Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fantastic jazz..., January 11, 2008
By 
finulanu ""the mysterious"" (Here, there, and everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
Wynton ventures deeper into blues and hard bop here than he ever had before, and he's adept at both genres. The title track starts things off and, while it does trail off before it ends, sets into a solid bluesy groove and showcases some of Marcus Roberts' finest piano playing. He also performs one of his most successful Miles Davis tributes, "Presence That Lament Brings", with a sensitive reading of the melody from a muted trumpet. Then the wild retrobopper "Insane Asylum" comes along and throws off the mood, but that's such a good tribute to the subgenre most people associate with jazz that I don't care. Tain is especially great on that tune; the bop fun continues on "Skain's Domain". The other ballad, "After", is my favorite song on this album. It sounds a ton like Miles Davis, but it's really, really, really amazing Miles Davis. Like, you know, one of his classic pensive ballads. I would be happy if Wynton made a whole album of nothing but songs like "After". A couple songs, like the bebopping "Melodique" and the mid-tempo "Much Later", are slight, but enjoyable while they're playing - if only Brandford had played on this album (he was recording with Sting at the time), it would be the best album of Marsalis' career. Because yes, the lack of a second horn player does kind of hurt, especially given how good the chemistry between the Marsalis brothers is - which is only to be expected, of course. But anyway, Marsalis fans owe it to themselves to get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J Mood by Wynton Marsalis, my review from Barcelona, September 16, 2007
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
How the JAZZ likes me and Wynton Marsalis is one of which more. This `J MOOD' record was recorded when Brandford Marsalis and Kenny Kirkland chose to leave Wynton Marsalis' group to make money with Sting.
So, Wynton had to regroup fast for this recording with bassist Robert Hurst III and drummer Jeff "Tain" Watts who has been developing what is now the most inventive style of all younger drummers at the time. Also the trumpeter met up with the blinded pianist Marcus Roberts for the first time getting all of them a wonderful record. Wynton was still very much under Miles Davis's influence at the time and in this record is very noticeable as in the marvellous "Much Later" by instead, but at age 24 he already had rather remarkable technique to be a future number one as he is. He performs whit consistently creative fashion on these seven unpredictable tracks and I would highlight the relaxed "J Mood", "Insane Asylum", the great quality of "Skain's Domain" and the beautiful "Presence That Lament Brings". Highly recommended and I give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful jazz record !, January 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
Recorded in 1986 with Marcus Roberts ( "J Master ) : Piano - Robert Leslie Hurst III : Bass - Jeff "Tain" Watts : Drums, this wonderful Cd is absolutely required in all jazz library, the music is plenty of energy, melody, communication ... Great art and music, to get absolutely at home ! Emilio L. ( Dordogne, France ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tain!, December 30, 2005
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
Well, I never saw Tain with Wynton, but I have seen him with Branford many times, and I always love it. But somehow, I think my favorite Tain on record is here, especially the title track. The Branford records are good too, but this has a "rawer" feeling to me somehow...it is too bad Wynton went Dixieland shortly after this.

(There is the great "Blues Alley" album with this band, too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring the jazz club home..., May 27, 2013
By 
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
I've had this album for years. I go back to this recording all the time because it really embodies that intimate jazz setting. The songs are subtle to boisterous, moody, contemplative, raw and refined. There is a darkness to the music, especially with Jeff "Tain" Watts on the drums that is beautiful and compliments the overall feel of the entire record. As a drummer who plays some jazz I've 'modeled' my jazz kit sound to some degree based on this cd alone. Just more amazing stuff from the prodigy Wynton Marsalis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
The music here is superbly written (mostly by Wynton) and the playing is excellent. It also often generates extremely concentrated tension that never gets fully released it grips me and tortures in an almost exquisite fashion.

Don't listen to those moaning about Wynton not pushing the envelope - hack journalists and their pseudo-sophisticated readers: the trumpet solos are the work of a master with total control of a highly personal and sophisticated jazz-blues palette. But the whole ensemble is stylistically coherent and operates on a high artistic plane. Timeless beauty and power I predict will continually enhance your life - it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wynton does good, May 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J Mood (Vinyl)
If you collect Jazz music this is a must. It is good. I have both the CD and vinyl. I like the vinyl better but the CD "ain't too shabby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks again, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J Mood (Vinyl)
This is everything that was promised and more will call again the selections are just what i've been looking for thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing quartet is born, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
This recording stems from the beginning of Wynton Marsalis career He arrived at the top, not only as
a trumpet player, also as a leader of his outstanding musicians. This is a quartet, something more than the sum of four. Wynton sets a standard, impossible to beat, Marcus Roberts, at the time an unknown pianist,
whose sparse, telepathic playing creates a wholeness to the music, Robert Hearst's bass is beautifully recorded and together with Jeff Watt on drums lay down a swing in often shifting tempos, incredibly strong, it moves the earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My introduction to Wynton, April 30, 2005
This review is from: J Mood (Audio CD)
Lemme say this that this was the 1st album I got introduced to Wynton is also one-of-a-kind hero to me and mostly the baddest trumpet player out there in history. He's such a genius!

Also after that, I then got introduced with other releases that he had put out back then (e.g. Standard Time, Vol. 2: Intimacy Calling, Marsalis Standard Time, Vol. 1, The All American Hero, etc.)

I can't say enuff about this man or the album. This is sure a good album even tho you're interested as a beginner or non-listener to jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

J Mood
J Mood by Wynton Marsalis (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.