Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Irish
Jack Irish was a criminal lawyer but in this DVD set he's decided to switch sides after his wife is murdered. Now he's a part-time private investigator, trying to hunt down the same people he used to set free. On the side, he also works as a debt collector and both occupations get him into more than a little trouble. There are two episodes on this disk. The first is Bad...
Published 14 months ago by NewAgeMama

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a 3.5 than a three, but still pretty meh...
I wanted to like this more than I did, but in the end, the banality of the stories in the set made it difficult to marshal up more than a lukewarm enthusiasm for this Australian noir series. Jack Irish is an Australian lawyer whose worldview takes an understandable nose dive when his wife is murdered by a crazed, distraught client. Abandoning his lucrative practice with...
Published 12 months ago by Bucky


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Irish, September 27, 2013
Jack Irish was a criminal lawyer but in this DVD set he's decided to switch sides after his wife is murdered. Now he's a part-time private investigator, trying to hunt down the same people he used to set free. On the side, he also works as a debt collector and both occupations get him into more than a little trouble. There are two episodes on this disk. The first is Bad Debts. When an old client turns up dead, Jack is pulled into the case and of course lots of corruption surrounds it. The second disc is Black Tide and in this one, an old friend of Jack's father comes to him for help when his son and his money go missing.

I have to say Guy Pearce does and amazing job in this role. His brooding presence coupled with that nice physique is just the type of semi-bad boy that makes my heart thump. Knowing the sad plight behind his behavior just makes him even more appealing because you know there's a good guy under all the trouble. I am definitely hoping to see a set 2 out for Jack Irish in the near future because this is one show I just can't get enough of. Now that I've seen the show, I'm definitely going to have to get my hands on the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Aussie Suspense-Mystery-Thriller mix Series, August 30, 2013
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Expect action with this Jack Irish bloke. A criminal lawyer gone rogue as debt collector, drunk, gambler, and more after his wife's murder. Guy Pearce becomes the character that was created from the crime novels of Peter Temple. Those books are being released in America now in parallel with the winning TV series. Even 100 minutes can't do justice to the novel, but the character focus is preserved, as well as the Melbourne setting, also the film location.
Some great orchestration and pop music mixed into the episodes.
Jack is a fallen, grieving lawyer who investigates dark lives--a series that is Aussie character driven.
I loved the touching scenes in the wood shop which included the old cabinet maker Charlie (Vadin Glowna) but alas he died prior to airing of the 2 episodes he acted so honestly through. There are also some great give-n-go moments in the local pub.

Bad Debts
An ex-client turns up dead, so jack falls back into a bit of his old life. Politics, crooked cops, business, and murder for $$$ all become a part of the cleverly woven plot of conspiracy and corruption that get the protagonist, Jack Irish, back into the investigative life he so hoped to avoid. Yet he keeps a hold on his gambling and woodworking apprenticeship during life and death events. A bit of nudity during bed scenes with reporter Linda (Marta Dusseldorp) who wants more than just a news story scoop--oops! Complex suspense to keep you on your seat's edge.

Black Tide
Irish's dad's old friend has a case that might provide him some insight into his own dad's past. The friends son, Gary, is missing along with $$$ belonging to his father. And Jack's cabinetmaker gets involved indirectly. As always there are evil people in high places. Romance takes a back seat, well they're not really seated. Always plenty of action.

SUBTITLES are available for not only the 2 feature-length episodes but also the Behind the Scenes film bonus segment. Unrated but with gritty adult content. It's a combo Blu-ray (1080i/16:9) & DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recovering, October 22, 2013
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Peter Temple, is an Australian author I have followed for quite awhile. Now, two of his books have been turned into a series, 'Jack Irish'. I was pleasantly surprised to find how very good they are.

The opening sequence starts with a bombshell as Jack an up and coming lawyer is chatting with his wife about a home furnishing. An old client comes running into the office and a startling event takes place. The beginning credits roll. Some time later, we find Jack trying to get over his misery. He has gone through a drinking and gambling phase, and has now given up law and has become a would-be carpenter, debt collector, and working for a man who bets on horses. Jack is played by Guy Pearce, and it seems he has become Jack Irish, this role is his. Handsome, reckless, recovering from trauma, he plays this character to the 'T'.

