recommend this to every knitter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and adorable!!, December 6, 2006
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
I absolutely love this book! The patterns are so easy and so creative! It is so refreshing to see so many adorable, creative patterns in one book. Many times knitting books have one or two good patterns and the rest are so-so. In this book, every single pattern is easy, creative and fun. I have already given two of the hats to a new niece and nephew. The moms loved the gift and have told me about all the compliments that they are getting. The photos are wonderful. I love the fact that each hat has its own little unique fun thing about the pattern. This is a great holiday present for any knitter on your list!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and cute knitted hats, May 13, 2007
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book for one pattern, but once it arrived and I saw all the adorable hats in it, I have made 4 different ones as well! One of the best things about the book is that all the patterns use the same size needles and the same weight yarn, so you can buy enough for one hat, but have leftover yarn to create a different one as well. The patterns are easy to follow...a great book to have in your stash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Many Amazing Hats!, October 22, 2006
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
Fantastic in every way--this book is a must have for all knitters. Itty-Bitty Hats is bursting with creative ideas. Not only is it presented in an easy to follow manner, the text is entertaining and inspirational as well. So many ideas for so many many different hats of different shapes, colors, and styles. The only problem you might have is deciding which hat to make first--they are all darling beyond words. It is always a blessing when authors as talented as Susan share her ideas with the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Itty Bitty Hats, November 6, 2006
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
This is a great book of children's hat patterns. They are quite easy to make even for the beginning knitter. They range from sizes 0 to 3 months to toddler. The author demonstrates nicely how to do all the stitches required for each hat in a special section of the book. She also shows how to make many fun toppers for the hats. These are great hats and get quite a lot of attention when the child wears them. Fun hats and great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - very cute hats, August 2, 2006
This review is from: Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers (Spiral-bound)
Great selection of adorable hats - from the beginner knitter to the more experienced. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers
Itty-Bitty Hats: cute and cuddly caps to knit for babies and toddlers by Susan B. Anderson (Spiral-bound - June 1, 2006)
$17.95 $11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.