Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youth in a Box
Any true Salinger fan MUST have this. And of course, it must lovingly sit on the bookshelf without being manhandled (mine is still in its protective plastic). For all hardback copies, you won't find this at a better price brand new. Splurge a little to own the masterpieces of Mr. Salinger.
Published 14 months ago by Jessica Goshi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado...
Salinger is one of my favorite authors and I wanted to have his works in an attractive, boxed, hardbound set. When I got them I was disappointed. They were small and not the best looking set. Not worth $100. Am tempted to ask for my money back.
Published 2 months ago by Clint Brownfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youth in a Box, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
Any true Salinger fan MUST have this. And of course, it must lovingly sit on the bookshelf without being manhandled (mine is still in its protective plastic). For all hardback copies, you won't find this at a better price brand new. Splurge a little to own the masterpieces of Mr. Salinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for the J.D. Salinger enthusiast, July 30, 2012
By 
C. Moran (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
A must-have if you loved Catcher in the Rye. The other books are equally as well-crafted and beautiful, and the set is a collectible for the J. D. Salinger lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Past Recaptured, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
After seeing a documentary on this celebrated 20th century writer, I had to have this classic set. Although I read these books in high school, they mean so much more to me now as an adult. In fact, when I was in high school, Catcher was "banned". So of course we went to the book store and bought copies. In essence, Salinger wrote the 'great American novel', and fame and notoriety destroyed him. This is a must or everyone's book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the author and the boxed presentation, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
Looks so good I was sorry I didn't buy two. Would make a great gift. Sturdy box will hold up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice gift., January 7, 2013
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
This arrived on time in great shape. It is a really nice set. Can't beat the price either. Thanks lots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just an appetizer, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
These excellent introductions to the Glass and Caulfield families will soon be followed by Salinger's unpublished work.
I am getting prepared for more of "J.D.'s" prose, starting in January of 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
This was a gift for my granddaughter and she absolutely loved the set. She is in grad school at Carolina, majoring in English Literature and has always been fascinated by Salinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A set to keep., May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I love that the books are in an elegant cardboard sleeve, therefore keeping them free of damage. J.D. Salinger is a master crafstman and, in this world of ebooks, this set will be one of the jewels on the shelves of my library. The set was also priced very affordably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado..., May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
Salinger is one of my favorite authors and I wanted to have his works in an attractive, boxed, hardbound set. When I got them I was disappointed. They were small and not the best looking set. Not worth $100. Am tempted to ask for my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Costly but worth it., February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J. D. Salinger Boxed Set (Hardcover)
The free delivery always hooks me. And what can I add to what's already been said about Salinger. Books themselves are beautiful. I saw a boxed set years ago in a Barnes and Noble store and the price was quit dear back then. Its a matter of taste I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

J. D. Salinger Boxed Set
J. D. Salinger Boxed Set by J. D. Salinger (Hardcover - November 22, 2010)
$99.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.