Another of Jack's old clients has called and left messages and when Jack picks them up, the man is found dead. This leads Jack on a search to find the question and the answer. Some of the answers reach into high political quarters, where he is not welcomed. A journalist, played by the beautiful. Marta Dusseldrop, is on the story and together they follow every lead. One of the most interesting sidelights of this film is the bar Jack uses as a sometime office. It is filled with old fellas who love soccer and knew his dad. He is a welcome part of the group, so to speak, and this gives some insight into his background.

'Jack Irish' is a terrific series, great characters with Australia as it's background. What could be better?

Recommended. prisrob 10-22-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a 3.5 than a three, but still pretty meh..., November 27, 2013
By 
Bucky (Haunted Mansion, The Magic Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I wanted to like this more than I did, but in the end, the banality of the stories in the set made it difficult to marshal up more than a lukewarm enthusiasm for this Australian noir series. Jack Irish is an Australian lawyer whose worldview takes an understandable nose dive when his wife is murdered by a crazed, distraught client. Abandoning his lucrative practice with a well-heeled law firm, he takes to heavy drinking and hanging out with some rather dodgy characters, including a horse race fixer and his bodyguard/driver/legbreaker, as well as some amusing old-timers with a rabid love of a football team that has moved on to play in another town. When he's not drinking and helping to fix horse races, Jack does the odd bit of work for former clients and old friends, work that could prevent powerful and ruthless men from making heaps of money in the drug trade and real estate scams. Naturally, this makes the powerful and ruthless men want to kill Jack and everyone he knows.

All this sounds terribly interesting and it should be, except that it's not. The mysteries themselves manage to be both lackluster and confusing, and I found myself watching not to see how it would all turn out, but for the odd bits of interaction among the side characters who make up Jack's collection of friends: the Fitzroy alte kakkers who hang out at his favorite pub watching 30 year old ball games, the world weary German cabinetmaker who's actually trying to teach Jack how to go on living in the face of life's cruelties, and Cam, the philosophical hired muscle working for the horse race fixer.

Although I could understand what was being said fairly well, I turned on the subtitles to get a better grasp on the slang and keep up with the story more easily. For example, in one story, Jack and Cam go down to "Tassie." Seeing the word on the screen instead of having to suss it out made it quicker and easier for me to realize that they were in Tasmania. You'll also get the correct spelling for various idiomatic words and phrases, which makes it easier to look them up online.

This set has its moments, but it wasn't riveting. If they make a second series, I hope they get better stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Sizzling Suspense, October 22, 2013
By 
Gab (Harbor Isle, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Jack Irish contains two feature length Australian films on one disc and after watching it I wanted more, more, and more. The first film, "Bad Debts" was riveting from the horrifying opening scene in which Jack Irish, an attorney, is visited by a client who served a prison sentence for unpaid parking tickets (131 of them) coupled an with assault upon a police officer. The client's wife and children left him and he comes to Irish's office to wreak revenge, swiftly doled out by him in the murder of Irish's newlywed bride. The man eats his gun in front of Irish.

This has left Irish in a "state of incoherent rage." His practice of law becomes non-existent except for one client, Harry Strange, a wealthy racetrack aficionado whose other aide is a darkly handsome man named Cam. He and Cam protect Harry and collect money owed to him by other gamblers.

Irish spends a great deal of time with Charlie, an elderly cabinetmaker and expert craftsman, who is a father figure to him. We learn that Irish's father was a sports hero and died when the Irish was a lad.

Along the way another former client calls him for help, but Irish is too late in responding and this man too is murdered. There are a series of crimes and Irish meets a newspaper reporter, Linda Hillier, a stunning blond, who is working on municipal corruption expose involving a "planning" commission. Irish assures Linda that he is as "domesticated as a neutered cat" although he is rakish and handsome. He has not had any other love interests sine the death of his bride Isabel.

Irish conducts his business in a plain Melbourne old-timers local pub peopled by a no nonsense bartender (Stanley) and three elderly rascals who have keen memories about sports and music trivia and are deeply devoted to Fitzroy sports memorabilia which "decorates" the pub's walls.

The second film, "Black Tide," is an equally engaging story. Linda is now a high profile TV reporter in Sydney. Irish spends a lot of time with Charlie, the craftsman. He is practicing law and lives steps away from his second office, the same pub featured in the first film. Cam is now a trusted ally, Linda is geographically unavailable, and another mystery and more crimes follow. This story too is just as riveting as the first film on the CD. Altogether, more than 80 exceptional actors are featured in both films. Guy Pearce portrays Irish. The actor, Vadim, who plays the part of Charlie, has died in real-life and there is a tribute to him in the 17 minutes of extra material on the DVD. The two stories are based upon award winning books by Peter Temple.

Guy Pearce's Jack Irish is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Forgettable, November 14, 2013
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I don't really get what's happening in these stories. It's been a few weeks since I watched this and I was experimenting to see if I could actually get why anyone is doing anything that they do in these things, but I forgot most of the plot details. Jack Irish is collecting money and that's definitely a cool place to start and then there's usually some kind of conspiracy - maybe involving cops. I don't really remember. In fact, the only scene I remember is the first one where Jack is still a lawyer and he ignores a client at his peril.

The rest of it seems like a blur in my memories. I know that there was a conspiracy in the first one. And then there was a woman in the second one that he was pumping for information. There are also a bunch of losers and deadbeats. But seriously, the best I can say for this show is that it's very cool to look at. The plots don't make sense and the revelations always seem like they are organically coming from the characters so much as tacked on. The horse racing stuff is cool, but it's not nearly as sweaty or as desperate as in luck.

I gotta say that you may like the show. Guy Pierce is a great actor and the rest of the cast is pretty cool. Still, I don't know how much of an impression it will make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling noir series, October 31, 2013
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I just finished watching Jack Irish this afternoon, and I was completely blown away. Based on the novels of Australian writer Peter Temple, it stars movie and television star Guy Pearce as the titular anti-hero, a man who lost everything he had when his wife was murdered. Turning away from his former life as an attorney, Irish becomes a sometime private eye who drowns himself in the bottle when he can, and who is dragged back to the seedy world of lowlife criminals he once represented when a former client is killed.

The thing I loved most about this series is that it was filmed as 2 feature-length movies (Bad Debts and Black Tide), rather than a bunch of 1-hour episodes. To me, this gives the story a chance to really tell itself, and the actors an opportunity to really shine, which they do. Guy Pearce was especially great as Jack, imbuing the character with a rakish charm that brought to mind the kind of mystery shows I used to watch as a child. I hope that this series will continue, and I would highly recommend it to anyone with a love for a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guy Pearce makes this worthwhile, but "what did they just say?", November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am big fan of Guy Pearce. The Proposition [Blu-ray], Memento (10th Anniversary Special Edition) [Blu-ray], and L.A. Confidential [Blu-ray] rank up there with the best in movie entertainment. Jack Irish, Set 1 [Blu-ray] is an Australian-produced film-noire that has an interesting story and some great action and steaming bedroom scenes. Good supporting actors and a crystal-clear video round out the worthwhile drama. BUT, holy mackerel! What on earth is up with the Australian vernacular?? I was compelled to use the sub-titles to have a chance at following the dialogue. Not my first choice, but thank goodness they are available. You're going to need them unless you speak "down-under" (Probably what they would say about an American production like The Sopranos: The Complete Series. Still, this comes recommended and I am looking forward to new episodes and expanding my vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two TV Movies From Australia Featuring An Appealing Main Cast, But Whose Mysteries Are Rather Lackluster, October 25, 2013
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'm a big fan of Australian crime drama, with the various iterations of "Underbelly" being among my favorite programs of recent years (if you've never heard of them, check them out immediately). I am also a fan of actor Guy Pearce. Seeing his early film career in diverse roles such as "The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert," "L.A. Confidential," and "Memento," I just knew he was going to be a major talent. Truthfully, though, in the next decade Pearce has developed into more of a character actor. That's not a stinging insult, he is often the best thing about the projects he is featured in (just sometimes the projects leave a lot to be desired). But I was really looking forward to him taking the reins in this series of TV movies produced in Australia. In Set One of "Jack Irish," you get two TV movies produced in 2012: Bad Debts and Black Tide. They just wrapped another Jack Irish mystery, Dead Point, slated to hit airwaves in 2014 so presumably they are hoping to make a Set Two DVD release at some point in the future.

Based on the novels of Peter Temple, Jack Irish is a laconic breed of crime investigator. He's not particularly expressive, but that doesn't keep him from finding trouble. Or maybe it finds him. In tone, these reminded me a bit of the stellar Jesse Stone series with Tom Selleck (I'll get back to the comparison in a bit). As an up-and-coming lawyer, his life is completely upended. Dropping out of polite society, he now spends his time with dubious company doing collections for a questionable bookie (Roy Billing, so great in Underbelly: A Tale of Two Cities) and his henchman (Aaron Pederson, my favorite character in the series). In my opinion, this continuing relationship is the most intriguing part of "Jack Irish." Unfortunately, I just didn't find either of the mysteries particularly involving or unique. The same might be said for Jesse Stone (I told you I'd come back), but with Stone you're invested into a real sense of community with Paradise and the supporting cast. Irish isn't nearly as grounded and it's not always believable that a rumpled Pearce (he looks homeless and has no real authority) would get everyone to open up to him.

Bad Debts (3 Stars): Serving as the series introduction, we start out with the character back story and the beginning is quite traumatic. Soon, however, we settle into a rather mundane mystery. An old client turns up dead after having tried to reach Irish, and this brings up questions about a hit-and-run conviction many years in the past. New evidence just might unravel a heinous conspiracy involving the usual suspects of bad cops, corrupt politicians and unscrupulous businessmen. I have seen this exact same plot (I won't say exactly what it is here) played out so many times, it simply lacked any surprise. None of the potential bad guys are defined in very much detail so when everything was concluding, I simply didn't care very much or feel close to the action. A love interest (Marta Dusseldorp) is thrown in for good measure. The two have good chemistry, but the screenplay just puts them together without any real preamble or build-up. Only two scenes stuck out for me: the introduction and a rather grisly discovery at about the halfway point.

Black Tide (3 1/2 Stars): I might just as easily have awarded this four stars, but it does suffer from some of the same issues as its predecessor. Once again, the plot line just felt a bit tired. I've seen many similar stories and played to more extravagance. Irish is contacted by an old friend of his father whose son has gone missing. As he starts to look into the matter, he once again gets drawn into a grand conspiracy involving a potential government cover-up of something called Black Tide. As he pursues any available lead, he discovers that the case is connected to a missing operative and a murdered reporter. Despite the major revelations, Irish still has time for some romance. Obviously his lack of expression and continually disheveled appearance is like catnip to the women! This movie is once again distinguished by a great scene involving (yet another) grisly discovery. What does bump it up though is the finale which is pleasantly loopy. KGHarris, 10/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Aussie Noir, October 30, 2013
This review is from: JACK IRISH, SET 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Everything about this show looked good. I liked the character and like the storyline. It holds up well to any American crime series. The only problem I would see for an American audience, is that they would not get certain slang terms or regional references. For example, there was a good line about Harold Holt, a Prime Minister from the 60s who one night went for a swim and was never seen again. The only reason I know this is that the incident was mentioned in a book I have read, Bill Bryson's "In a sunburned country". Most Americans, and even many Austrailians from what I understand, would not not know who Holt was. You can enjoy this anyways, but a knowledge or familiarity with Oz would help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

JACK IRISH, SET 1
JACK IRISH, SET 1 by Guy Pearce (DVD - 2013)
$39.99 $25.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.